Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
own3db
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120667
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: oak creek wi
Vehicle:
02 20g'd ewg wrx
platinum silver metallic

Default 2.0 to 2.5 swap questions

hi i tried searching but couldn't find what i need to know. I am about to swap a 06 complete 2.5 into my 02 wrx i was wondering if the wiring harness from my 02 would work and also if the ecu would work to any help would be greatly appreciated
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
own3db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 03:35 PM   #2
BoostInc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176520
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: NM
Vehicle:
1994 Legacy SS
black and mud

Default

if its the whole longblock then no, you can just swap shortblocks.
BoostInc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:29 PM   #3
own3db
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120667
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: oak creek wi
Vehicle:
02 20g'd ewg wrx
platinum silver metallic

Default

ok well i found out that its takes way to much work to make the whole long block work so im going to do a hybrid build whould i put cams or something becuase i heard that the stock 2 liter head fall off bad at high rpms
own3db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 07:00 PM   #4
jet8300
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115844
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
02 WRX
99 Forester

Default

Look around in the "Built Motor" section, rather than his one. There's TONS of 2.5l Hybrid info in there.
jet8300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 09:47 PM   #5
FuJi K
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 3687
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Paul, MN
Vehicle:
MY99 GF4 JDM 6spd
NF Performance

Default

You can run the long block. You just won't be able to control AVCS. Run your intake manifold. Take off and cap the air pump system. Retune.
FuJi K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 06:24 PM   #6
own3db
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120667
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: oak creek wi
Vehicle:
02 20g'd ewg wrx
platinum silver metallic

Default

so it is possible to run the whole long block some one told me that it cannot be done with out tons of wiring issues and other stuff is there a write up or something i can look at for disabling the avcs or would i just be better off doind a hybrid build
own3db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 03:12 AM   #7
SegaWrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203618
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default

Check the built motor section like renegade said.
SegaWrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 09:54 PM   #8
own3db
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120667
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: oak creek wi
Vehicle:
02 20g'd ewg wrx
platinum silver metallic

Default

i spent a good 45 min in the built motor section and my question pertains more to a subaru conversion then a built motor
own3db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:34 AM   #9
xrturbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86298
Join Date: May 2005
Location: allentown, PA
Vehicle:
98 LGT Wagon
Full WRX driveline & dash

Default

If you do a hybrid build, be sure to research pcv/breather system setup due to the dual breather 25 vs single 20 and also cometic is making a big bore 20 gasket to work with the hybrid.
xrturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:33 PM   #10
wrx03.4wz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122375
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Waterbury,CT
Vehicle:
03.7 I own 2 of them
White & Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by own3db View Post
so it is possible to run the whole long block some one told me that it cannot be done with out tons of wiring issues and other stuff is there a write up or something i can look at for disabling the avcs or would i just be better off doind a hybrid build
I own a hybrid engine,for 1 the only reason you can't run a STi long block is becuase it is drive-by-wire!!! thats is it, you can bypass the AVCS but the car will run like crap, 2nd head p/p SERIOUS P/P THE 2.0 HEADS HAVE TO BE JUST RIGHT FOR THIS TYPE BUILD!!! hits bottom end has crazy torque misses falls flat on high end thus p/p heads.
wrx03.4wz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 04:04 AM   #11
gordini69
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119591
Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

2.5l sti heads use hall effect cam sensors. wrx has one reluctor style cam sensor on front of left head. if using original ecu, front cam sensor is needed. cosworth makes a bracket to adapt a front cam sensor to 2.5l heads. however avcs will still not work.
gordini69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:37 AM   #12
rocketsled
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35223
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manchester, NH
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
WR Blue

Default

I recently purchased an 06 baja turba 2.5l motor to swap into my 02 wrx wagon with similar mods to you. Under the impression I can use whole long block and just swap out the intake so the throttle body will work and possibly the cam sensor. AVCS will not work without changing ecu's but heard it just loses a little power (still have more than 2.0 though) in the lower revs... shouldn't idle/run badly. Curious to hear more info on this particular swap as well so please keep in coming guys.
rocketsled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:09 AM   #13
robwrx19720
Scooby Scammer- Do Not Buy From User
 
Member#: 180582
Join Date: May 2008
Default

I'm doing a sti longblock swap into my 02 wrx in it "WILL WORK" in run fine with a wrx ecu and wiring harness but the AVCS will not work in there is not much of a power lost without the AVCS. all you have to do is use your 02 intake manifold cause its drive by wire. My sti longblock is getting built by agile auto as i speak in it will work with no problem.
robwrx19720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 07:07 PM   #14
turbored02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119471
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Azusa, ca
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

I am in the same spot as the OP. I have a full 05 STi swap from engine to the rear sub-frame. But I didn't swap out to the STi harnesess. My only problems besides a tune is, it idles at 2k. And of course I don't have AVCS. I am waiting for my cam sensor bracket to come in. Does anyone know if I can use the 2.0 cam sensor ? Or do I have to run a 2.5 cam sensor ? Also if I have to swap them out. Are they the same connector ?
turbored02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 02:06 PM   #15
rocketsled
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35223
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manchester, NH
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
WR Blue

Default

You will need to reuse old 2 wire cam sensor from WRX. STI is 3 wire and won't work. You apparently already know about the cosworth bracket which you'll need if your head doesn't already have the casting. Some of the older models do and you just have to drill out the hole. Good luck!
rocketsled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:38 AM   #16
turbored02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119471
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Azusa, ca
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

Well I am getting frustrated with my car. Since the 2.5 LB went in. I have been having nothing but problems. 1 major problem is I have an oil leak...Not a real bad one. Just a nuisance. I think it's from, too much crank case pressure maybe. The shop that droped the motor in caped off 1 of the ports for the PCV/Breather System. I have changed it 4 times. Always leaks and in the same stop. Near the lower cam on the front. Leaks onto the header and causes alot of smoke.
turbored02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.0 to 2.5 Swap 02WRXSTiImpreza Subaru Conversions 2 12-13-2006 03:02 PM
2.0 to 2.5 block swap SLO_02WRX Subaru Conversions 2 11-06-2006 10:39 AM
2.0 to 2.5 swap - engine suggestions hybrid gti 2 Subaru Conversions 3 05-18-2006 01:23 PM
2.0 to 2.5 block swap, what's the ideal Compression ratio? 516_WRX_V2 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 13 10-25-2003 01:44 AM
Forester 2.0 to 2.5 engine swap???help Breen Subaru Conversions 14 10-15-2003 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.