Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
2002turborex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163613
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly, pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default Big problem!

so heres the deal i have a 2002 wrx and blew the original motor. I went and bought a new motor unaware of the fact that it was older than what i needed. Now i have and older ej20 and need to now what it will take to get it to work. Keep in mind that i have a low budget and limited time.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
2002turborex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 04:40 AM   #2
bugeye-brawler
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 182337
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Outback
Sport -- White

Default

it'll still fit the same and pretty much run the same just need to figure out the wiring...
all the info is in the sticky
bugeye-brawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 08:57 AM   #3
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default

Just swap yer heads & intake to the other shrt block, everything will b just fine.
I used a 1992/93 shrtblock w/ 02 heads & intake w/ no problems whatsoever.Use all other components from the 02 year.
G/L
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:36 PM   #4
2002turborex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163613
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly, pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default

the machanic that was working on the car tried to swap everything but nothing bolts up at all. and theres also the issue of crank sensors. my original motor had 3 and the new one had 1.
2002turborex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:33 PM   #5
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

you have to change the heads and crank sensor... not just the manifolds and accessorys

and you will need a retune due to higher compression
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 01:35 PM   #6
2002turborex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163613
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly, pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default

its hard to change a crank sensor and heads when the heads dont match up to the bolt holes and i need 3 crank sensors not 1
2002turborex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 01:44 PM   #7
armigerlives
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 180958
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
2008 Homemade
Yellow

Default

I believe what you are looking at is 1 crank sensor... on the crank. and the a cam position sensor on each head....When you put the heads on the short bock you will have your cam position sensors in them. That gives your 2 out of 3. The crank sensor is in the same place on both short blocks so it will then be there too. As long as you use your heads you will have all 3 sensors.
armigerlives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:12 PM   #8
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default

3 sensors ? My o2 only has 1 sensor for crank & 1 for cam
STi's have 3, 1 on each head & 1 on the crank,Sure no one did a conversion ?
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:49 PM   #9
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

what EXACTLY is the engine code for what you got?

and are you SURE its an EJ20?
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 07:41 PM   #10
2002turborex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163613
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly, pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default

i dont know the engine code and im sure thats wat it is. but if theres a chance im wrong wat else could it be. what other motors came with a turbo other than ej20 and ej25
2002turborex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 07:52 PM   #11
2002turborex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163613
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly, pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default

the other problem i have is the transmission. will a trans from and 02 bolt up to an older block? and if not then ill have to use the older trans which apparently has a cable driven speedo. does anyone know of a conversion so i could use the older trans?
2002turborex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:36 PM   #12
ballitch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 74907
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: salem, OR
Vehicle:
98 cam'd EJ251
Wrx Tranny,slowr than ish

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2002turborex View Post
its hard to change a crank sensor and heads when the heads dont match up to the bolt holes and i need 3 crank sensors not 1
What are you talking about? All EJ blocks have the same head bolt pattern...

All EJ motors and tranny can bolt up to each other. The only difference is between the 4 bolt and 8 bolt trannies. If you use a 4 bolt block, with an 8 bolt tranny, you need to either tap the tranny for a stud, or tap the tranny for a bolt. (lower starter bolt that is)



~Josh~
ballitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
104k, fixing most problems, potentially big problem? 25mphnext2miles Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 01-05-2009 10:51 AM
small problem or big problem? revenance Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 06-10-2008 09:04 PM
Big power....big problem? Breen Subaru Conversions 6 08-29-2004 11:15 PM
Big, big problem. Did I blow the engine? KKoepp31 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 07-29-2003 01:56 AM
Oil line problem fix....now a BIG BIG problem the spacecowboy Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 11 11-26-2002 02:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.