Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday January 27, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 08:21 PM   #1
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default I have a built Engine, 280 cams, Want something smoother, same power

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by ki11switch; 04-07-2009 at 02:48 AM. Reason: different thread
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
Chi_San
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Deadford, OR
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Honestly, I'd suggest tossing the cams you have and finding something a little more mild. Stock cams probably aren't what you want, but what you have is certainly overkill for the output. Keep the built bottom end for sure, unless that drives you crazy too.

Why just swap the cams? Maybe the PO proted your heads, upgraded valvetrain, etc. Be a shame to just toss or sell that if you've already got it.
Chi_San is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:32 PM   #3
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chi_San View Post
Honestly, I'd suggest tossing the cams you have and finding something a little more mild. Stock cams probably aren't what you want, but what you have is certainly overkill for the output. Keep the built bottom end for sure, unless that drives you crazy too.

Why just swap the cams? Maybe the PO proted your heads, upgraded valvetrain, etc. Be a shame to just toss or sell that if you've already got it.
I know i never thought i would want to get rid the cams it until i now have it. Im not complaining about it, just would prefer something smoother. I have the stock cams and valve springs and retainers i could swap back in. From what i have read, STI cams and 06 wrx cams are the same thing...
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:33 PM   #4
jays05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78165
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Vehicle:
05 STI 35r + e85

Default

Try another tuner?
jays05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:37 PM   #5
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jays05 View Post
Try another tuner?
well thats what i was thinking made it so rough but the guy who tuned it has a very high reputation... I have to get it retuned anyway, but i dont know if i am going to swap engines or not
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 09:36 PM   #6
joeschmoe714
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 71374
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: orange county, ca
Vehicle:
2005 impreza wrx
aspen white

Default

im pretty sure if you run a smaller cams itll be smoother.
im running an almost similar setup with 276's and you can hear and feel a slight lope but its not noisy or annoying.
joeschmoe714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:15 PM   #7
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

Quote:
I feel like my idle is really rough compared to any STI out there. Horrible cold start up etc.
I don't usually pick on the tuner but in this case I would say that the above statement is actually a sign that the tune is off a little. A cold start issue says to me that the fueling is off and this is backed up with the idle issue. I would almost bet that if you added fuel for cold start and idle you would have a smoother engine. Big cams don't like lean conditions, actually they don't like 14.7:1 which is the typical target AFR.

Add some fuel, 13.5:1 and I would bet that the engine would be happier. That's a nice looking built motor, save the other long block till you realy need it.
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:49 PM   #8
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick_the_ginge View Post
I don't usually pick on the tuner but in this case I would say that the above statement is actually a sign that the tune is off a little. A cold start issue says to me that the fueling is off and this is backed up with the idle issue. I would almost bet that if you added fuel for cold start and idle you would have a smoother engine. Big cams don't like lean conditions, actually they don't like 14.7:1 which is the typical target AFR.

Add some fuel, 13.5:1 and I would bet that the engine would be happier. That's a nice looking built motor, save the other long block till you realy need it.
maybe ill give a re-tune a chance before i swap.....
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:23 AM   #9
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

Of course you could have a plain and simple mechnical issue and nothing to do with tuning. Just thought I would mention that
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:36 AM   #10
reddevil
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 64673
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland
Vehicle:
1990 Legacy wagon
goes 12.387 @ 116.5

Default

reddevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:49 AM   #11
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

Ahah.... When you are ready to be tuned let me know and I'll try and be at Surgeline at the same time. I know Tim and the crew very well.
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:55 AM   #12
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddevil View Post

yep thats my car..
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:53 AM   #13
Chi_San
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Deadford, OR
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

A friend got his EVO X tuned at Surgeline and it was an awesome experience, wished I could have been there.
Chi_San is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:00 AM   #14
Brydon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 107569
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
1998 Forester S
SRP

Default

Try 264 cams and a re-tune. My motor with 272 cams started up and idled well in 12 degree weather. Coldest it gets here in portland. This was on a AEM standalone. So you should be able to get the same results with a good tune.
Brydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:08 AM   #15
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

how are there so many people from portland on here?
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:09 AM   #16
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ki11switch View Post
how are there so many people from portland on here?
Not from Portland, but I found this comment funny

I would try switching to a less race-oriented set of cams, such as the 264's. u should be able to make similar power to what u make at the moment, with a wider powerband.

u can try going richer with the cams u have, and that will smooth them out a bit, but u will notice that ur fuel economy suffers, especially in the city, and u go through spark plugs a bit faster than usual due to the rich fuel mixture fowling them up.

Last edited by jigga; 04-01-2009 at 09:11 AM. Reason: Now why is it that everytime i type "y o u", it shows up as "u"?
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:37 AM   #17
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

Is there 93 octane in Oregon? Florida has 93 octane and if Oregon doesn't have 93 octane then your tune is way out of whack....
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:15 PM   #18
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolRex View Post
Is tehre 93 octane in Oregon? Florida has 93 octane and if Oregon doesn't have 93 octane tehn ur tune is way out of whack....
92 oct
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:17 PM   #19
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

That 'could' be your problem. You best bet in your area is to contact Surgeline Tuning. Or call Topspeed and they can remote tune your car on any dyno if the dyno owner will help them set it up
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:20 PM   #20
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolRex View Post
That 'could' be your problem. You best bet in your area is to contact Surgeline Tuning. Or call Topspeed and they can remote tune your car on any dyno if the dyno owner will help them set it up
my plans are to get it tuned my tim at surgeline
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:37 PM   #21
irascible
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159454
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa
Vehicle:
2006 WRX CGM
6SPD Cornfed GT30R

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ki11switch View Post
my plans are to get it tuned my tim at surgeline
I'd say that's a good start, and he could probably tell you what to check on if the problem still exists.

It may also be caused by crappy modded injectors, or problematic ones.
irascible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:02 PM   #22
ki11switch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176422
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irascible View Post
I'd say that's a good start, and he could probably tell you what to check on if the problem still exists.

It may also be caused by crappy modded injectors, or problematic ones.
i dont have modded injectors......
ki11switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:56 PM   #23
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

I wouldn't expect 280 cams to idle like a stock DD. You sacrifice a little to get that top end so swapping them out for the stockers won't net you the same power without a bigger turbo.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:25 PM   #24
TopEndPull
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126112
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston,Texas
Vehicle:
93.5 Toyota Supra
Red

Default

I would keep it the way it is now and get a retune to see how that goes. You've got a built motor with the works so why not use it? I would save the sti long block for down the road...
TopEndPull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:53 PM   #25
john 1badSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77470
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: grove city ohio
Vehicle:
04 sti 10.51@138.5
on e85@ 30psi--spinning

Default

+1 for what mick said the car probably needs retuned just like he said big cams like to idle around 1000 rpm and af's around 13.5-13.8.
john 1badSTI is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tune problems- 280 cams, 63lb turbo, built block godforbid67 Open Source Reflashes 74 02-11-2010 06:22 PM
Built 2.0 heads (Ti valves, springs, retainers) 280 cams selvar05WRX Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 07-01-2009 12:37 AM
If you have a Maxwell Power built engine chime in CoolRex Built Motor Discussion 23 06-21-2009 05:46 PM
built motor thinking of getting BC 280 cams moorebl Built Motor Discussion 1 03-29-2009 02:14 PM
Have a 4 Puck; now I want something less aggressive Tattoo Collector Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 09-28-2005 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.