Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
MF-DIF
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62197
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
GTO /WRX/SV650

Default PS3 owners, how do you hook up to DVI inputs?

I just picked up a PS3 and want to hook it up to my plasma DVI input. It's an older plasma I bought about 5 years ago and doesnt have HDMI. My X360 is taking up the component inputs.

I purchased this cable on ebay, do I still need to buy a ps3 HDMI cable and plug it into this or should it go right into the ps3 output? I can't tell from the photos.



http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...EOIBSA:US:1123
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
MF-DIF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:11 PM   #2
battousai
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44977
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2014 BRZ
SWP

Default

That cable should be good enough for the video since its a HDMI-DVI connector.

What are you going to do about sound?
battousai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:15 PM   #3
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

get a cord
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:18 PM   #4
Ghosthound
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110979
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Vehicle:
2010 FJ Cruiser
1999 Miata

Default

that will work assuming your tv has hdcp compliance with the dvi port.
Ghosthound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:18 PM   #5
Schniz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158349
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Nashua, NH
Default

looks good to me
Schniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:19 PM   #6
MF-DIF
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62197
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
GTO /WRX/SV650

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by battousai View Post
That cable should be good enough for the video since its a HDMI-DVI connector.

What are you going to do about sound?
I was just going to use the red/white rca cables and plug those into my receiver for sound. I only have had 4 speakers of my surround system set up for the past year. I don't like running wires.
MF-DIF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:22 PM   #7
WRX300
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17974
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago
Default

just as an alternative to ebay I'd suggest buying it from monoprice - not as cheap (its $7.29 for a 6ft cable) but I trust them much more than I do ebay

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
WRX300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:28 PM   #8
WRX_02_227
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12434
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, 2015 WRX
2011 BMW 135i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MF-DIF View Post
I was just going to use the red/white rca cables and plug those into my receiver for sound. I only have had 4 speakers of my surround system set up for the past year. I don't like running wires.
Why not use an optical cable for sound??
WRX_02_227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:32 PM   #9
MF-DIF
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62197
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
GTO /WRX/SV650

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX_02_227 View Post
Why not use an optical cable for sound??
My sound system is too subpar for me to dedicate a new cable for.

If what I have doesn't work I'll pick one up.
MF-DIF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you hook up a turbo timer?? 92lssleeper Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC 9 12-14-2009 09:14 PM
How do you hook up DCCD in a WRX with a USDM tranny? DRWRX28 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 7 07-22-2005 12:45 AM
How do you hook up JDM lights with Hanabi 8000k already in them? samwY Electrical & Lighting 0 01-14-2004 04:39 PM
how do you hook up the hpbc w/a UTEC frdawg Engine Management & Tuning 1 04-17-2003 01:00 PM
how do you hook up a voltmeter up to the front o2 sensor? inpreza kid Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 06-06-2001 04:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.