Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday March 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Click here to visit TireRack
Tire & Wheel Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Losing traction? Need new tires?
Click here to visit the NASIOC Upgrade Garage...
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Tire & Wheel

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2014, 07:17 PM   #1
psyclobe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395439
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Crystal Black Silica

Default 2015 WRX and ATEQ QuickSet

So I tried this product:

Amazon.com: ATEQ QuickSet TPMS Reset Tool: AutomotiveAmazon.com: ATEQ QuickSet TPMS Reset Tool: Automotive

Its a royal peice of ****. The software for windows only works on like XP and barely works on 7 (they don't even sign their device drivers). The WRX 2015 is not in their database either, and I tried the 2014 WRX and it wouldn't work.

Just an FYI to any 2015 owners trying the same thing...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
psyclobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:18 AM   #2
rainking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 380934
Join Date: Feb 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Binghamton, NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Thanks as I was eying this. Sorry it didn't work out. At least Amazon has good return policy.
rainking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:34 PM   #3
bobkn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 360035
Join Date: Jun 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
dark gray

Default

I'm using a QuickSet under Windows 8.1 X64. No problems with a 2013 WRX.

I probably downloaded drivers newer than supplied with the unit:

http://www.ateqtpm.com/support/downl...-ateq-quickset

The latest version of the software itself is from 2012. I have no idea whether ATEQ's online updates include support for the 2015 WRX. It may be worth contacting them to check.

Maybe I was just lucky. Tire Rack used to sell the unit, but stopped after a lot of customer complaints.
bobkn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 11:22 PM   #4
psyclobe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395439
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Crystal Black Silica

Default

This is what the dealer uses (According to the service manual):

http://www.costplustools.com/Kent-Mo...M_p_16998.html

And here is the pairing procedure document:

https://copy.com/kVdkXcO0zraAwlRx/G1190BEV1_532.pdf

Belle tire was able to register my new tpms sensors for free though, so not really worth it I guess.
psyclobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:52 AM   #5
MackDaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15451
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lewis Center, OH USA
Vehicle:
2013 XV Crosstrek
Desert Khaki - CVT

Default

This really sucks as it won't work on the 2013 XV Crosstrek either. I've had the ATEQ Quickset for a few years (worked great on my previous Honda,) and was hoping it would work with the Scoob. Installed the latest App V 3.02 Beta 8-V and driver set for Win7. App communicates with the unit no problem, but the unit will not read from the cars OBDII port to save it's life. Great..

I actually put a ticket in with ATEQ, but never got a response. Nice customer service... not.
MackDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 02:20 PM   #6
alaskajoel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167838
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Cincinnati / Chicagoland
Vehicle:
2015 WRX.LTD.6SP.NAV
White

Default

This is really disappointing. I had hoped to use this device to program a new wheel / tire package from tire rack + TPMS sensors.
alaskajoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:10 PM   #7
alaskajoel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167838
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Cincinnati / Chicagoland
Vehicle:
2015 WRX.LTD.6SP.NAV
White

Default

Contacted the company regarding this. I was suggested that you try the 2012 Impreza rather than WRX (since the 2014 WRX is the previous body style)?
alaskajoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 03:04 PM   #8
MackDaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15451
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lewis Center, OH USA
Vehicle:
2013 XV Crosstrek
Desert Khaki - CVT

Default

No matter what I specify in the computer App, unit fails to read the OEM existing TPMS on my Crosstrek via OBDII. Hopefully they'll have a fix for this. I need it!
MackDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 11:48 AM   #9
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Dammit, this worked flawlessly on my '12 WRX, and I was hoping it would work well for the '15. I was also told to use the settings for the '12 Impreza for the '15 since the '13 WRX still used the pre-'12 Impreza coding. I haven't had a chance to try it yet since I'm still on the stock rims, but this is gonna be a real problem with the winter coming up.....
nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 12:57 PM   #10
alaskajoel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167838
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Cincinnati / Chicagoland
Vehicle:
2015 WRX.LTD.6SP.NAV
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
Dammit, this worked flawlessly on my '12 WRX, and I was hoping it would work well for the '15. I was also told to use the settings for the '12 Impreza for the '15 since the '13 WRX still used the pre-'12 Impreza coding. I haven't had a chance to try it yet since I'm still on the stock rims, but this is gonna be a real problem with the winter coming up.....
If you have the Quickset, you should at least try and get the current TPMS IDs from the stock wheels using the 2012 Impreza setting! Disappointing the crosstrek doesn't work
alaskajoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 04:12 PM   #11
aficionado
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 383366
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

For the 2015 WRX, using a Windows 7 64-bit computer, download and install the Quickset application from the ATEQ website and allow application to update database while connected to the internet, select the 2014 Impreza as the model. This configuration allowed us to download existing codes from the car. This result should indicate that you'll also be able to upload Codes to the car, which I'll find out later today. Enjoy :-)
aficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:36 PM   #12
alaskajoel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167838
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Cincinnati / Chicagoland
Vehicle:
2015 WRX.LTD.6SP.NAV
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aficionado View Post
For the 2015 WRX, using a Windows 7 64-bit computer, download and install the Quickset application from the ATEQ website and allow application to update database while connected to the internet, select the 2014 Impreza as the model. This configuration allowed us to download existing codes from the car. This result should indicate that you'll also be able to upload Codes to the car, which I'll find out later today. Enjoy :-)
Sounds great! Please let us know!
alaskajoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:52 PM   #13
daverup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3708
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Ltd Sedan
ISM

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by aficionado View Post
For the 2015 WRX, using a Windows 7 64-bit computer, download and install the Quickset application from the ATEQ website and allow application to update database while connected to the internet, select the 2014 Impreza as the model. This configuration allowed us to download existing codes from the car. This result should indicate that you'll also be able to upload Codes to the car, which I'll find out later today. Enjoy :-)
Thanks for the info, my codes downloaded from the 2015 WRX by following your instructions. I hope the rest works too.
daverup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:07 PM   #14
aficionado
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 383366
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Upload works too :-)
aficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 09:51 AM   #15
MackDaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15451
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lewis Center, OH USA
Vehicle:
2013 XV Crosstrek
Desert Khaki - CVT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aficionado View Post
For the 2015 WRX, using a Windows 7 64-bit computer, download and install the Quickset application from the ATEQ website and allow application to update database while connected to the internet, select the 2014 Impreza as the model. This configuration allowed us to download existing codes from the car. This result should indicate that you'll also be able to upload Codes to the car, which I'll find out later today. Enjoy :-)
Already have the latest Quickset App and DB (running Win7 x64.) I'll give the 2014 Impreza selection a try. Hope it works for the XV too!

Thanks
MackDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 10:04 AM   #16
MackDaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15451
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lewis Center, OH USA
Vehicle:
2013 XV Crosstrek
Desert Khaki - CVT

Default

No go. It still goes "red" after pressing either Summer/Winter buttons while connected to the OBDII port. It looks good at first (flashing green,) but as soon as you select either storage mode, it fails.

I tried specifying 2014 Impreza, and 2013 Crosstrek. Neither work for me. This sucks!
MackDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:06 PM   #17
aficionado
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 383366
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MackDaddy View Post
No go. It still goes "red" after pressing either Summer/Winter buttons while connected to the OBDII port. It looks good at first (flashing green,) but as soon as you select either storage mode, it fails.

I tried specifying 2014 Impreza, and 2013 Crosstrek. Neither work for me. This sucks!
Call 18886218767, ask for Bill and let him know the issue. He'll be able to identify alternative vehicle selections or begin the process for adding your vehicle to the database.
aficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:51 AM   #18
MackDaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15451
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lewis Center, OH USA
Vehicle:
2013 XV Crosstrek
Desert Khaki - CVT

Default

Will do aficionado. Thanks for the heads up info!
MackDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 10:48 PM   #19
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aficionado View Post
For the 2015 WRX, using a Windows 7 64-bit computer, download and install the Quickset application from the ATEQ website and allow application to update database while connected to the internet, select the 2014 Impreza as the model. This configuration allowed us to download existing codes from the car. This result should indicate that you'll also be able to upload Codes to the car, which I'll find out later today. Enjoy :-)
I can confirm that this worked flawlessly on my 2015 STI. Pulled my stock TPMS codes and switched to new ones with no problem using the instructions posted by aficionado.
nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 12:11 PM   #20
OwenM
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 402939
Join Date: Oct 2014
Vehicle:
2015 WRX MT

Default Atech Quickset & VT 30 Worked Fine for me

Also confirming that this worked well on my 2015 WRX. I used the Ateq VT 30 to pull the sensor codes from the wheels, then transferred those codes into the software for the Quickset. The Quickset flashed the sensor codes with no problem and my TPMS warning light went out for good in about 1/8 mile.

The only problem I had was, messing around with the check boxes for Hexadecimal/decimal in the Quickset software seemed to goof up the sensor codes - but I was really hacking around so can't blame Ateq. When you pull existing codes from the ECU with the Quickset it shows in the computer in hexadecimal. This confused me at first.

You have to stick with writing new codes to the Quickset from the computer in decimal with all 8 numbers (some of my sensors had all 8, but for one I had to add two zeros in front).

The reason I had to reset was not for winter tires, but because I am using a full sized spare, and have moved it into the rotation. BTW, full sized spare fits into the spare compartment no problem if you take out that styrofoam cover piece - I hate "temporary" undersized spares. Plus the full sized wheel is only 12 lbs more than the tank stock spare.
OwenM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:47 PM   #21
drwrxman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389372
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
Galaxy Blue(6-Spd)Love it

Exclamation It works once you initialize the TPMS Sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
I can confirm that this worked flawlessly on my 2015 STI. Pulled my stock TPMS codes and switched to new ones with no problem using the instructions posted by aficionado.
SEE IMPORTANT STEP BELOW - The QuickSet worked* for my 2015 WRX LE (please see below). The latest update includes a 2015 WRX STI which is the vehicle I selected using the ATEQ software. I purchased a winter Tire & Wheel Package from Tirerack - 17x&7.5 Enkei M52 with Dunlop Winter Maxx Tires. For the record, Tirerack advised that I have the Shrader 315MHZ TPMS Sensor Part Number 28203. Tirerack provided me with the TPMS ID codes which is crucial to programming. I was able to use the Quickset to download the stock "summer" TPMS Sensor IDs that were stored in the WRX ECU.

* PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING
I want to point out a very crucial step in getting the QuickSet to work when ordering a brand new Wheel and Tire Package or simply getting a brand new sensor(s). I have spent the last two very frustrating days trying to get the TPMS light to go off until I finally found this post: http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulle...39/index5.html

Brand new sensors arrive in some sort of permanent sleep mode and cannot simply be activated by driving (ATEQ instructions) or reducing pressure (Tirerack and Shrader advice) to set off the sensors. They arrive this way to preserve the limited battery life. This sleep mode is different from the regular battery preservation sleep mode the sensors go into when the vehicle is at rest for 30 minutes or so. These brand new sensors need to be specifically initialized (one-time) by receiving some sort of specific signal at a certain frequency from a tool that either you purchase (ATEQ makes a separate one for close to $200) or a tire shop/dealer has. It's the same tool used to test sensors or get their sensor IDs. This action initializes the the sensors and wakes them up. You only have to do this (pay for this service) once and you are set for all your season switching needs. No more paying $30 at a tire shop or $70 as quoted by the dealer.

This literally was the final key to a mystery puzzle that neither Tirerack, nor Schrader (the manufacturer of the sensor) could answer when I contacted them. For the record I placed a ticket with ATEQ to get some answers but (surprise surprise), as their reputation has it (poor/no customer service), there was no response. I was ecstatic to see that light disappear in literally 20 seconds.

This of course begs the question as to why Tirerack would not simply initialize the sensors before sending them to you. After-all, Tirerack used to actually sell the Quickset, but didn't want to deal with all the technical support associated with selling the product (per the cust svc rep I spoke with).

So, I hope this saves someone some of the frustrations and confusion I experienced and saves ATEQ a bunch of returns.

Bottom line - IT WORKS on the 2015 WRX (if you initialize the new sensors - one time)!

Last edited by drwrxman; 12-03-2014 at 07:57 AM.
drwrxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 12:32 AM   #22
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Yup, new sensors have to be triggered using a frequency module at a tire shop or buying the $500+ tool.

In the past, many tire shops didn't even know this. With my last new set a few years ago, I tried to explain it to a shop and they didn't get it... So I just asked them to read my sensors and that triggered them on and the light went off.

Nowadays, most shops know how to trigger sensors. TireRack will give you the TPMS codes if you request them, but Discount Tire Direct (who I ordered from this time around) claimed that they couldn't provide the codes... So a tire shop next to me triggered and read my codes for a mere $10 side tip.
nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 10:23 AM   #23
sbuarapha
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 306987
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2015 wrx
classic white pearl

Default

I need some help using the quickset on a 2015 wrx cvt. I have the program and drivers installed and tested out on my other 2 cars and worked. I was able to pull the sensor dis from both cars one is a 2011 and the other is a 2014. When I tried it on the wrx it will not read the codes and now I have a check engine light because of it I think. I had autozone read it and it said lost communication to the transmission and lost signal with ambient air temp.
Trying to see if this has happened to anybody. Tried to go to the dealership but was closed but will take it to them when they are open in Monday.

I downloaded the latest version and it had the 2015 wrx/sti listed so I tried that first then I tried 2014 Impreza and still won't work. Any help would be appreciated
sbuarapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:44 PM   #24
wiUFsh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 296667
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: OH
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium 6MT
Galaxy Blue

Default

Great thread guys!

I have not seen a direct link to the Schrader TPMS sensors that are mentioned previously but here it is. I guess these will need to be "triggered" first before the can be programmed with the ATEQ QuickSet.

http://amzn.com/B002GYZQ8E
wiUFsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:29 PM   #25
wiUFsh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 296667
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: OH
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium 6MT
Galaxy Blue

Default

drwrxman, was this the page you found the latest driver? Once downloaded from the site, the file seems to have been made back in 2010.

http://www.ateqtpm.com/quickset/#ba820fef5bc19e7cb
wiUFsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.