Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2002, 11:55 AM   #1
sybir
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4615
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Don of the Wagon Mafia
Vehicle:
05 STi, 97 Leg OB

Default is my amp dead?

How can I isolate whether my amp is fried or not?

Here's the deal.
It's a 2ch Sony xplod sub amp(like 380w or something). It's bridged down to one channel, and it's one of their HX amps, with a switch for high current/high voltage operation (this may be a gimmick/crappy engineering fix, i don't know). It's running a Crossfire DVC 12, hooked up for a 2ohm load.

In my old car, it started going into shutdown due to overcurrent (???), so I got it fixed under warranty. The amp still operated, I just had to keep the line-in levels below a certain amount (crank up the gain)


No more problems until sunday, when it just started blowing fuses, ~2 seconds after it gets the turnon signal. Disconnected the RCA's, disconnected the sub, still blows fuses. Checked all the wiring I could without stripping the car, no shorts that I can find. Is the amp probably just fried?

Should I have expected this with Xplod stuff (i got it cheap, probably should have known) or is it just normal attirtion after 2 years? The gain was only at 1/3 at it's highest, and the stereo hadn't even been above a whisper for the 10 hours before it blew. It ran much cooler at 2ohm than it did at 4ohm, so I figured it was less stressed, but is it just straining the amp in other ways that make it "wear out" sooner?

And the real question, if it is blown out, and I need a budget replacement, what amps should I look at, that are 2ohm stable and ~300 watts? Don't need crossovers, don't need passthroughs, don't need fancy, since it's hidden under my trunk floor 100% of the time. I have no problem with old or used, just have no idea what's good and what is crap.

Thanks for the help
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sybir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 07:47 PM   #2
minix42@
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 548
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: pittsburgh, PA USA
Vehicle:
'98 Impreza RS
dinged up faded black

Default

disconnect your speaker and see if the amp will still blow a fuse without a load. If you turn your tunes on for a minute (no sub attached to the amp) and it doesn't blow a fuse, I'd check out your speaker before anything else.

for now, just push your speaker cone back and forth (if you can reach it) to see if it travels smoothly, or if you can feel it rubbing due to a shorted voice coil.

If it still blows a fuse when you run it with the speaker unhooked, good luck. it's either the amp or the wires are touching somewhere.

Are you sure the wires are in the right places? How about a frayed power /remote turn on/ground wire??? Also, I don't recall whether or not you said if it was the fuse at the battery, trunk, or amp. if it's anything except in the amp then your power wire is pinched and touching the chassis somewhere.

keep talking.... we'll figure it out.
minix42@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 10:07 PM   #3
sybir
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4615
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Don of the Wagon Mafia
Vehicle:
05 STi, 97 Leg OB

Default

thanks
Like i said, RCA's unhooked, sub unhooked (sub moves freely, i tested it on my home system)
So there's just remote, +12v and ground.... I checked the ground, checked the +12V and it's still getting 12V

It's the fuse in the amp that's popping; about 2 seconds after the amp turns on, and it's gone through its self-test (all protection lights lit green, which means nothing is connected wrong and it's not overheated). The amp fuse is a 30A, which is what's specced ont he body of the amp; the inline fuse under the hood is a 40A, and it's fine, so I'm pretty sure it's not grounding out somewhere, or that'd pop as soon as I put a new one in.

I'm quite sure the wires are hooked up right
I put the system in myself, and it worked for a year, then the amp just went
sybir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2002, 03:36 AM   #4
minix42@
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 548
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: pittsburgh, PA USA
Vehicle:
'98 Impreza RS
dinged up faded black

Unhappy

sorry, but I'm afraid that doesn't sound good... If you're not worried about voiding any warranties or anything you could always open it up and see if it's anything obvious. Don't take it apart if you're trying to collect on the warranty or anything though.

If you decide that it's just going in the garbage anyways, you might as well have some fun looking inside before it goes. There are usually a couple of screws/bolts on the bottom of the amp, and it doesn't take much more than that and disconnecting the power to get to the point that you can see the circuit board. Just look for anything that looks like it just blew up . You may find a large carbon deposit somewhere, burns on the components, or a little gnome swinging a pickaxe at your circuits.

It could be something really simple, but it doesn't sound good. let us know what you find out if you decide to try this. other than that, I'm clueless at the moment.
minix42@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my alternator dead or is it something else? Jus Blaze Electrical & Lighting 4 09-22-2008 10:09 AM
Is my router dead-dead, or just....mostly...dead sonicblue Off-Topic 10 07-21-2008 12:10 PM
Tuning my WGDC, is my turbo dead? arch4life Open Source Reflashes 14 03-26-2008 03:43 PM
Is my amp is toast? Artdog748 Car Audio, Video & Security 2 05-21-2004 10:56 PM
Is my starter dead or is it a bad connection? DoinkMobb Service & Maintenance 13 12-30-2003 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.