Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #1
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default HELP wiring in Gauges.

Hey, is anybody free this weekend to help install some gauges? Im not the best wiring guru and I just need them wired in for now if anybody can help meeees out?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:54 PM   #2
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Vehicle:
2006 Lancer Evo 9
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

What kinda gauges?
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:57 PM   #3
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

cheap ass prosports.
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 05:00 PM   #4
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Vehicle:
2006 Lancer Evo 9
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlons101 View Post
cheap ass prosports.
Ok, you misunderstood me.

What kinda gauges? (volts, boost, engine temp)
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 05:01 PM   #5
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

boost egt and oil pressure.

I just need them wired in so i can connect my boost gauge. Ill do all the other ish later on
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 05:05 PM   #6
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Vehicle:
2006 Lancer Evo 9
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

Are there any "how to's" on this forum?

Boost shouldn't be that hard. Just find a good source for boost pressure somewhere. You can check out a "how to" for installing a boost controller to find those places on the WRX's.

Oil pressure shouldn't be that hard, you'd just have to tap into the wire for your ECU that has the signal.

EGT? hmm....I'm not too sure on that one. Never had to install one. I just put in a wideband and use that.
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 05:07 PM   #7
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

I know how to do all this stuff. But its more wires than normal and I actually have the how to. but Im not a schemtic or electrician so im not to fond on doing it myself. a simple mechanical gauge and you wouldve never seen this thread.
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 05:21 PM   #8
AK SloPok
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56464
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
12 Ram
White

Default

Easiest thing to do is tap into the stereo harness, you have ground, power, igintion and illumination. As I recall the prosports will daisy chain too.
AK SloPok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:31 PM   #9
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Vehicle:
2006 Lancer Evo 9
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AK SloPok View Post
Easiest thing to do is tap into the stereo harness, you have ground, power, igintion and illumination. As I recall the prosports will daisy chain too.
Right, but then your backlighting will be on all the time that your ignition is on. Would you really want that?

I would only tap the backlighting to the harness with the headlight power, so when I turn on my headlights, the backlighting turns on.
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:35 PM   #10
Kiwi Fella
Modest Mouse
Moderator
 
Member#: 27323
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2000 RSTi

Default

Yeah its nice when you do it that way.
Kiwi Fella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:38 PM   #11
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Vehicle:
2006 Lancer Evo 9
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

You'd be surprised how many corners people cut when they install electrical stuff.

Man, I've seen some doozies while installing car stereos...holy crap.
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:44 PM   #12
Imprezed04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 202396
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Killeen, Texas
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Send a PM to Seascooby. He helped wire in my boost gauge, and has done his own as well. Looks very good where it is and functions exceptionally well.
Imprezed04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:45 PM   #13
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

trust me alex is hard to get ahold of. been tried that.
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 07:25 PM   #14
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

prosports require constant power.. they really arent all that hard to hook up.

1 constant power
1 switched power (i used the fuse for my headlights..) to switch colors if you even want that feature.
1 ground
And then the signal wire coming from the solenoid
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 07:27 PM   #15
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

oh and i think the solenoid has a ground and constant as well
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:14 PM   #16
907bob
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117127
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage
Vehicle:
2005 sti
Obama Can't Gymkhana

Default

i had to tap into the ignition for the acc power haha i had all kinds of problems hooking my electric prosport boost gauge up. tried to find some how to guides and had trouble finding a decent one.

i wish i saw this one before i hooked my boost gauge up i would have ran the vacuum hose like this
http://www.rexnet.com.au/forum/index...howtopic=79436


http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1036365

found a couple wiring diagrams that were nice here
http://www.northursalia.com/modifica...ng/wiring.html

hope that does you some good, mine ended up kinda shoddy because i was in a hurry and didnt have all the correct stuff so i gotta re do it this summer.
907bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:58 AM   #17
Imprezed04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 202396
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Killeen, Texas
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Impreza WRX STi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlons101 View Post
trust me alex is hard to get ahold of. been tried that.

not if u got his number
Imprezed04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 02:44 AM   #18
02redwagone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87067
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Oregon Coast/AK
Vehicle:
02 Old but tasty
SRP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 907bob View Post
i had to tap into the ignition for the acc power
Mine is taped to the parking lights (stock boost gauge harness behind radio) No DRLs of course and superbrightleds.com for markers. Bling Bling and boost guage all day erry day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 907bob View Post
i wish i saw this one before i hooked my boost gauge up i would have ran the vacuum hose like this
http://www.rexnet.com.au/forum/index...howtopic=79436
But that's right hand drive? Wouldn't it be a long haul just to tap that location for USDM configure cabin? Just stealthily tap the stock purge valve standard location it will be less noticeable than there. Due simply to it being under the TMIC or A/C lines 90% right through the big grommet in the bulkhead to gauges.

kenney
02redwagone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:37 AM   #19
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imprezed04 View Post
not if u got his number
you must be silly if you dont think i have his number mister.
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 03:38 PM   #20
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

friday after work anybody?
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 03:40 PM   #21
FstWrx907
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 202303
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Eugene, OR
Vehicle:
03 Impreza WRX
Black

Default

hahah why dont you get gabe to help you....O wait he wants your exahust and your not giving it to him...
FstWrx907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:05 PM   #22
Alaskan EJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160040
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchortown
Vehicle:
2002 Bugi / 1993 L
Symmetry Tuning

Default

hahahahahahah^^^^ maybe, i told you i would do it, and qikevo there's a little more to these gauges then tapping into the stock sensors output wires, each gauge has an individual sensor and in this system it looks like the boost sensor needs to be powered, the EGT gets tappped in the headers and plugs in and the Oil P. sensor is missing, but he just wants them lit, these gauges 4 wires to light them red, black, orange, and white which are most likely switched p., ground, illumi, and dimmer, but im not sure so if someone would verify that would be great, thanks
Alaskan EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 07:31 PM   #23
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

OK! Got my gauges wired up last night... from a write up on nasioc that wired it into the clock pod....well they lite up, but when i started the car they burnt the fuse out? or did i fry my wires? I tried to replace the fuse and just plug the clock in...nothing. No clock. No stero. help me?
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 07:49 PM   #24
d-dub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 177961
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks
Vehicle:
05 wrx
Silver

Default

I wired mine into the clock and they have been fine since december. Wonder why you would have blew a fuse...
d-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:16 PM   #25
Alaskan EJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160040
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchortown
Vehicle:
2002 Bugi / 1993 L
Symmetry Tuning

Default

come over after work ill fix it, check the radio fuse
Alaskan EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring up gauges where the clock use to be civichunter2 Electrical & Lighting 13 10-02-2006 06:32 PM
Gauge wiring --in process--HELP klie5111 Electrical & Lighting 4 06-11-2005 07:13 PM
Wiring help for boost gauge MaximusRex Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 3 04-10-2002 02:08 PM
Need Help with EGT Gauge Wiring CommandoRabbit Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 0 07-19-2001 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.