Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2009, 09:23 PM   #1
jikhead
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 32535
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maumelle, Arkansas
Vehicle:
2009 Nissan 370Z
Monterey Blue

Default Caution when using stock hoses on GMS Radiator

I recently installed a GMS radiator two months, which is a great piece of hardware. I used my stock hoses. Due to the size of the radiator, the upper hose has very little space to sit/reside and the middle of the hose is near the fan blade. It is apparently to close, as I found out today when coolant blew out everywhere. I had found the fan blades had slowly cut a slit into the hose. Not sure what othe hoses will be positioned better; waiting a response from GMS.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jikhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:46 PM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

I have the same radiator on my 02.I have the Samco hoses and they fit without any trimming or clearance problems.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:51 PM   #3
MIKE DD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106818
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The Bar
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

This is a known issue w/most aftermarket radiators, they all have thicker cores. This is discussed in most install threads. All i did was cut about a half inch off of the stock hose. And as far as i know it's only the top hose that was the problem. I've had no problems w/mine for a few months now.
MIKE DD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:03 PM   #4
bugeyerex02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195967
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2002 VF39'd WRX
WR Blue

Default

i just blew 2 upper hoses in 3 days with the stock radiator. didnt know i had to trim them. do the samco's require trimming?
bugeyerex02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:06 PM   #5
MIKE DD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106818
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The Bar
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeyerex02 View Post
i just blew 2 upper hoses in 3 days with the stock radiator. didnt know i had to trim them. do the samco's require trimming?
Stock radiator? or stock hoses on aftermarket radiator?
MIKE DD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:10 PM   #6
2.5ReallySexy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 167943
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Default

You need to cut half an inch off where it goes onto the block
2.5ReallySexy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use stock hoses for the APS turbo Inlet? kakarotoni Newbies & FAQs 8 06-20-2008 06:51 AM
anyone use stock lugnuts on rotas?? wrxsubaruwrx Tire & Wheel 28 12-01-2007 07:55 PM
Tire size when using JDM trans on GC8? Silver '02 REX Tire & Wheel 2 10-19-2007 11:26 AM
Part number for stock hoses on turbo... mightbewrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 09-17-2003 06:25 PM
('93-'01) Does anyone notice that when using synthetic oil on a RS Jimmy Impreza Forum 16 05-15-2001 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.