Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday October 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 01:17 AM   #1
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default I think my AP2 is dead

Hey guys,

My AP2 [paired with my 06 WRX] won't power up no matter what I do. It won't power up when plugged into the car and it won't power up when plugged into a computer.

I haven't been able to hunt down any magic reset key combination... and I'm not sure if there's an internal battery.

The AP2 has been unused since I installed the TBE map on my car. I'm halfway through a VF39 installation and I have an appointment to get tuned on Monday morning. I needed to reset my ECU [to clear codes from my fuel pump install] so I pulled the AP2 out... but no dice!

I've reset my car's ECU manually, still wouldn't power up the AP2. I've tried several USB cables as well... no dice.

Any thoughts? I'll call Cobb tomorrow. Anybody have any brilliant ideas?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 02:15 AM   #2
slapaho_ca
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117208
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: so cal
Vehicle:
2005 subaru wrx

Default

more than likely someone did some harm to it. might be fried.
slapaho_ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 02:23 AM   #3
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

I'm not quite sure how harm could've come to it. It's never been opened... it's never been dropped... it's always been stored in a proper environment... the ports are clean and there are no bent pins... hell, it's in better shape than my iPod!
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 04:00 AM   #4
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

maybe bad dongle?
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 12:55 PM   #5
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

But then wouldn't it fire up when I plug it into a computer?
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 12:55 PM   #6
Shayne @ COBB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 185594
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Try plugging the AccessPORT into the computer to see if it powers up that way. If it does not, there is nothing we can really have you but send it to us for repairs.

If it does power up on the computer, you most likely have a bad dongle. Locating another dongle in your area to try would confirm this issue. If the dongle is bad, it can be sent to us for repair/replacement as well.

Edit:

Blast. Too slow.

If it doesn't work on the computer either, it most likely just needs to come in for repairs. Give us a call at (801)713-0035, 9am-6pm MST, or shoot me an email at shayne@cobbtuning.com and we'll get you taken care of.
Shayne @ COBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 06:19 PM   #7
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

Yeah, it's definitely dead. The bummer is that I'm half way through a new turbo install... and my dyno time is on monday.

I'm ****ed. My car is past the point of no return on the install but I won't be able to drive down to get tuned without an AccessPort. Since mine is dead and I NEED one on Monday [before monday, frankly, to make the 60mi drive to my tuner], I will either have to find a local and have them un-mate their AP for a day until I can buy a goddamn new one... or I just have to drive down there with no map and hope that my car doesn't explode.

Either way, the warranty turnaround won't be fast enough [as this problem kind of sprung on me. Not a shot against Cobb].

Maybe my tuner will let me buy an AP2 for a week while the warranty service gets done on mine and return it afterwards?

Any thoughts?
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 06:44 PM   #8
JNA Performance
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 184966
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
---- Visit Us @ ----
www.jnaperformance.com

Thumbs up

Cobb has outstanding customer service.
JNA Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:19 PM   #9
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

My ECU is married to my dead AP2. Will I be able to work with a new AccessPort on my car? Or am I literally out of luck [and thus without a car] until I get a replacement from Cobb?
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:30 PM   #10
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

contact cobb?
nothing else we can do
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:51 PM   #11
dgriff992002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158090
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: NW Indiana
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX WRB
Hta68 ewg 382 awhp on e85

Default

The same thing happened to me as i was reflashing my car back to stage II. It took me about 3 hours before I finally go it to work so I could flash my ecu. But after that it was dead and I tried everything and I mean everything. I ended up calling Cobb and they told me that the madialyn (not sure on the spelling) was probably fried. and it was going to cost $300.00 to fix it
dgriff992002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:41 PM   #12
samb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 177235
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2012 Mustang

Default

I'm having the same problem with my AP2, I flashed my car to Stage II and then put the AP in the box for a couple months. Took it out the other night to mess around with the live displays, and it was so dim I could barely read it. Now it wont power up, tried a new USB cable and tried to hook it to a computer as well. Waiting for monday to call Cobb.
samb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:18 AM   #13
honorcode3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152400
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Texas
Vehicle:
2010 G37x / RC 51
Black Obsidian

Default

I may be having the same issue. It won't power up all the way whether its hooked up to my car or computer. It usually powers up to the point of showing the subaru car and then dies. Other times it powers up for a second and dies. Then other times it doesn't power up at all... I'm surprised so many people are having the same issue... Like the rest of you mine is in great condition and has never been abused. If you find out the reason or how to fix this please let me know. Thanks.

Joshua
honorcode3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 01:02 AM   #14
jma_1000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 151694
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: shaddup
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by honorcode3 View Post
I may be having the same issue. It won't power up all the way whether its hooked up to my car or computer. It usually powers up to the point of showing the subaru car and then dies. Other times it powers up for a second and dies. Then other times it doesn't power up at all... I'm surprised so many people are having the same issue... Like the rest of you mine is in great condition and has never been abused. If you find out the reason or how to fix this please let me know. Thanks.

Joshua
this is exactly my problem too. not really interested in paying $300 to have it fixed, when it appears to be a widespread issue.
jma_1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 01:39 AM   #15
honorcode3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152400
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Texas
Vehicle:
2010 G37x / RC 51
Black Obsidian

Default

Yeah... it's nice to know that when you are paying a lot for a product that is supposed to be sound, and using that on your even more expensive vehicle, that the product won't have issues. I could understand if it was something being abused, but these are being used for 5-10 minutes then going into storage. I'll be patient and see what Cobb says though.

Joshua
honorcode3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 04:32 PM   #16
Miniwheat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 137714
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default

I am having the same problem as well. AP has only been used a few times to flash the new updates on the maps. Tried to play around with the live data and to my suprise it just wouldnt turn on at all, same with plugging it into the computer will not recieve power at all

Will try contacting cobb asap, but if its the same problem as listed above, not going to be pleased about paying 300$ to fix it...
Miniwheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 05:55 PM   #17
BaNaNaS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 171902
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Sport Wagon
PSM - Stg 2

Default

mine is still under warranty. I had to send it back to cobb within two hours of owning it. all it aloud me to do was flash to stage one then it just died. awesome for a 700 dollar product. can't wait to get it back to actually use it for live data/performance. Like some of you, mine would only go to the part where it would show the wrx then die.


I wonder if cobb knows how common this problem is?
BaNaNaS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 06:12 PM   #18
jma_1000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 151694
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: shaddup
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaNaNaS View Post
mine is still under warranty. I had to send it back to cobb within two hours of owning it. all it aloud me to do was flash to stage one then it just died. awesome for a 700 dollar product. can't wait to get it back to actually use it for live data/performance. Like some of you, mine would only go to the part where it would show the wrx then die.


I wonder if cobb knows how common this problem is?
im sure they figure if ppl dont take care of it w/in the warranty year, they deserve to pay the $300 to have it fixed. as that saying goes 'lack of planning on your part doesnt constitute an emergency on my part.'
jma_1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:02 PM   #19
bigturbogt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188869
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Of Course Blue

Default

Well how about this. I bought my AP from a notable ebay lister, it was brand new. Problems with the dongle first day, It wouldn't reflash. It would go okay with saving stock map, but when it went to reflash it came up with an error. After calling COBB 4 times they tell me to send it in with my invoice. I tell them where I bought it here is the response- "Well not much we can do with a ebay purchase, we don't track serial numbers back to the date of manufacture. There is no way of knowing if its new"

Well excuse me for buying something, it not working, and it being my fault for you not keeping records. I work in a factory, all of our products have the date on them. I know it may sit on a shelf somewhere before it's sold, but that is why you have X amount of time for a warranty. They wouldn't even take the name of the seller. I'm now in the hunt to talk to the seller to get some type of invoice. Thank god I know someone that ownes a dongle so I can atleast tune my car.
bigturbogt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 11:00 PM   #20
REXOne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18805
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Fairfax, VA
Vehicle:
02 WRX
MBP

Default

man .. i was all set on getting one of these .. after reading this i'm not so sure.
REXOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 03:49 AM   #21
jma_1000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 151694
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: shaddup
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REXOne View Post
man .. i was all set on getting one of these .. after reading this i'm not so sure.
sure, might as well get it. another few hundred into cobb's account wont hurt, right?

this is old news, but still give you an idea of WHY the AP is priced the way it is: http://www.hspn.tv/?videoid=72&catid=16
jma_1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Think My Utec Is Dead? RickDaTuner UTEC 1 05-05-2006 09:30 AM
I think my motor is dead Thrilryder Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 09-23-2004 11:09 AM
Need help, think my unit is dead... can i play with yours? blitz WRX-pilot Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 9 04-30-2004 04:37 AM
I think my car is dead, jim. ctwrxwagon General Community 2 01-08-2004 12:58 PM
I think my WRX is seriously dead clucania Tri-State Area Forum 141 10-22-2002 09:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.