Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 26, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Notices

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2006, 06:36 PM   #1
mooncancook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104329
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRC Blue

Question need opinions on Valor DVD/Nav unit

I'm looking for a DVD/Nav head unit for my 04 STi. I found the Valor DTS-660WT. On paper it seems like the best all-in-1 unit with DVD/Nav/TV built-in, and it's the only player I found that can play mpeg4/DivX files.

I google the unit and could hardly find any info. Anybody knows anything about their quality? how much is the unit cost coz the only thing I can find is the lesser DTS-605W (w/o Nav/TV) on ebay for a little over $600. Thanks for any input.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mooncancook is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-19-2006, 07:36 PM   #2
MPREZYA
SCIC
Moderator
 
Member#: 85
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: www.themonkeystrunk.com
Default

Get the 670-WT with built in HD navigation. I saw them at SEMA and their product looks to be pretty nice with alot of features for the money. I've yet to hear any steady reviews yet for them but I'd be willing to give them a shot.
MPREZYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 08:03 PM   #3
mooncancook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104329
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MPREZYA
Get the 670-WT with built in HD navigation. I saw them at SEMA and their product looks to be pretty nice with alot of features for the money. I've yet to hear any steady reviews yet for them but I'd be willing to give them a shot.
by HD do you mean hard disk? on their website it only mentions something about SD navigation, which I'm not sure what it is. Do you know how much it cost? i couldn't find any dealer online that sells the unit.
mooncancook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 11:56 PM   #4
MPREZYA
SCIC
Moderator
 
Member#: 85
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: www.themonkeystrunk.com
Default

I spoke with them about it at SEMA they said it was due out and would be in the $900 range IIRC. I sent the guy I spoke with an e-mail I'll keep you posted.

HD - Hard drive/disc At least it was touted with that at SEMA and the SD card would be for updates/etc.
MPREZYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 12:55 PM   #5
mooncancook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104329
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRC Blue

Default

thanks MPREZYA.
For under $1000 I'll be all over it if it's got HD. Only thing I might be concerned about is their nav software since there's no feedback/review I can find. btw how's the quality of their LCD screen when you saw them at SEMA?
mooncancook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 07:10 PM   #6
Mystic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89826
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 15 mintues south of boston,ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
some blue color

Default

my wholesaler just picked up valor , i havent had a chance to talk to them about them yet ...but next time i call i will talk to a rep ....

let me know if you are looking to buy one i might be able to get ya a good deal on one ...
Mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 07:46 PM   #7
ZenerDiode
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37888
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Pearl Blue

Default

damn, hard to find these things online. they look perfect for what i need.
ZenerDiode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 09:40 PM   #8
MPREZYA
SCIC
Moderator
 
Member#: 85
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: www.themonkeystrunk.com
Default

Honestly one of the best budget A/V radios I've seen the one I'm talking about is the NVG-670wt . I'd say you get more than your money's worth with them. I didn't get to play with their nav software there at SEMA but I'm hoping to hear back from them soon on some things for something in my profile.


<---
MPREZYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 09:45 PM   #9
yerrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59094
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: terminus
Vehicle:
04/7 wagon & fozzie
wrb/blk

Default

i have the 650-tt in my volvo and i fing it to be great for what i need. what i really like is that there are no external black boxes which makes install super easy. i also loved the fact that it was a powered 5 channels as my volvo is set-up for dolby DTS. no need for an external amp.

the picture is very crisp and clear. the controls are very intuitive, i barely needed to use the manual it was so easy. the price difference in what i wanted in features compared to other brands is immense.

this is the one i got and i'm lookin' into another valor unit for the wrx
http://www.valordvd.com/product/prod...ctid=DDA-650WT

and you can find some of them on ebay
yerrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 12:21 AM   #10
Mystic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89826
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 15 mintues south of boston,ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
some blue color

Default

yerrow, how is the display picutre? i am used to high end alpines with a crazy screen like 1.5 million pixels the valor only has 336k or soemthing ...just wondering how you like it as faras quality ? does it look like a cheap brand
Mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 12:38 AM   #11
littlewhitewagon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103068
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: PM me if I don't answer posts
Vehicle:
11 STI sedan
SWP

Default

the stuff is decent. you get what you pay for. the stuff is usually made in china. the picture is good enough to see what you are doing. if you are strapped for cash and want features, get the valor unit. if you can afford to spend a little more, get a major name brand. the valor stuff sometimes has bugs and is not as well developed as a big manufacturers product.

again, the stuff is NOT bad. its just not an eclipse.
littlewhitewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 02:11 AM   #12
mooncancook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104329
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRC Blue

Default

Mystic, where do you find screen with 1.5M pixels? My 20" desktop LCD has only 1.7M. From my research the Pioneer AVIC-Z1 screen has 336k pixels, while the Eclipes AVN5495 and most other 6.5" has 280k pixels, and these 2 models are over $2000 at crutchfield, so resolution wise the Valor is just as good as all the big ones.

I'm still a little concerned about its quality coz it's so much cheaper, but i'm sold on its features. I just wish the big manufacturers would support mpeg4/divx playback.
mooncancook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 07:34 AM   #13
yerrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59094
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: terminus
Vehicle:
04/7 wagon & fozzie
wrb/blk

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic
yerrow, how is the display picutre? i am used to high end alpines with a crazy screen like 1.5 million pixels the valor only has 336k or soemthing ...just wondering how you like it as faras quality ? does it look like a cheap brand
as far as my eye can see, there is no real distinguish-able quality differences between the valor, alpine, and pioneer. imho i found the picture quality better than panasonic and some kenwoods
yerrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 05:13 PM   #14
littlewhitewagon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103068
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: PM me if I don't answer posts
Vehicle:
11 STI sedan
SWP

Default

the distinguishable differences will be in feel, sound quality, interface, and parts availability for service.
littlewhitewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 05:24 PM   #15
offset
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32636
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STi
Silver/Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlewhitewagon
the distinguishable differences will be in feel, sound quality, interface, and parts availability for service.
I would make sure and add in the word 'reliability' as well. I am not saying this because I feel the unit is unreliable, I actually know nothing about it right now. It is just the one thing that tends to set cheaper models apart (although the expensive models have too many reliability issues at times as well IMO).

offset
offset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 06:44 PM   #16
Mystic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89826
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 15 mintues south of boston,ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
some blue color

Default

Mooncancoock, if i rememebr correctly my old alpine the D901 flip out alpine was 1million pixels could have sworn that what the alpine rep told me ...i sold the unit a little while ago this was last year i talked to the rep so if i am wrong sorry ...

i install screens all the time and i will tell ya as far as picture Quality Alpine has been one of the best ....Kenwoods are Ok , Eclipse i havent been able to check out in a car just floor models ....the Pionner D1 i think it is the double Din nav unit is nice but the Nav seems a little crazy , i used it in my buddys car and didnt seem like it was giving me direct routes had me goign the long way ...

and i agree that the Valor seems cheap , i just hope its not junk thats why its cheap hopefully they will start coming around so i can see some reviews
Mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 09:03 PM   #17
mooncancook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104329
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRC Blue

Default

Mystic, I search the D901 online and it's indeed 1.15M pixels. The resolution is 2400x480 which is kind of weird coz that's like 5:1 ratio. I don't know if it's some kind of marketing coz having 2400 horizontal pixels across a 7" screen seems surreal.

regardless if your wholesaler got any Valor units in can you check them out for us? If they are crappy then I think I'll go with a Kenwood unit with 7" screens instead.
mooncancook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:02 PM   #18
Mystic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89826
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 15 mintues south of boston,ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
some blue color

Default

moon, i was goign to say 1.5 million but figure 1 million sounded a little more reasonable and not like i was crazy , but i will say the ALpine screen with a movie on is like watching HD TV, if you get a chance check one out the picture is the best , i am in a toss up between the new Alpine double din , or eclipse units for my STI just not sure as i am still up int he air what i want to build for a system ....

as far as the Valor goes i have to give them a call tommorw so i will talk to my rep and see what he says , oh and if any body is looking for one i might be able to help out i can ship it right to you in the factory sealed box ...
Mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:10 PM   #19
Zypper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5201
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
'02 WRX Wagon
'11 Versys 650

Default

They're counting the subpixels, red, green and blue.
2400/3 = 800x480, pretty close to a 16:9 aspect.
Zypper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:09 AM   #20
I_Am_The_Stig
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117760
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

I just ordered a Valor unit the other day and I'm curious, can they be "rigged" to play video while the car is on the move? I know that Alpine now requires you to go through some crazy sequence to get videos to play on the new iva-w200. This naturally makes them very hard if not impossible to "fix".
I_Am_The_Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:24 AM   #21
yerrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59094
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: terminus
Vehicle:
04/7 wagon & fozzie
wrb/blk

Default

my friend whom i bought my 650tt from just bypassed whatever prevents you from playing a dvd while driving. he said it was much easier to do compared to alpines
yerrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:18 PM   #22
ZenerDiode
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37888
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Pearl Blue

Default

probably just grounding the parking brake wire.
ZenerDiode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 09:37 AM   #23
littlewhitewagon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103068
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: PM me if I don't answer posts
Vehicle:
11 STI sedan
SWP

Default

I will have access to Valor's complete line in the next month or so to do whatever I want with. I will do my best to give subjective comments.

I do not believe that there is a BAD product on the market when it comes to high tech electronics, I think there may be not as good products, but not straight out BAD unless you are using a complete no name crazy flea market product.
littlewhitewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 04:34 PM   #24
I_Am_The_Stig
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117760
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

I got my Valor 605W and for the price I paid it is AWESOME aside from a few minor bugs.

Also if anyone else gets one of these units bypassing the video security is the easiest thing ever. All you have to do is connect the green and white wire that is supposed to go to the parking brake to the pink wire (for the rear zone video) that is bundled near the RCA outputs.
I_Am_The_Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 04:43 PM   #25
littlewhitewagon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103068
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: PM me if I don't answer posts
Vehicle:
11 STI sedan
SWP

Default

What bugs do you have?
littlewhitewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my friend got his Nice pioneer dvd/Nav unit stolen... IllNastyImpreza Car Audio, Video & Security 19 07-17-2009 10:06 AM
GT30R & DVD Nav Unit Token-Negro NWIC Private Classifieds 0 01-10-2007 07:23 PM
Purchasing an in-dash dvd/nav unit, please help! v8eaterWRX Car Audio, Video & Security 38 06-23-2006 10:32 PM
DVD NAV Unit. Diabolical1 CC Car Audio, Video & Security 10 05-09-2005 07:52 PM
Need opinion on Diamond Audio sub's, and opinion on choosing a sub! well_armed Car Audio, Video & Security 12 04-18-2002 01:56 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.