Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default IAC issues

My car has intermittently been throwing a P1507 code, which is the idle air control, it'll pop up for a while, then go back off with no noticeable cause. The only symptoms i have experienced are, if I have been driving for a few minutes, then come to a complete stop, clutch depressed mind you, the RPMs will drop to around 3-400 and almost die, then immediately snap back to normal idle. Also, if the car is cold, the RPMs will stay high when I shift, as in if I shift at 3k, it will keep spinning at 3k only dropping slowly between shifts, but this is only when cold. I took the IAC out and cleaned/ greased it throughly yesterday and also cleaned the throttle body out, but Im still experiencing the same symptoms and CEL. Do I need a new IAC or could it be something like a vacuum leak? I can't hear anything that sounds like a vacuum leak around the motor and Im trying everything in my power to avoid having it serviced for a $500+ job, any help would be great

Thanks in advance
-Dan Long
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:00 AM   #2
Hedbergsuby07
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160840
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: boston
Vehicle:
2007 impreza
urban gray scoooped

Default

any mods ?
Hedbergsuby07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 01:46 PM   #3
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Only custom catback exhaust, 2 1/4" pipe all the way back with a Tanabe Hyper Medallion axelback, stock as a rock other than that, this began before I had the exhaust installed so that has nothing to do with it
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:01 PM   #4
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

read these . you can do this yourself . save your money.

http://www.automedia.com/Sensor_Trou...cr20010901ic/1

and then how to do it on a subaru.
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781242

god google is easy i guess its even easier for you that im here lol!
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by watchunglava View Post
read these . you can do this yourself . save your money.

http://www.automedia.com/Sensor_Trou...cr20010901ic/1

and then how to do it on a subaru.
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781242

god google is easy i guess its even easier for you that im here lol!
Well as my original post stated, I didnt know if there was something else causing the code, i.e. a vacuum leak or something else, Im going to order a new IAC soon, im sick of that GD little light!!

FYI, I searched quite a few times and found exactly what you sent me, it doesn't apply to my car in that mine is different than a WRX's but thanks anyway.
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:58 PM   #6
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

fyi suck it. no cels on my ride right now so. your welcome!
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:17 AM   #7
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by watchunglava View Post
fyi suck it. no cels on my ride right now so. your welcome!
Bitterness much? who pissed in your cheerios?
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 12:21 PM   #8
yarrgh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80465
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS
Black Diamond Pearl

Default

sounds like your iacv is a little slow. the high rpm's is normal on a cold engine. when you depress the clutch and rpms drop to 400, that's your iacv taking longer than normal to open up and let air flow thru. sounds like you may need a new one. you may also try to check in your idle air passages for any obstruction.
yarrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 01:44 PM   #9
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Yea, I've come to the sad realization that I need to drop $400 on a part thats the size of my thumb Hopefully I can get one in a boneyard/ ebay, gotta check around for some prices. I thoroughly cleaned the air passage when I had the valve off so it must be the valve, thanks for the advice!
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 01:54 PM   #10
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

no way dude you can get that part much cheaper , you sure the wrx iac is different? looks like its the same place to me but whatever . yours isnt on the throttle body?
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:04 PM   #11
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by watchunglava View Post
no way dude you can get that part much cheaper , you sure the wrx iac is different? looks like its the same place to me but whatever . yours isnt on the throttle body?
Yea, its different from the WRX, its a little valve on the side of the throttle body thats electrically controlled, I found the damn thing on Ebay from a wholesaler used 2 days ago for 50 bucks and now cant find it again , any idea where i could get one for less than 400? thats what Autobone quoted me at.
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:10 PM   #12
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

pm subie gal and get a part # then post it here and ill see what i cant find for you.
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:19 PM   #13
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Hey, i just found it again, I forgot what search string I had used and it was a weird URL, I think it's ended though at least for the time being, part # is A33-661 R02, thanks for the willingness to help!

Last edited by dlong27; 12-05-2008 at 03:24 PM.
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:22 PM   #14
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

hell yea im all about it !!! im bored as hell right now im sitting around and my 2 year old is napping. ive seen them around for like $300 new so , or you could allways hit up the junk yard or check the classifieds here and see if anyone is doing a part out. i still cant wrap my head around why it would have gone bad? dirty and non functional yes but bad?
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:35 PM   #15
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

yea that seems odd to me too but I'm a n00b with newer car stuff, i guess just a matter of odds, some of them have to go bad out of all the ones out there, guess thats just my luck!!
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:38 PM   #16
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

try and soak that thing over night in sea foam the clean it up . sea foam is like jesus juice
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:40 PM   #17
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

haha, that won't hurt the electronics in it? im just nervous about Effing it up worse and having a non-running car
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:46 PM   #18
watchunglava
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168862
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland Maine
Vehicle:
2007 ej253n/a 5speed
Red Sox Nation Lifer

Default

you said it was efed allready? what can it hurt. the problem allready is the electonics are probably shot . just thinking of ways around a $300 part. $6 can of sea foam . to make sure it isnt just too dirty.
watchunglava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:49 PM   #19
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

True, I'm really grateful for the help, I'll give that a shot cuz I've got nothing to loose.
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 04:46 PM   #20
Storm
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 5218
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: SAUL'S Motorsports
Vehicle:
96L Most Over-
Developed Beater

Default

6 pins on the plug, right? I just sold one of these over on RS25.com. I have another one, but it won't be available for a week or so.....if you can wait that long.

It's currently on my car but not hooked up since I'm frankenstein'd to high heaven. I'm waiting on a different harness plug to use another throttle body. As soon as it comes in, I'll be pulling this TB off. Feel free to PM me. If it's dire need, I can make up a blockoff plate and run that way til the stuff shows up.

Jay
Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:23 PM   #21
96imprezaL
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 145635
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Vehicle:
2005 LGT Stg4 soon;)
GRP

Default

hey im having the same trouble but can you tell me where the iac is?? mine is a 96 impreza l 2.2l...heres some pics of what i think it is:



is that it?? thnaks
96imprezaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 02:28 PM   #22
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96imprezaL View Post
hey im having the same trouble but can you tell me where the iac is?? mine is a 96 impreza l 2.2l...heres some pics of what i think it is:



is that it?? thnaks
I believe it is, they are attached to the throttle body and either have a wire harness or coolant line which connects to them, depending on the vehicle. Here's a link to one on ebay which fits your car http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2-2-2...mZ350133479175
Good luck!
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 02:37 PM   #23
96imprezaL
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 145635
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Vehicle:
2005 LGT Stg4 soon;)
GRP

Default

awesome thanks so much
96imprezaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:27 PM   #24
dlong27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clinton, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Lego Premium

Default

No prob! no need for anybody else to go thru the same PITA that I did
dlong27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:44 PM   #25
shineysideup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 197671
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somers, Ct
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza
red/ black

Default

I just replaced my iac and now car won't start.
shineysideup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible Tranny issue, grinding with no load battlewaggin Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 3 06-06-2010 01:02 AM
IAC Issues banana_pony95 Newbies & FAQs 8 11-24-2008 07:48 PM
IAC issues on 02 wrx(again) GREDDYWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 09-17-2005 09:25 PM
98 ECU, open iac and closed iac (need help wiring a link) Keith Subaru Conversions 5 09-02-2005 08:49 PM
tec-3 iac rangere7 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 2 07-15-2002 10:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.