Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 02:48 AM   #1
platnumn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91996
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Stamford, CT.... New York, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Audi R8
06 WRX Ltd. - Sold

Default What parts do I need to go STAGE 2 ?????(shop tune)

Greetings,

I posted this in Proven Power because you guys know your stuff.

I am looking to go Stage 2 by way of a custom tuner (would like to take it to The Shop, in Norwalk, CT).

I do NOT have an accessport

I am currently running an 06 WRX Ltd. with SPT short ram intake. I have ready to go on the car:
--SPT Exhaust
--Full aftermarket downpipe w/divorced wastegate
--1 turbo-->DP gasket
--2 flange exhaust gaskets

I am looking for around 70-80whp, as I was told this would be achievable with the addition of:
--K&N drop-inn filter
--fuel pump (walbro or STi)
--injectors (not sure what size??)

How accurate is this information?
Am I really in need of new injectors? (if so, what size? The STi pinks? What do I run stock?).
Do I need a K&N drop-inn, or can my car be custom-tuned for the SPT short ram?

Note I do NOT have an accessport, so would I be able to save the stock and tuned maps on a USB storage drive?

Your answers and suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am not trying to spend too much more, as I am putting together a $1500 suspension.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
platnumn is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:42 AM   #2
GDB FAN
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 105814
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
two V8's..
'murica

Default

You've been here since 05, you should know by now cross posting is a no no.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...2#post25855702

Cobb stage 2 consists: Turbo back exhaust + tune

Since you have an 06, you dont need to worry about injectors IMO. They're 560cc stock, doubt you'll max them out with the TD04. I have a VF34 and am on STi pinks. (550cc)
GDB FAN is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 04:09 AM   #3
icanbrkurhrt
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144725
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
what are the odds?!

Default

if you dont have an accessport just go to your local tuner and have him/her reflash your ecu with the cobb stage 2 map. its the easiest way to go. then you can go and get your car protuned later.
icanbrkurhrt is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:48 AM   #4
Junior2JZ
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 64908
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Tuning 8/9sec Subies @ P&L
Vehicle:
10.8 XT+10.0@143 GR+
9.0@170mph GTR

Default

Hey I know you PMd me.. but my PM box is all jacked up. Shoot me an email @ sik2jz@yahoo.com
Junior2JZ is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:10 AM   #5
UpSideDownDesi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148372
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: ATL, GA
Vehicle:
02 WRX,FD,S2K,M5
Hybrid,07 6spd, BW Roated

Default

you have a 06 no need for bigger inejctors if you are only going stg 2, your stocks are 565cc.
UpSideDownDesi is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #6
DTSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129832
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Fort Knox
Vehicle:
2005 STI
GT4094r

Default

Get an accesport
DTSTI is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 12:27 PM   #7
platnumn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91996
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Stamford, CT.... New York, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Audi R8
06 WRX Ltd. - Sold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTSTI View Post
Get an accesport
Why an accesport when I don't need to go back to stock. I plan on sticking with my future setup until I sell the car, so I don't need to change anything once everything is in place. Doesn't a tune make more sense?

Junior--I emailed ya, looking forward to a response.

Thanks for the replies guys.
platnumn is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:06 PM   #8
k04sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171773
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa, fl
Vehicle:
04 wrx sti
jbp dom 3 xtr w meth!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by platnumn View Post
Greetings,

I posted this in Proven Power because you guys know your stuff.

I am looking to go Stage 2 by way of a custom tuner (would like to take it to The Shop, in Norwalk, CT).

I do NOT have an accessport

I am currently running an 06 WRX Ltd. with SPT short ram intake. I have ready to go on the car:
--SPT Exhaust
--Full aftermarket downpipe w/divorced wastegate
--1 turbo-->DP gasket
--2 flange exhaust gaskets

I am looking for around 70-80whp, as I was told this would be achievable with the addition of:
--K&N drop-inn filter
--fuel pump (walbro or STi)
--injectors (not sure what size??)

How accurate is this information?
Am I really in need of new injectors? (if so, what size? The STi pinks? What do I run stock?).
Do I need a K&N drop-inn, or can my car be custom-tuned for the SPT short ram?

Note I do NOT have an accessport, so would I be able to save the stock and tuned maps on a USB storage drive?

Your answers and suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am not trying to spend too much more, as I am putting together a $1500 suspension.
So why is this posted in Proven Power Bragging?
k04sti is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 10:23 AM   #9
k04sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171773
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa, fl
Vehicle:
04 wrx sti
jbp dom 3 xtr w meth!

Default

k04sti is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 10:30 AM   #10
MrSlowbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129231
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island NY
Vehicle:
2005 wrx
cgm

Default

what you need is a clue
MrSlowbaru is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:14 PM   #11
k04sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171773
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa, fl
Vehicle:
04 wrx sti
jbp dom 3 xtr w meth!

Default

Dude stop messaging me because you are mad I made fun of your for posting your stupid question in the wrong place.
k04sti is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 09:59 AM   #12
ZOMG.STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191857
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milford, MA
Vehicle:
RIP Matthew Denice
'05 2.5RS / '03 S2K

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTSTI View Post
Get an accesport
Why should he get an accessport for a stage 2 tune? Biggest waste of money ever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k04sti View Post
Dude stop messaging me because you are mad I made fun of your for posting your stupid question in the wrong place.
This question isn't posted in the wrong place at all, he even intro'd his post with why it was here. You're just being an ass.

OP, for stage 2 you'll be fine with just a downpipe and tune. If you're not trying to spend much just take what you have and put it on, then go get a protune. You don't need a drop in filter, you should stick with the short ram. And yes, you can save your maps on a USB drive. You also don't need an accessport. They're very useful and provide alot of information, but for a stage 2 tune you'll be wasting your money on it. You'll buy it, be cool, take it out and tune, then put it away lol. Don't waste the money.

Hope this helps, and PM me if you want, unlike some members I'll try to answer questions as best as I can.
ZOMG.STi is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 12:44 PM   #13
k04sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171773
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa, fl
Vehicle:
04 wrx sti
jbp dom 3 xtr w meth!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZOMG.STi View Post
Why should he get an accessport for a stage 2 tune? Biggest waste of money ever.



This question isn't posted in the wrong place at all, he even intro'd his post with why it was here. You're just being an ass.

OP, for stage 2 you'll be fine with just a downpipe and tune. If you're not trying to spend much just take what you have and put it on, then go get a protune. You don't need a drop in filter, you should stick with the short ram. And yes, you can save your maps on a USB drive. You also don't need an accessport. They're very useful and provide alot of information, but for a stage 2 tune you'll be wasting your money on it. You'll buy it, be cool, take it out and tune, then put it away lol. Don't waste the money.

Hope this helps, and PM me if you want, unlike some members I'll try to answer questions as best as I can.
Proven Power Bragging? It is posted in the wrong place. He should post in the newbies section.
k04sti is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:21 PM   #14
platnumn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91996
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Stamford, CT.... New York, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Audi R8
06 WRX Ltd. - Sold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k04sti View Post
Proven Power Bragging? It is posted in the wrong place. He should post in the newbies section.

k04 please shut the F*** UP and go somewhere else.

I PM'd you so I wouldn't have to litter my own thread with garbage, which you are forcing me to do because YOU REFUSE TO STOP MAKING your stupid childish posts.

I POSTED IN PROVEN POWER BECAUSE PEOPLE SPEND THEIR TIME IN THIS FORUM LEARNING HOW TO ACHIEVE MAXIMUM POWER OUT OF A GIVEN SETUP. HOW GOD DAMN HARD IS THAT TO UNDERSTAND??

And like i told you in the PM I sent you, I DID post it in the newbie forum ass.

God the problem with you is that I sent you PM's so you would shut up and stay out of my thread, but then you come back and post in the thread a message for me to stop PMing you because I am mad -- couldn't you have just said that in a PM, because I am SURE that nobody else gives a s*** about what you have to say.

MODS: either warn this prick for avoiding conflict resolution which I tried to do off-site via PM, or close this thread because some people are too stubborn to realize when they aren't wanted. I am more than sure that this jerk will post something else about how I should read a sticky or post in another or something else that doesn't contribute, and I just don't want to deal with it. I apologize if I offended anyone other than the intended party (who sucks).
platnumn is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:23 PM   #15
platnumn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91996
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Stamford, CT.... New York, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Audi R8
06 WRX Ltd. - Sold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZOMG.STi View Post
Why should he get an accessport for a stage 2 tune? Biggest waste of money ever.



This question isn't posted in the wrong place at all, he even intro'd his post with why it was here. You're just being an ass.

OP, for stage 2 you'll be fine with just a downpipe and tune. If you're not trying to spend much just take what you have and put it on, then go get a protune. You don't need a drop in filter, you should stick with the short ram. And yes, you can save your maps on a USB drive. You also don't need an accessport. They're very useful and provide alot of information, but for a stage 2 tune you'll be wasting your money on it. You'll buy it, be cool, take it out and tune, then put it away lol. Don't waste the money.

Hope this helps, and PM me if you want, unlike some members I'll try to answer questions as best as I can.
Thanks alot bud -- someone PM'd me and suggested an STi Top Mount and hoses for better airflow in addition to what I have, but I appreciate the quick and concise reply.
platnumn is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 06:25 PM   #16
k04sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171773
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa, fl
Vehicle:
04 wrx sti
jbp dom 3 xtr w meth!

Default

Follow what I said earlier. Read the faqs.
k04sti is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 06:49 PM   #17
clbd39
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104078
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Missouri
Vehicle:
2002 SRP VF43 WRX
P&L Jorge Tuned

Default

if you want to go ProTuned Stage 2 you need to figure out what your tuner tunes with, if they are strictly COBB then you NEED the accessport, many tuners use Cobb so you'd need it... they can't just FLASH your car "cobb" and be done with it

Now on the other hand many tuners tune with multiple setups and are comfortable with it, some are venturing out and doing OpenSource tunes and are getting comfortable with it

Contact people in your Regional forum and figure out the tuners in your area and see what they use to tune with and THERES your answer as far as a pro-tune

your injectors are fine (as said before) the intake, ask the tuner what they recommend the drop-in, spt or Typhoon

tuners are nice if you're going to bring them business, just don't pester them and do a little more research and be prepared... horsepower isn't everything, a smooth and safe tune can mean more to you than 80,000 hp
clbd39 is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:48 PM   #18
4ST-AIR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148681
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Vehicle:
TBD Looking for STI
Back in the Game!

Default

Hahahahah another 16 yr old gets a WRX

IBIBFTL

/thread
4ST-AIR is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:59 PM   #19
hard2kill
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191115
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: ny
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default

if you want to go to THE SHOP then do what i did friend CALL THEM . jimmy will answer all your questions.....but ill tell you this he will want a walbro 255 fuel pump , 1 step colder plugs , manuel boost controler, and the intake which you already have and with your down pipe and cat back you'll be in good shape...i would recomend a quality up pipe also......good luck maybe ill see you there towards the end of april
hard2kill is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 10:41 PM   #20
Audiosavvy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 150794
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Vehicle:
Qcab dakota 4x4
LT1 Formula Firebird

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by platnumn View Post

MODS: either warn this prick for avoiding conflict resolution which I tried to do off-site via PM, or close this thread because some people are too stubborn to realize when they aren't wanted. I am more than sure that this jerk will post something else about how I should read a sticky or post in another or something else that doesn't contribute, and I just don't want to deal with it. I apologize if I offended anyone other than the intended party (who sucks).

USER: please read the rules of the forum so that you don't get more points in the future. And try to be a little more mature about your responses. I'm closing this because it's nothing but a flamefest.

In the future- DO NOT CROSSPOST. And let the swear filter do its job. And really, this SHOULD be in the Newbies and FAQ section, because it's a frequently asked question.
Audiosavvy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Do I need to reload stage 2 map if my battery died? ASpel SCIC Private Classifieds 2 02-11-2008 01:35 AM
What else do I need for my Stage 2 upgrade? dauss AccessPort 12 12-07-2007 08:32 PM
What parts do I need to add a turbo? Acejam2k Legacy Forum 21 10-12-2003 07:11 AM
What parts do i need to add a turbo to my car? Acejam2k Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 4 09-29-2003 12:25 AM
What parts do I need to hook up amp?? entropy111 Car Audio, Video & Security 1 10-01-2001 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.