Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2008, 09:54 PM   #1
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default 04 sti engine swap to 03 wrx?

IM tired of looking for info, can someone that knows what their doing please tell me what i need to swap an 04 engine to a 03 wrx. So far i was told i need a sti instrument cluster, but then I hear that 04 sti to 03 are plug and play. then i heard i need a engine harness and ecu, ok i get that. also i need the foot pedal and a adaptor. is it true about the adaptor or can i just mickey mouse it, or make it my self. do i need a fuel pump extra hoses perhaps? please help i doing the swap this week.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:13 PM   #2
Complacent_One
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163633
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Vehicle:
2002 RIP '02 Wagon
PSM

Default

search for wrinkleboi threads started. There is plenty of information there to get you going. You need to ask yourself whether or not you feel like rewiring the entire car, or just using the wrx intake manifold and ecu with custom tune. I went with the 04 sti full swap into my 02 Wagon. It was a pain, but well worth it.
Needed parts for the full swap:
-04 STI engine w/ all the bells and whistles
-preferably 04 STI ecu - no immobilizer
-04 Sti Full harness (headlight to tailight)
-04 Sti Fuel pump carriage assembly
-04 STi Heater/AC box and blower box, w/ dash HVAC control
-DBW Go pedal adapter bracket
- sti instument cluster
if staying with the stock 5MT tranny, you will need to use the WRX clutch and flywheel or spend some time modding the tranny housing because the sti flywheel does not quite clear.

It took me just under 3 weeks to complete the swap on my own...spend just 2 or less hours an evening and juggling some weekend time into it. You will have to do a little bit of cut and splice...headlights, and a couple other places.

GOOD LUCK!!!
Complacent_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 11:09 PM   #3
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

What? Yeah im just going to go the easy route and just swap manifolds.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:54 AM   #4
THE-95-STi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 113734
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: The U.K.
Vehicle:
1998 FSTi, 95 sold!
the JDM yO!(MAIC4LIFE)

Default

yeah, I'm assuming your asking about the AVCS and what not, you want the STi long block right?
THE-95-STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:55 PM   #5
Crawford Support
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174347
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside California
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Have you considered going with a hybrid setup. Basically just swapping in a 2.5L block, injectors, turbo, exhaust ?

Crawford Performance
Crawford Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 10:11 PM   #6
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawford Support View Post
Have you considered going with a hybrid setup. Basically just swapping in a 2.5L block, injectors, turbo, exhaust ?

Crawford Performance
yes sir. did some research and found you get just about the same hp top end even if you dont got the avcs. is this true? ill probably never drop down 4k rmp. jk
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 09:35 PM   #7
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

just to let people know if you are planning on doing the hybrid set up, and keeping the sti tgv's and fuel rails, you will need to cut splice and solder sti fuel injector plugs. its cheaper then buying sti pinks i think.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 09:40 PM   #8
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

for the hybrid set up, 04 sti crank position sensors dont need a special adaptor bracket! i already got one and found out that on the sti head, theirs a spot to mount a crank position sensor in the wrx's original position. all you need to do is tap a hole for it. I dont know if this will work for non 03 wrx to 04 swap.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 09:42 PM   #9
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

anyone can step up and put their 2 cents in. But this is just what i found out so far. ill keep up more posts if i find anything else
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:49 PM   #10
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

I ran into another issue with the sti O2 sensor. the plugs are different then that of a 03 wrx. sense I damaged my wrx O2 sensor when removing the engine, and not wanting to spend 300 bucks on a new one. I bought a used 03 sensor. Dont be cheap like me. I finally started my new engine today and was suprised to see that it fired on the first try! I got a CEL though. it was PO something, having to do with the TGV sensor going bad. I just swapped it with the one off my wrx TGV and CEL was gone. All I need to do now is get a tune. Yeah.

04 sti 02 sensor wont work with 03 wrx ECU. got codes after words. sorry for the bad info.

Last edited by wrxsubiemod; 02-02-2011 at 04:13 PM.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:32 PM   #11
Bx_ReX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86326
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: boogie dwn
Vehicle:
02 wagon
darkness

Default

yea man def. gonna need a tune......if you still have your wrx heads, ur gonna need the cam gears..... shell run and all... but the avcs will be running fully advanced all the time, even at idle... which will make your car stall every now and then, this is the problem i have rite now...
Bx_ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 06:01 PM   #12
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Dont tell me i need cam gears too! Do I? it runs fine.

dont need differant cam gears. its fine as long as the gears share the same pick up point. different versions come with differant pick up points so double check

Last edited by wrxsubiemod; 04-02-2009 at 08:46 PM.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 06:03 PM   #13
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

I dont think i posted this yet but i am running the sti avcs heads. I know avcs will not work, but whats up with the cam gears
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:40 PM   #14
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

My car is back from GT motorsports and it ran at the tune of 300 HP and 300ft pounds of torque at the wheels! He said that he could of tuned it for more but He really couldnt mess with the timing because of the lack of AVCS. ow well. But honestly having that much horse power compared to what i used to have makes it all worth it! it runs like a champ. So if your thinking of going with the hybrid swap I would personally recommend it. just make sure you got a good tuner that knows what he is doing.

If anyone has questions please ask, i really didnt have the privalage of having someone that could answer all of mine. I hope any of this helps
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:00 PM   #15
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

To list all the things i did in a short summary:

-buy sti long block.
-remove old 2.0 engine
-remove sti intake manifold with tgv's and wiring.
-remove wrx intake manifold with tgv's and wiring.
-now would be a good time to swap turbos
-Take sti tgv's, port them. keep the sensors or not. up to you.
-take the sti injector plugs and cut them off and solder them onto the wrx harness.
-install sti tgv with fuel lines and injectors onto the wrx intake manifold.
-install all of the 2.0 wrx engine wiring on to the injectors and sensors.
-install manifold with tgvs on to the 2.5 engine block.
-drill and tap a hole for the wrx crank position sensor on the driver side head. If you dont have a spot to tap a hole, they sell adapters form cosworth for like 60 bucks
-plug in your coil packs sensors and anything you can while engine is out.
-I had a six speed in my car but i was able to just reuse my sti light weight flywheel and stage 3 clutch from a wrx. i just swapped them.
-all is left for the engine now is to throw it back in. and plug in your factory wrx engine harness to the factory wrx chassis harness, lines and hoses.
-My 04 sti fuel pump did not work, so i bought a walbro 255. the turner said it helped.
-after all is said and done, go get yourself a tune. my car drove 4 miles to the nearist shop. It was ok for me I just made sure i did not boost.

Last edited by wrxsubiemod; 08-29-2009 at 12:20 PM.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 04:57 AM   #16
Bx_ReX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86326
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: boogie dwn
Vehicle:
02 wagon
darkness

Default

my swap is a 05 sti long block w/ wrx intake mani. ,, etc.....and the gruppe-s adapter.... i got her tuned and such, she runs hard and all, but kept on stalling at a red light or stop sign.... and lets say im on the highway,, and i wanna just let the car roll for what ever reason... shell just shut off... so i did some research and found this...

http://elementtuning.com/technical/ej25_install.htm


and i asked my tuner, and he called ECU-tek, and they said to do the same thing.... change the cam gears/sprockets.... all because of the cam position sensor for the wrx reads a different magnetic pulse from the gear, each time it turns...

they said thats the reason why the car always shuts off.... cause the avcs is fully advanced.. all the time, even at idle...dont know why.. but they are....im guessing when you unplug the avcs sensor, its a safty thing to keep them fully adv. so they wont choke the engine??? i really dont know... but this is the prob. im having..

sorry for being to long, i just wanna explain my prob. so you dont have to....
Bx_ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:46 AM   #17
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bx_ReX View Post
my swap is a 05 sti long block w/ wrx intake mani. ,, etc.....and the gruppe-s adapter.... i got her tuned and such, she runs hard and all, but kept on stalling at a red light or stop sign.... and lets say im on the highway,, and i wanna just let the car roll for what ever reason... shell just shut off... so i did some research and found this...

http://elementtuning.com/technical/ej25_install.htm


and i asked my tuner, and he called ECU-tek, and they said to do the same thing.... change the cam gears/sprockets.... all because of the cam position sensor for the wrx reads a different magnetic pulse from the gear, each time it turns...

they said thats the reason why the car always shuts off.... cause the avcs is fully advanced.. all the time, even at idle...dont know why.. but they are....im guessing when you unplug the avcs sensor, its a safty thing to keep them fully adv. so they wont choke the engine??? i really dont know... but this is the prob. im having..

sorry for being to long, i just wanna explain my prob. so you dont have to....
Im not saying dont do this, but that article you posted is saying that the two cam gears do have the same pick up points. And all we have to do is just swap out our wrx cam position sensor onto that driver side head location.
As to your stalling issue. maybe it can solve all of your problems, but id look deeper into it. I really want to know now, so please keep me updated.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:29 AM   #18
douthinkicare
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169054
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 WRX vf22
white

Default

I am looking to do the same thing avcs be damned i am on a buget with little room for downtime. Thanks for all the great info guys..
douthinkicare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:57 PM   #19
ajohnson360
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169086
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Maroon

Default

My swap right now is an 04 STi into my 02 WRX- It's at the mechanics and IN! HOWEVER the wiring is now the next question to tackle... Already I bought an 04 accelerator pedal but come to find out, that is not enough to make it work.... Apparently best/cheapest thing to do at this point is to use old ecu/harnesses/throttle body?

This is a great post thanks Bx_Rex and wrxsubiemod!!
ajohnson360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 03:17 PM   #20
benmoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 193901
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 707/206
Vehicle:
1998 Integra GS-R

Default

Very interested in doing this hybrid swap, have a couple questions though.

From my understanding buying the complete '04 STi shortblock and mating it with the '02-'03 WRX head is plug and play except for that crank sensor. Will I be able to use the stock WRX harness/ECU/cluster with the hybrid setup? Also, will the car be able to pass CA SMOG with the stock ECU (maybe reflashed?) with the new block/turbo/etc. Would a front mount IC pose problems for emissions?

Hopefully I'll be able to find a 2002-2003 WRX with busted engine/body and swap in the engine with little incident...
benmoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 08:06 PM   #21
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benmoo View Post
Very interested in doing this hybrid swap, have a couple questions though.

From my understanding buying the complete '04 STi shortblock and mating it with the '02-'03 WRX head is plug and play except for that crank sensor. Will I be able to use the stock WRX harness/ECU/cluster with the hybrid setup? Also, will the car be able to pass CA SMOG with the stock ECU (maybe reflashed?) with the new block/turbo/etc. Would a front mount IC pose problems for emissions?

Hopefully I'll be able to find a 2002-2003 WRX with busted engine/body and swap in the engine with little incident...
You can use your stock wrx crank sensor with a short block swap, or a long block swap. it would be exactly the same. This thread is about using 04 sti long block and mating the intake manifold and wiring onto a wrx. In my conditon it was a 03 wrx. I was able to use a wrx harness and ecu and cluster. the other things i had to change was the fuel pump, and some splicing. and of course a tune.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:24 AM   #22
benmoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 193901
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 707/206
Vehicle:
1998 Integra GS-R

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsubiemod View Post
You can use your stock wrx crank sensor with a short block swap, or a long block swap. it would be exactly the same. This thread is about using 04 sti long block and mating the intake manifold and wiring onto a wrx. In my conditon it was a 03 wrx. I was able to use a wrx harness and ecu and cluster. the other things i had to change was the fuel pump, and some splicing. and of course a tune.
What kind of tuning standalone/piggyback are you going to use? Is there any system that is compatible with OBDII diagnostics for SMOG testing?
benmoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 12:03 AM   #23
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benmoo View Post
What kind of tuning standalone/piggyback are you going to use? Is there any system that is compatible with OBDII diagnostics for SMOG testing?
Im using ECU teck. And the only problem im running is not having the AVCS. But i seriously dont care because if i want to go fast im going to be in a higher RPM range where AVCS doesnt really matter.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:11 PM   #24
ajohnson360
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169086
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Maroon

Post what now?

My mechanic and I are in the shop with a question of what to do next. HOW EXACTLY do I make the 02 ecu work with the avcs from the 04 motor? do I NEED to purchase something? Should we modify the intake to be avcs free?
ajohnson360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:21 PM   #25
demartinoink
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164494
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: fountain valley
Default

+1 for No AVCS!
demartinoink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
04 sti drivetrain swap into 03 wrx please help!!!! mike739wrx Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 03-15-2010 03:36 PM
05 STi Radio swap to 03 WRX? RelentlessWRX Car Audio, Video & Security 2 01-05-2008 08:23 AM
Swapping US 04 Sti struts into 02/03 WRX? edkwon Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 07-22-2004 09:06 PM
04 STI engine in me 03 wrx drunkguy Subaru Conversions 4 03-29-2004 05:08 PM
wrx/sti engine swap to 1999 impreza L (2.2 MT) Qaveboy Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 01-10-2003 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.