Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default I Got VAG-COM cable and I need help!!!!!

I bought this cable and need help getting it to work. ive installed all the drivers and can get my laptop with the vag-com software to see my subaru's computer. but when i try using ecuflash ethier the 1.29 or newer versions It wont even let me try to read. Whats the deal help me please. Im going MADDDD

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:55 PM   #2
pbomers
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191508
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Deep Blue Mica

Default

What error are you getting? Low voltage by any chance?
pbomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:03 PM   #3
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

not getting any error's i cant even push the read button/icon
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:52 PM   #4
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

You did set the correct COM port, right?
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:56 AM   #5
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

AFAIK, ECUFLash requires openport to read and write, and vagcom cables are only suitable for logging via RomRaider.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:58 AM   #6
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Nope, there's a lot of us flashing via VagCom.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:21 AM   #7
fearmywrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176103
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blouch 18g 324whp

Default

This is my buddy, we worked on it togther, We couldn't get it to work.

I found some answers here so we can tackle it after work.

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=110768

It seems very misinterpreted that VagCom can't do reflashes.

It can and for a GREAT PRICE.

Could the green test wire be a problem?

I also think he may not have the right FTDI driver installed, I could be wrong tho.

So BUMP for more info
fearmywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:05 AM   #8
pbomers
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191508
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Deep Blue Mica

Default

It CAN reflash. I've got a tutorial almost done. You need to use ECUFlash 1.29a.
pbomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:56 AM   #9
splitd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207591
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
05 Stage 2 WRX
wingless WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
AFAIK, ECUFLash requires openport to read and write, and vagcom cables are only suitable for logging via RomRaider.

That's not necessarily true, I read, flash, and log with a generic VagCom cable, one that looks very similar (cheap) like the one the OP posted in the pic.

To the OP, I had a tough time getting mine to work, it took a little while, but it worked. What it sounds like to me is a problem with your computer and it's connection to the cable itself. Make sure you have the correct drivers installed (FTDI), and that your cable is configured to the correct COM port. When it's hooked up, it should show up on your Device Manager as a USB Serial cable I believe (on Windows XP anyway).


Another member asked a question about a low/high voltage problem. That ususally (in my experience) a problem when writing or test writing only. You can ususally read and not get a low/high voltage error. You may need the jumper block for this, or do as I did and soldered a wiring harness to jump 12V directly to the flash block.

OP, if you need any help LMK, I know how much of a pain in the arse I had getting it to work. If you need the files for the drivers, I have them, just shoot me a PM with your email address and I'll email them to you. If later down the road you need pictures with how to make/hook up a 12V jumper, I can help you out with that as well. Hope this helps!
splitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:58 AM   #10
splitd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207591
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
05 Stage 2 WRX
wingless WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbomers View Post
It CAN reflash. I've got a tutorial almost done. You need to use ECUFlash 1.29a.
I'm using ECUFlash version 1.41 with no problems.....
splitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:17 AM   #11
rentforsale
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139391
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Mission Viejo
Vehicle:
BugI wrx
Its Blue !

Default

You can only use them for Drive by wire .... or drive by cable . I forget . Only 04 and up . Us bugeyes are outta luck .
rentforsale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:24 AM   #12
splitd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207591
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
05 Stage 2 WRX
wingless WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rentforsale View Post
You can only use them for Drive by wire .... or drive by cable . I forget . Only 04 and up . Us bugeyes are outta luck .
Really? I wasn't aware of that. I guess you do learn something new everyday...
splitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:52 AM   #13
pbomers
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191508
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Deep Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitd View Post
I'm using ECUFlash version 1.41 with no problems.....
I should try the new ECUFlash then. When I got my cable only 1.34 was out...
pbomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:00 PM   #14
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

hey thanks for all the replies. But ive done all that stuff. Ive got the right drivers for my cable. MY computer see's the cable. I did notice when i connect the green conector in under the dash it doesnt do anything regardless if the key is on or off. I cant even log romraider doesnt see my cable. or it says no interface. I do have a Bugeye-subi I hope IM not F***ed. Anyone else have Ideas or want to do a remote network deal to fig. out what the deal is. And the whole green connector not doing anything when i plug it in is weird. but it wont suprise me if its been cut somewhere. who ever had this car before really liked aftermarket alarms.Wires evvvvvvvvverywhere cut, caped off,or just hanging.HELP!!!!!!
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:25 PM   #15
pbomers
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191508
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Deep Blue Mica

Default

I wanted to finish this up, but it seems like you could really use the help.

I would uninstall everything and start from scratch, then click the link below. It's the exact step by step instructions I used.

Flashing/Datalogging your WRX for $30.00
pbomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:41 PM   #16
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Make double-sure you installed the correct driver for the cable. I installed the wrong one first and I could not get it to work either.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:04 PM   #17
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

ok im going to unistall everthing again and make sure i got the right drivers. I'll let u guys know. crossing my finggers and toes.
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:53 PM   #18
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

ok know im able to select the first read ecu button and then a screen pops up and it just blank cant select anything any suggestions. this is usaully were u would select ur year right?nothing there
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 02:28 PM   #19
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

wow nothing is working i cant even use romraider logger say cant send ECU init. check cable or connection. ecuexplorer pops up some ecuflash thing and then wants me to save a file when nothing has been done yet and then says cant connect to port. i lowered the byte rate to 4800 like ive read. the port pops up. im lost.
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 02:43 PM   #20
splitd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207591
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
05 Stage 2 WRX
wingless WRB

Default

It definately sounds like it's your computer itself. A few suggestions:
1. Make sure you have the correct drivers installed. I uploaded them not too long ago for another member, here's the link if you need it:
http://rapidshare.com/files/22988969...ified.zip.html

2. Make sure you have all the RomRaider and EcuFlash definitions downloaded and installed. You also need another set of definitions just for EcuFlash's logger. That makes 3 different definition sets you need to get it running.

3. Make sure you aren't running EcuFlash and RomRaider at the same time. Meaning only have 1 of those programs open on the desktop at a time. AFAIK running both could block the ports or something.

Hope this helps!
splitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 03:11 PM   #21
pbomers
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191508
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Deep Blue Mica

Default

The other thing to test quickly is to only open Learning View and try connecting. If you can't get Learning View to connect you definitely won't be able to datalog or flash.
pbomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 03:27 PM   #22
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

update now it will start to read and this is what is show's in the log window

[11:55:50.562] Using interface USB <-> Serial
[11:55:53.171] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:54.406] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:55.640] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:56.875] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:58.109] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:58.546] kernel get version
[11:55:58.875] interface close
[11:55:58.875] interface close

then error's out.
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 03:39 PM   #23
splitd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207591
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
05 Stage 2 WRX
wingless WRB

Default

What's the error say? Voltage too high/low? Or does the program just crash on you?
splitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:08 PM   #24
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

it just crashes no voltage issue
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:14 PM   #25
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

it pops up a window that says ecuflash error.


error occurred. See log for details.


here is my log

[11:55:50.562] Using interface USB <-> Serial
[11:55:53.171] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:54.406] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:55.640] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:56.875] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:58.109] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[11:55:58.546] kernel get version
[11:55:58.875] interface close
[11:55:58.875] interface close
it has to be comunicating with the cars computer because this is what it says when i dont have the obII conected.

13:09:09.765] Using interface USB <-> Serial
[13:09:13.140] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[13:09:13.453] readback fail
[13:09:14.359] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[13:09:14.671] readback fail
[13:09:15.578] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[13:09:15.906] readback fail
[13:09:16.812] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[13:09:17.125] readback fail
[13:09:18.046] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[13:09:18.359] readback fail
[13:09:18.484] kernel get version
[13:09:18.687] readback fail
[13:09:18.812] interface close
[13:09:18.828] interface close

it shows me that its getting no read back if the obII connector isnot connected. so i dont know what the deal is. anyone know.
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant get Vag-com cable to flash my 04 FXT andy87t2 Open Source Reflashes 6 06-13-2009 12:35 AM
VAG-COM cable btlegacy Open Source Reflashes 4 05-31-2009 07:10 PM
Car PC anyone? Just got a buncha stuff and I need help. JjSwee Car Audio, Video & Security 4 11-12-2005 08:41 PM
OK, I got $2200 to spend and I need help doing it.. Blackshirt Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 31 11-04-2005 02:07 AM
so sdfi just got the treo 600 and i need help find a free version of AIM for it. bubba03wrx Off-Topic 2 08-21-2004 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.