Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 9, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2009, 01:41 AM   #1
~snowman~
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207011
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: In the clouds.
Default Can I control AVCS with Switch?

Ya, on a 2.5 w/ 07 sti heads, if I just run AVCS lines w stock ecu on a 04 wrx, hook the the cam sensor and run the lines, and all that,

is it a dumb question to ask if I could change the timing with a switch hooked up to the AVCS solenoid to play with the voltage on the avcs from the vehicle? or would that mess up timing curve and all that and detonate?

thanks like i was wondering if i could do like a 3 point switch with more resistors and diodes to open the solenoid more at whatever volage to make it open and close ill figure it out but something like low/mid/high okay thanks, but would that confuse the setup and ecu and air/fuel and my valves will go crazy and hit pistons? and blow some shiznit up?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by ~snowman~; 04-12-2009 at 01:47 AM.
~snowman~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:48 AM   #2
Rod702
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132978
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas NV
Vehicle:
2004 Mike angel tund
efr 7670 1.05 Twiscroll

Default

i dont think the 04 wrx ecu can activate avcs. When i switched out my ej22t 2.35L with sti heads into my 04 rex. that was one of the issue i ran into, i solved it by getting a standalone, hydra, aem or autronic... i got the hydra and ran closed loop plug and play and its the shyte...
Rod702 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:54 AM   #3
~snowman~
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207011
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: In the clouds.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod702 View Post
i dont think the 04 wrx ecu can activate avcs. When i switched out my ej22t 2.35L with sti heads into my 04 rex. that was one of the issue i ran into, i solved it by getting a standalone, hydra, aem or autronic... i got the hydra and ran closed loop plug and play and its the shyte...

Ya, I know if the ECU isnt capable of running AVCS in a wrx 04 but Im saying isnt it still okay to bolt on avcs run the lines and hook up the cam sensor and youre good to go right cause its stuck on one timing degree in essence right? But to properly run it you need sti ecu but, you can still run AVCS without sti ecu am I correct on that at all? stop me at anytime if you will please if I'm talking nonsense garbage, but, what im saying is Ill hot wire in to the avcs solenoid to force it to open at 3 different locations like low/mid/high or something like that would that work or will my valves explode into my pistons because you cant to that because it will mess with the timing and all that and you must have an ecu to control AVCS properly in the least sense and it will do no good to open the AVCS solenoid manuall because it will do no good benefit without engine management please correct me if I am wrong I am a noob.

Last edited by ~snowman~; 04-12-2009 at 01:59 AM.
~snowman~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:11 AM   #4
Chi_San
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Deadford, OR
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Controlling the AVCS with a flip toggle switch in the car? I dunno about that...
Chi_San is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:46 AM   #5
Rod702
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132978
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas NV
Vehicle:
2004 Mike angel tund
efr 7670 1.05 Twiscroll

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~snowman~ View Post
Ya, I know if the ECU isnt capable of running AVCS in a wrx 04 but Im saying isnt it still okay to bolt on avcs run the lines and hook up the cam sensor and youre good to go right cause its stuck on one timing degree in essence right? But to properly run it you need sti ecu but, you can still run AVCS without sti ecu am I correct on that at all? stop me at anytime if you will please if I'm talking nonsense garbage, but, what im saying is Ill hot wire in to the avcs solenoid to force it to open at 3 different locations like low/mid/high or something like that would that work or will my valves explode into my pistons because you cant to that because it will mess with the timing and all that and you must have an ecu to control AVCS properly in the least sense and it will do no good to open the AVCS solenoid manuall because it will do no good benefit without engine management please correct me if I am wrong I am a noob.
i dunno man, i think your digging yourself in a hole on that idea. How would you know when to flip the swith at different rpm/load? getting an sti ecu to mate up with your wrx harness will require some splicing. That would probably better then what your thinking.
Rod702 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 06:23 AM   #6
~snowman~
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207011
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: In the clouds.
Default

So if I force the AVCS solenoid to lock on full open/closed position would that make any difference in low rpm torque and power?

I could tell the solenoid to open at whatever rpm too probly? like vtak and those butterflys on intakes with vvt or whatever......Ill tell it to open at 2200 rpm or whatever.

With a hydra what else does the parameters change injector duty cycle afrs load rating whatever maps egts and psi and all that so if i just stick a switch on it will blow my engine right cause the ecu cant keep up with the sudden change right? or what.

nevermind i guess, it probly wont work because the timing will be off probly and ill slap some valves.

Last edited by ~snowman~; 04-12-2009 at 06:37 AM.
~snowman~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 10:06 AM   #7
STIBungy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51684
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CO
Default

It'll hit whatever max timing is on the cams when activated. You dont have any cam timing control.
STIBungy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:24 AM   #8
jays05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78165
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Vehicle:
05 STI 35r + e85

Default

See the AVCS tuning thread in the EM section... you cannot simply turn AVCS on/off. The Greddy v-manage can control AVCS and might be a cheaper option than a full standalone ECU.
jays05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 07:44 PM   #9
jconaty07
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 139124
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pt Pleasant, NJ
Default

you do that, and your motor won't last long. im not being a**, just a realist
jconaty07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:30 PM   #10
CKxx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33458
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
Your BOV sounds lame
93 RX7+09 Forester

Default

I was thinking along similar lines as you, but I wanted to try and control the duty cycle of a solenoid with the solenoid controller output of a UTEC, and set it up to only operate under 100% throttle to avoid having to "tune" it for any other condition.

It was just idle thought, though.

My friend is an electrical engineer/"black box" extraordinaire. He's gotten bored and made everything from auto-learning EBC's to contraptions that operate the clutch for you as you bang gears (worked well with Ikeya Formula sequential shifter). I'm trying to learn more about how the AVCS works so he can make a controller for it.
CKxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:05 AM   #11
Chi_San
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Deadford, OR
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

GReddy makes an AVCS controller, it costs $680 list. I believe that that is a general variable valve timing controller, though, says it can be used on VTEC, VVTi, etc as well.
Chi_San is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 01:21 AM   #12
~snowman~
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207011
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: In the clouds.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chi_San View Post
GReddy makes an AVCS controller, it costs $680 list. I believe that that is a general variable valve timing controller, though, says it can be used on VTEC, VVTi, etc as well.
Thank you guys. I got my head buried in tuning section.

Ya CkXX Im hoping to somehow culminate the throttle with an opening degree on the solenoid, at a particular rpm. But it seems too much and need wierd numbers with the stock sti type of system vs. some type of resistor relay contraption i would make, even that could handle vibrations and stuff and the cold temps where I live and I wouldnt trust my own soldering to a point but Id thopught Id ask if there could be an easy one stage opening on the solenoid. Could use just about to anything to trigger it.....umm throttle positision sounds good. But what would happen to flip the switch at 3600 rpm at 100% open throttle what would happen lol. Im my thought it would only open the solenoids as much as you set it "the solenoid" to open to lets say make it easy and full open at 100%, and also to my thinking just is a timing advancement when that intake pullies get juiced and closing fully 100% at 0 throttle or whatever, to idle, simple really, maybe, ya right. Ha, I think Im dreaming.

Because tuning, honestly, I dont understand at all yet. Alot of hard work and dedication and laptops, and gauges and cables and loot I just dont have at the moment, but Im not going to give up. and its gonna take me a long long while years to even begin to understand some of that talk let alone muster up the cajones to flash my own. Ha, no way.

Go thru all this for what, and the immediate effect I may recieve by back-yard hacking the AVCS can be counteracted by just simply getting a bigger turbo (more effecient) Im sure eh?

Last edited by ~snowman~; 05-07-2009 at 01:49 AM.
~snowman~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I make a ROM switch with a daughterboard to work with Subaru ECU's? WRXINTX Open Source Reflashes 9 05-12-2008 10:02 PM
Can Cruise control co-exist with launch control with the 2002 wrx Hydra? jigga Other Engine Management 5 04-17-2007 08:16 PM
boost control options when switching over em DISCOPOPE Engine Management & Tuning 2 03-04-2006 03:29 PM
Can I use an LED switch for XEDE map switch? djoye Electrical & Lighting 0 09-02-2005 04:30 PM
DCCD controller complete with switches ImprezaRSfan! Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 13 05-04-2005 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.