Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2008, 01:39 PM   #1
ScottKONIG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 147436
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default 06 wrx cluster in 02 wrx?

Guys Im wondering if you can help me here. I already have searched for a while but Im not coming up with exactly what I am looking for.

I own a 2002 wrx. I also have a 06 WRX cluster, NOT THE STI CLUSTER.

I want to swap it in. I think its going to be close. If worse comes to worse i can get a schematic and figure out but i figured I would check with you all first.

Does anyone have a link to this swap? Im sure its no the same as an 06 sti cluster.

Also any information or direction you could point me to is GREAT!!

Thanks

Scott
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ScottKONIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 12:39 PM   #2
SportyMark
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 167263
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Apex NC
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
PSM

Default

i put a 05 cluster in my 02 it was a direct plug in. Only downside is my mileage is way off.
SportyMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 12:11 AM   #3
ScottKONIG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 147436
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

thanks for the information...the only thing is that the 06 is a newer cluster. It has the outside temp and that additional little window in the bottom left under the fuel/temp gauges.

I wonder if its still plug and play just the temp doesnt work

I guess ill figure it out next week...haha

Any other insight is appreciated
ScottKONIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 09:06 AM   #4
skingfreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152591
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
2010 Jetta TDI Cup
Jet Black

Default

Why not plug it in and see what happens? it might be P&P but honestly i would attempt to source the schematics online (if you look in the correct places they are free, Don't ask me, i don't have the 02 or the 06)
skingfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 09:53 AM   #5
ScottKONIG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 147436
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I will end up just plugging it in and seeing, but electrics are funny. If you cross the wrong wires...you might end up with fried components or just blown fuses.
ScottKONIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 10:42 AM   #6
Uber-Charged
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 154313
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Astoria, Oregon
Vehicle:
2002 /2004 Conversio
n Stage 2 WRB

Default

plug it in and see what happens man! You will have to buy a temp sensor and wire it in order for that to work, but i would just try to see if it would fit! btw you might have to file the far left connector in order to get it to fit dude to the 2 notches. Good luck
Uber-Charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 08:33 PM   #7
ScottKONIG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 147436
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

ok for future reference for anyone else that wants to do this.

Plugs in fine. Works fine. ABS light does stay on like on the other clusters...but a little black tape and it goes away ...haha

The cruise control light doesnt go on with the button but that is probably because my cluster never had that light to begin with...lol

The only thing i notice is that the tach is a bit off at idle...it reads a little lower then actual and so does the temp (from my last cluster)

But thats about it. Oh and the tach seems a bit sluggish when reving from idle...but its all good Im sure my last cluster was prob the same way and just never noticed it.

I hope this helps someone one day..haha

Thanks for all the help.
ScottKONIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 WRX Cluster into 02 WRX - Adding Digital Temp and ABS Fix TheShadowWRX Electrical & Lighting 3 10-13-2009 11:59 AM
06 STi cluster in 04 WRX? logich Electrical & Lighting 0 07-19-2006 04:47 PM
04 sti cluster in 02 wrx will it work? red_rex_02 Interior & Exterior Modification 6 03-27-2006 02:38 PM
can i put a 04,05,06 sti cluster in a wrx? rmontheweb Interior & Exterior Modification 6 11-15-2005 05:15 PM
Electric issue with 04 STi cluster in 02 WRX SubaruWRX2k4 Electrical & Lighting 3 03-28-2005 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.