Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 13, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2002, 09:33 PM   #1
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Unhappy TecII Installed. Trouble starting Car

Tec has been installed, but had to set ignition advance to 19 and change the injector offset by adding +.500 to the base map to get the car started. But if I touch the accelerator the car stalls.

Can anyone forward me a MY99 map that I can compare the ignition table and the injector tables?

I'm double posting here and in the Vishnu forum cause this site get more traffic and I need to get the car into some semblance of running tonight.

Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2002, 10:42 PM   #2
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

Can start and run the car near the base enrichment guidlines for now.. But the car still stalls out once the 20 second gamma enrichment ends. Hmm..

I can't believe that the baseline map is so far off..

Last edited by Revision; 04-22-2002 at 12:05 AM.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 12:14 AM   #3
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

Aw heck. Here is a link to the install pics.

http://www.i-club.com/forums/showthr...hreadid=175970
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 01:51 AM   #4
mastervic27
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 557
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5RS
Vishnu Turbo

Default

Good Luck Revision! I can't believe the baseline map is so far off.

I got my TEC-2 this weekend but haven't had a chance to install it yet. Those are some nice pictures you took and gives me an idea as to how things should look.

I see you have the TEC-2 from Vishnu and the intake from Rallispec. Where is your turbo going to be from?

Victor
mastervic27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 05:14 AM   #5
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

Still finalizing some parts.
For sure to be powered by a VF23.
Completion ETA Mid-May.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 09:08 PM   #6
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

Found the culprit!

Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 09:25 PM   #7
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

How long did it take to put the TEC-II in? Are there lots of wires that have to be cut and what not, or are there connectors that come with it?

Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 09:59 PM   #8
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
heh, chulooz
is on my ignore list

Default

andrew...if ya NEED a car to get around in this week yell at me. I am working downtown from 4am to 6pm so if ya need the ghetto coon tell me. (it will be getting an oil change, tranny fluid change and widows locktighted tomarrow(final subaru check up untill...ya know )
DoctorNick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 01:05 AM   #9
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

I'd love to borrow your car. In exchange, I'll change out the oil, tranny fluid and filter, and coolant.. Well maybe not the tranny fluid and filter..

BTW, I put around 50-75 miles on my car a day.

I'll have to put real tires on it while I have it too.. The only set I have not in use right now is a set of Dunlops on MY99 RS rims.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 02:18 AM   #10
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Revision
I'd love to borrow your car. In exchange, I'll change out the oil, tranny fluid and filter, and coolant.. Well maybe not the tranny fluid and filter..

BTW, I put around 50-75 miles on my car a day.

I'll have to put real tires on it while I have it too.. The only set I have not in use right now is a set of Dunlops on MY99 RS rims.
he's got Sumitomo HTR-z's on it...they are noisy but rather sticky
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 06:25 PM   #11
mastervic27
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 557
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5RS
Vishnu Turbo

Default

If you go with the Vishnu Tec-2 there is only 1 factory wire to cut and that is optional. Check out the installation guide at Vishnu.
mastervic27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 06:31 PM   #12
mastervic27
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 557
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5RS
Vishnu Turbo

Default

Which cable/connector is that?
mastervic27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 07:39 PM   #13
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

That actually -was- the Vishnu kit. Was the first I saw of one, and you can tell the wiring was sent to the lowest bidder for fabrication.

That was the MAF sensor plug.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 11:38 PM   #14
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

I didn't "cut" any stock wires.
I did splice into the TPS and the ignition power.
Cutting the wire going to the pollution control system, ie the CEL is considered a Federal crime. -> No thank you.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 11:23 AM   #15
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Revision
I didn't "cut" any stock wires.
I did splice into the TPS and the ignition power.
Cutting the wire going to the pollution control system, ie the CEL is considered a Federal crime. -> No thank you.
Bringing a post from the dead, but is it really a Fed Crime to splice the CEL wire on the ecu harness?

So what can you do to get a check engine light to display a problem with the TEC-II sensors besides getting another light?
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 10:31 PM   #16
Dan_E
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 673
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Son Josei
Vehicle:
1999 2.5RS-T <RIP>
2000 RS-TURBO'D

Default

yea cept for the TPS splice, you gotta cut a coolant line to put in the clt temp sensor. everything else is "bolt on" so to speak.
Dan_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 11:46 PM   #17
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

wow, talk about bringing a post back from the dead.

Yer not suppose to mess with the emissions stuff. And that includes the cat. The MIL is part of the emissions equipment.

Sides, if you are running a Tec system in parallel with the stock ECU you want the MIL to tell you if there are problems with the stock system... Course that means you need to get the ECU to void normal issues like positive manifold pressure and timing increase/decreases.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 05:22 PM   #18
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

Thanks!

Cause I am finally going to be installing the tec-ii April 26th, 27th along with the damn wrx turbo waterpump.

I'm wondering if I should connect the CLT sensor to the upper nipple since it's a feed FROM WATER TANK....

I know i can T off the heater hose, but perhaps this new location will be better?
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 03:46 PM   #19
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by latinskllz
I'm wondering if I should connect the CLT sensor to the upper nipple since it's a feed FROM WATER TANK....

I know i can T off the heater hose, but perhaps this new location will be better?
What upper nipple are you talking about?

You want your CLT sensor to be after the block but before the heater core - it'll give you the hottest (and correct) temp in the system.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 01:13 AM   #20
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Austin
What upper nipple are you talking about?

You want your CLT sensor to be after the block but before the heater core - it'll give you the hottest (and correct) temp in the system.
Thanks Austin, so I guess i'll just stick with the tec-ii installation location of the CLT, splitting the heater hose.

It's just that I was reading on the JC Turbo Install instructions and that's the same hose to supply the coolant to the turbo...so I wasn't sure about T'ing the CLT sensor and then the coolant line all from one source even though it's pass through
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:47 AM   #21
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

I did the same thing. Don't worry about it. You do have to shorten that hose a little bit to get all that stuff to fit inline.

If you ever want to go back to stock in the future, you'd have to buy a adapter and a length of coolant hose and that is it.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:51 AM   #22
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Revision
I did the same thing. Don't worry about it. You do have to shorten that hose a little bit to get all that stuff to fit inline.

If you ever want to go back to stock in the future, you'd have to buy a adapter and a length of coolant hose and that is it.
So you T'd the CLT and the coolant feed in the same location?

Damn man, the closer the date comes the more nervous I get

I've had the tec-ii for a year and a half now sitting next to my bed only being admired at from time to time.

I doubt I will ever go back to stock. Turbo RS-T is so much fun to drive.

I am getting the clutch replaced too the same weekend lol.....we'll see.
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Starting car!!!! Zondacl2 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 12 11-01-2008 05:23 PM
Trouble starting car... SubieRX Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 1 06-06-2007 08:04 PM
Having trouble starting car scoobyimprza Subaru Conversions 16 02-04-2006 07:46 PM
trouble starting car yuletak Service & Maintenance 1 01-23-2006 04:34 PM
Trouble starting car crazy_sherm Newbies & FAQs 11 08-12-2003 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.