Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Click here to visit TireRack
Tire & Wheel Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Losing traction? Need new tires?
Click here to visit the NASIOC Upgrade Garage...
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Tire & Wheel

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 04:37 PM   #1
sinister99
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 166395
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
08 STI
WRB

Default TPMS reprogramming

I ran across this programmer on tirerack to register your sensors with your car.

"ATEQ VT10"

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/detail.jsp?ID=111

However, it notes for Subaru:

Quote:
Additionally, the following vehicles need their sensors registered at the dealership unless an OBDII tool is also used to put the vehicle into TPMS learn mode and search for the new sensors
Does anyone know anything about this TPMS learn mode, can a generic OBDII tool activate it? Is this just a pipe dream for those of us with winter/summer setups?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sinister99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 04:45 PM   #2
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

dealer only at this point for subaru
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:16 PM   #3
shift0246
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136553
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: new jersey
Vehicle:
02 bugeye,fozz
driftslut rx-7

Default

yepp what he said^ if you go to the dealer they do it for free most of the time not worth it to write up a repair order for
shift0246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:21 PM   #4
sinister99
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 166395
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
08 STI
WRB

Default

I figured as much, just hoped there would be a different answer.
sinister99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:42 AM   #5
Luke@tirerack
Tire Rack Moderator
 
Member#: 1215
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: The Tire Rack
Vehicle:
800 -428-8355
ext. 4362

Default

Subaru software for the TPMS is proprietary and aftermarket OBDII scanners can not access the programs. So, as stated it is a dealership only process
Luke@tirerack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 02:54 AM   #6
BigSteiner5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 198418
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Hatch
OBP

Default

if you have a new car just pay the 40 bucks per to get the tpms put on your new wheels...who wants a new car with a dash light on annoying ya
BigSteiner5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:19 AM   #7
sinister99
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 166395
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
08 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSteiner5 View Post
if you have a new car just pay the 40 bucks per to get the tpms put on your new wheels...who wants a new car with a dash light on annoying ya
The problem is, even if you get the sensors installed in your winter wheels, the car would have to be reprogrammed at the dealer every time you switch your wheels - twice a year, every year.
sinister99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 02:10 PM   #8
Snarfblat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 180832
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Salem, OR
Vehicle:
2008 WRX
White

Default

This blows. I just found out the same thing. I wonder if Cobb can hack into the ECU and let us disable the TPMS system completely? 'Course I already spent $160 on sensors for my new wheels. *sigh*

Rob
Snarfblat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 02:21 PM   #9
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snarfblat View Post
This blows. I just found out the same thing. I wonder if Cobb can hack into the ECU and let us disable the TPMS system completely? 'Course I already spent $160 on sensors for my new wheels. *sigh*

Rob
I should think that the opensource boys may be able to figure something out
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 07:21 PM   #10
bpc4him
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200395
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Destroy this damn device!!! haha I had no problem keep'n an eye on my tire pressure on all my other vehicles.
bpc4him is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:29 PM   #11
mikestrat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 185449
Join Date: Jul 2008
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Spark Silver

Default

I wish I read this thread prior to spending $300 on 4 tire sensors. I would have just put up with the light when I had my winter tires on. I'm sure the dealers on Long Island will charge an arm and a leg for the 30 second "registration".
It's a real riot that Subaru would put in a system that can't be reset by the available tools- they want to get people into the dealer service department.
mikestrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 01:21 AM   #12
ra33it
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233663
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2010 WRX H/B
White

Default

Ateq also now sells the Quickset obdII tool.
ra33it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending in ECU to get reprogramed!!! GregBolby General Community 1 11-24-2001 01:49 PM
ECU reprogram mlcourcy Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 07-16-2001 11:57 AM
Reprogram your radar lover Car Audio, Video & Security 0 03-21-2001 07:22 AM
Valentine Reprogramming tips lover Tri-State Area Forum 0 03-21-2001 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.