Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2008, 11:22 PM   #1
STIfever09
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188630
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2009 STI
Spark Silver

Default reflash or real time

With the AP2 I have reflashed my car three times. First with ACN91 1.01. Second, back to stock for dealer oil change. Third, back to ACN91 1.02. How do I know if I flashed real time or the permanent re flash ? Somewhere I remember seeing that one provides all the potential and the other less. Also, by disconnecting the batt you lose the program ? Sorry about the stupid questions. . .I can already feel the heat from the BBQ
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
STIfever09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:32 PM   #2
wadester
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188054
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lawrence, KS
Vehicle:
05 STi Cosworth LB
FP Green 375whp

Default

When you have the AP connected to the car, you can scroll through the menu and find the one that says "Show Maps". Click that and you can see your current Base and Realtime Maps.

Also, a difference between the two is that the reflash takes significantly longer to upload to the car than the Realtime flash.

In regards to your comment about map potential, from cobb's manual:

"Things like CELs and some important Throttle tables and Closed Loop tables are not
changed with Realtime maps. This is why we highly recommend you running the Stage
Base Map that best matches your car's modification. Running the Stock Mode Base Map
with a Stage Realtime map over it will get you some of the improvements but no where
NEAR what you would get if you were to run the proper Stage Base map."

-COBB

You only lose your realtime map when you disconnect the battery. The car then then reverts to the base map.
wadester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:37 PM   #3
pete1122
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152862
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Default

So.....I flashed my WRX with the standard stage 2 base map, a few months later I did a realtime flash with the HWG Stage 2 map to see if it improved my boost. Is this a problem?
pete1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 01:42 PM   #4
lando
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149637
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: HR. Gangsta
Vehicle:
2010 STI SE
WRB

Default

no, just do a reflash. It just takes a few minutes and will probably improve things, as stated earlier with the exact same question.
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:02 PM   #5
STIfever09
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188630
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2009 STI
Spark Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadester View Post
When you have the AP connected to the car, you can scroll through the menu and find the one that says "Show Maps". Click that and you can see your current Base and Realtime Maps.

Also, a difference between the two is that the reflash takes significantly longer to upload to the car than the Realtime flash.

In regards to your comment about map potential, from cobb's manual:

"Things like CELs and some important Throttle tables and Closed Loop tables are not
changed with Realtime maps. This is why we highly recommend you running the Stage
Base Map that best matches your car's modification. Running the Stock Mode Base Map
with a Stage Realtime map over it will get you some of the improvements but no where
NEAR what you would get if you were to run the proper Stage Base map."

-COBB

You only lose your realtime map when you disconnect the battery. The car then then reverts to the base map.
Thanks for the answer, I actually did exactly what you said and figured it out a while back. .
STIfever09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NY times article about real time access to ECU Suladed Engine Management & Tuning 1 03-12-2010 05:39 PM
Real-Time Traffic Reporting, on Time AVANTI R5 Non-Subaru News & Rumors 0 09-19-2009 07:34 AM
real time vs. reflash 073/800 AccessPort 11 05-03-2008 09:27 AM
Pro Tuner Map (.ptm) is it a Base or Real Time map ? Bad Noodle Newbies & FAQs 1 03-26-2008 03:55 PM
...either real sad or real freaking pissed off. DISCOPOPE Off-Topic 25 04-21-2004 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.