Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
Skin Irritant
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 157208
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anderson, Indiana
Vehicle:
2006 Wrx TR Wingless
WRB

Default Amp will not fire up?? PLEASE help and advise

My 06 wrx came used with a kenwood deck. I have installed amps and subs before so I thought "no biggie". I got all the wires ran, plugged everything in, and NOTHING! My amp will not fire up.

I started checking connections. I put a low watt fuse in the breaker on the amp main power line, and then touched it to metal. Fuse blew.. so I know I have hot power.

I ran the remote line off the power antenna line (which I have done in almost every install that I have done) so the only thing that I can figure is that I am not getting a good ground.

Is the subaru paint heavier than most where it would require me to sand it down to bare metal? I have never had to do that before, but again this is my first subaru.

Any and ALL help will be much appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Skin Irritant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:13 PM   #2
Giganticprune
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 147662
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: chicago
Vehicle:
2006 wrx tr stage 2

Default

ALWAYS sand to bare metal. its not a good ground unless otherwise. make sure its friggin tight too. honestly like 95% of every car audio problem ive dealt with was because of bad grounds.

but on another note, think about it, you hooked up to power antenna wire..most decks will only run that wire hot when youre on the radio, when it needs the antenna. there should be a designated remote wire from that deck. or you can hook up to the red wire from the back of the radio which is a 12v switch.
Giganticprune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:23 PM   #3
Audiosavvy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 150794
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Vehicle:
Qcab dakota 4x4
LT1 Formula Firebird

Default

Get the remote off the power antenna line, that is the wrong one. Try turning on your radio right now, I bet the amp turns on . You have a blue wire with a white stripe coming out the ass end of the stereo, that is what was meant to be used for your amp turn-on, not the solid blue (the power antenna lead).

And you ALWAYS mount your ground to bare metal, unless you're running it directly back to the battery.
Audiosavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 01:14 PM   #4
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Covered..
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 02:02 PM   #5
Skin Irritant
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 157208
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anderson, Indiana
Vehicle:
2006 Wrx TR Wingless
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiosavvy View Post
Get the remote off the power antenna line, that is the wrong one. Try turning on your radio right now, I bet the amp turns on . You have a blue wire with a white stripe coming out the ass end of the stereo, that is what was meant to be used for your amp turn-on, not the solid blue (the power antenna lead).

And you ALWAYS mount your ground to bare metal, unless you're running it directly back to the battery.
Thank you for the suggestion..... but let me ask this. Even with the remote line possibly connected to the wrong output..... with the hot and the ground running to the amp, would it not still power up?? I throught the remote was there just so it would not stay powered on all the time.

When I get home today I will pull the deck and switch the wire to the other lead
Skin Irritant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 02:04 PM   #6
punk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 169792
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bellingham, MA
Vehicle:
2005 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skin Irritant View Post
Thank you for the suggestion..... but let me ask this. Even with the remote line possibly connected to the wrong output..... with the hot and the ground running to the amp, would it not still power up?? I throught the remote was there just so it would not stay powered on all the time.

When I get home today I will pull the deck and switch the wire to the other lead
The remote tells it when to turn on and off, not just off.
punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 10:18 AM   #7
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skin Irritant View Post
Thank you for the suggestion..... but let me ask this. Even with the remote line possibly connected to the wrong output..... with the hot and the ground running to the amp, would it not still power up?? I throught the remote was there just so it would not stay powered on all the time.

When I get home today I will pull the deck and switch the wire to the other lead
Switch to radio, doe the amp power up? you could easily take a 1" short of wire and short between B+ and the remote line and test (you might wanna take the remote wire off first, so it doesn't backfeed... but yeah, you need the OTHER blue wire.. lol..
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Car will not fire at all silverbullet830 Service & Maintenance 22 09-04-2008 03:32 PM
Car will not Rev Up, help please mamu Normally Aspirated Powertrain 12 01-12-2006 03:35 PM
Car will not make Boost! Please HELP! Genya Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 3 05-24-2004 05:00 PM
need help car will not fire 387hardcore Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 2 05-03-2004 12:58 AM
Cusco rear swaybar will not stop clunking, please help. Darkstar Brakes, Steering & Suspension 12 01-20-2003 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.