Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 11:19 AM   #1
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default Does my log look ok?

I've yet to figure out my avcs issue so that may be why my IAM is at 8. Its a ver8 ej207 with jdm ecu.

i'm sure tweaks are needed because this is someone else's tuned rom that i flashed onto my car, but as far as i know they had stock intake, bcs, tmic, etc (like my car).

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...ialeokuQ&hl=en

i swear i made this pull to 7k also, gonna have to do another log.

mods:
Ver8 tmic
vf37
stock bellmouth welded to 2.5" piping that has a 3" flange. THis meets a maddad 3"-2.5" midpipe which attaches to oem axleback piping w/aftermarket bullet muffler(its ghetto i know).
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by scoobystas; 06-27-2009 at 11:30 AM.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

no....
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:16 PM   #3
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

is it safe to drive or "no, don't go more than 50% throttle," type of no?

can you elaborate? I think its just the cel causing the jdm ecu to run a different timing and fuel map. does that sound legit?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 10:13 AM   #4
indytruckboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 192599
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reading, PA
Vehicle:
2004 STI
2007 Outback Wagon

Default

looks to lean to me.....
indytruckboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:47 AM   #5
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

The only time you need to drive it is to the tuner.

Or You can Give me your 207 longblock and call it a day, because essentially you are going to explode it very very very quickly...

I'm not trying to be rude, but the V8 TS ECU has REDICULOUS OE timing values that should never be ran on anything less than C16 fuel..

It needs a tune before its drove past .1% throttle again..

Your avcs needs tweaked, your timing is probably rediculous, it looks like you have a leak at or after the maf and before the turbo, and that makes it look like (or you really are) running very lean...

-Jerod
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 05:53 PM   #6
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Jerod,

everything preturbo is stock, i'm gonna wiggle and tighten the clamps, double check the maf.

The rom that is flashed on my car is not the oem jdm. Its a tuned rom from a well respected tuner in canada.

is there anythiing i can do to tweak it and make it safer to drive till i can get the tune?

I can see that this map really trys to bring on the boost early. the target boost is in the 20s very early.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:20 PM   #7
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

ok so i've download the stock 04 sti rom. I compared my rom to that one and the ignition timing and fueling and almost all the fields are identical. The only fields that seem to have been adjusted were the wastegate and boost.

I'm thinking i was misinformed when i was told that the rom i have was a tuned rom for the vf37 TS setup.

Now that we know the ignition base map and ignition advance tables are from the 04 sti, should that reassure me that its fairly safe to drive my car?

btw, i checked for leaks and everything looks tight before the turbo. Its all stock and fits like a glove.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:57 PM   #8
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

You cannot run the timing that is in that rom. Not on anything but race fuel...

You need to talk to someone (clark tuner) to get a good safe I-Tune..

I don't know much about the 207's and AVCS or I'd help you.

-Jerod
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:26 AM   #9
eminehart
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 11205
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tweakin your ECU-Northglenn CO
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Dom3-e85-ewg

Default

at first I thought your base timing was the total timing. You are probably running about 4-6 degrees too much timing. You can't compare engine loads on a 2L and the 2.5. The bigger engine will make bigger engine loads for similar pressure levels. That will throw off timing quite a bit. I really don't have any experience with the 207 either but I don't think 20+ degrees of advance at peak torque is a good idea. I would start with stock jdm ecu mapping of ignition timing and pull back from there. If you don't know what your doing, go to a tuner.
eminehart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:31 PM   #10
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

thanks for the advice guys.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:16 PM   #11
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eminehart View Post
at first I thought your base timing was the total timing. You are probably running about 4-6 degrees too much timing. You can't compare engine loads on a 2L and the 2.5. The bigger engine will make bigger engine loads for similar pressure levels. That will throw off timing quite a bit. I really don't have any experience with the 207 either but I don't think 20+ degrees of advance at peak torque is a good idea. I would start with stock jdm ecu mapping of ignition timing and pull back from there. If you don't know what your doing, go to a tuner.

Have you seen a V8 rom? That is OE timing... They run stupid stupid stupid timing, and I think its basically designed for C16 fuel, but IAM decreases timing (while detonating) to settle at a lower grade fuel.

You need to have it protuned - end of story.. I really wish I could help, but I've never messed with a 207 and AVCS, in combination it is a very powerfull motor, but a tune will save you a bottom end or worse a shortblock..

Email Clark Tuner he knows alot about 207's and could probably get you a good starter rom right away - and you could go from there.

-Jerod
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:20 PM   #12
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

I have an EJ207 and stock timing is aggressive - but they are tuned for 98RON fuel minimum (Pretty sure that is like 93MON in the US) and run VERY rich.

The EL207 ROMs also have fairly odd base and advance timing tables, in that there are peaks and dips everywhere in each (although generally a peak in base is matched to a dip in advance and a dip in base is matched to a peak in advance). I suspect this is done as further failsafe while under the fine learning or feedback correction startegies.

Anyhoo, if you run lower quality fuel, or have anything changed from oem EJ207 setup (ie, different intake, turbo, tbe etc) then you definately need to get tuned to suit - especially when you take into account the base timing table and how agressive the timing is if you start going beyond the general rpm and load points (by running different setup to stock).

Maybe start a thread over on the RomRaider forums, and attach your logs there for ppl to scrutinize. You want be able to post your ROM though, as it is someone elses tune. You will arguably be better of starting from scratch anyhoo and tuning for your mods.

Start from scratch, start with safe settings in your tune, and save your engine

Regards,
Leslie.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 12:38 AM   #13
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

sounds good leslie.

At this point, just for the time being, i want to wait on a tuned map from clark because i've yet to figure out why my avcs isn't working. I've tried rewiring it several times and have an entire thread dedicated to it.

I currently want to richen up my a/f ratio because it is definitely not hitting the targets. At points where i'm at 11.32, i should be into the 10s (rich).

jared you mentioned intake leak. I can't locate it. If there's a leak post turbo, then I would not be hitting my boost targets right?

Since intake is stock, my maf scaling was also kept stock. Will pulling some timing out of base and advance maps give me the richer A/F ratios i need?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:17 AM   #14
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

How is your AVCS not working? Is it not working at all, just not following your AVCS table properly? If it is the later, that is a commong problem with EJ207 and there are a couple of things that can cause it and that need to be corrected. If it just simply doesn't function, then you will need to check over the complete AVCS system and make sure everything is installed correctly.

As for richening up your AFR to suit your targets, there really is no quick solution that I'd advise. You could do many quick solutions to richen things up, but whether they are safe or not is a different thing all together

The first thing I'd do to address your knock is remove some timing. Then when it isn't knocking, address your AFR, and then once AFR is hitting your targets add some timing back. This is very over simplified, and there are things you will need to know and understand to do this, but it is the direction I would take.

If you send me your ROM, I will make a few changes for you to limit that knock you are experiencing so you have a decent enough base tune so you can drive around safely.

Leslie.

Last edited by wrxsti.l; 07-07-2009 at 02:22 AM.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 01:12 AM   #15
treystoys
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 97436
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Metairie, Louisiana
Vehicle:
03 toyota tundra
gray..missing my WRX's :(

Default

Listen to what Leslie just told you, or if your wanting to try something yourself to be safe, go into the total timing map, highlight the entire board, and remove 10 degrees from every cell. That'd give you a safe cushion for the 93 octane we use here. As far as the avcs goes, the stock avcs mapping will suit your set up fine. Getting the avcs to work, you have to have a jdm engine harness, and the corresponding wires correctly run to the ecu pins.

Trey
treystoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 02:27 AM   #16
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

10deg across the board may be a little too much. From around 2800rpm and load of 1.25 onwards I'd start by removing a couple deg. Then log a little more and if there is still knock rinse and repeat.

I'd definately be doing something until you have Clark tune it porperly - unless you are not going to drive it?

Leslie.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 03:09 AM   #17
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

I'm definitely driving it. I've removed some timing in the zones it has knocked before. At peak torque i'm running about 20 degrees. Not knocking anymore.

I can't figure out why i'm running lean though. The maf scaling is stock. Injector latency and scale are also stock. The AF ratio targets are only slightly leaner than stock.

i.e., at 5200 rpm and load of 2.75 i have a target of 10.81
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:05 AM   #18
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

I didn't see WB02 data in the last log, so I'm not sure how you can tell how rich or lean it is running?

If you are looking at the stoock a/f sensor data, you should know it is limited in accuracy while in open loop and WOT. Also, it has a lower limit set in the ROM (your lower limit seems to be 11.32) and will not record any lower.

If you want to tune AFR, then you really need to use a WB02. You don't have to actually buy one, you could book an hour on a dyno and use their WB02 - and hour should give you more then enough time to sort out your fuel and your timing

Leslie.


Edit: Post a log of your current changes and wb02 data if you have it.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 06:07 PM   #19
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

Check your NPS is functioning correctly, AVCS won't engage if it's not working. Remember Subaru changed the polarity on the MY05 cars.
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:34 PM   #20
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

the chassis is a usdm 03 and the motor is from a MY03 car so i don't think the neutral position switch thing applys here, right? thanks anyways.

i think the avcs not funcitoning has something to do with the wiring coming off the solenoids. their is alot of shady non-oem looking black electrical tap down there. When the tech installed my engine, prior to knowing anything about the avcs not working, he noticed it and said whatever was done wasn't by subaru.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:36 PM   #21
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

don't have the wb02 leslie, i'm really considering picking one up though. 150 on ebay shipped looks appealing.

BTW, i'm going to post a learning View screenshot later tonight but my closed loop fueling looks good. In field A, its rich by 1%, B and C are both lean by 1-2%, and D = 0.
Does this rule out a vacuum leak?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I read my Log? Does this log look OK to you? Knock? scottjua AccessPort 3 05-21-2009 05:03 AM
Does this log look ok? (2007 WRX, Stage 1) Overlord2kx Commercial ECU Reflashes 9 05-30-2007 06:24 AM
Do my logs look ok? LegacyGt05 South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 14 04-27-2007 07:31 PM
How does this log look and say? Thugthizzle Engine Management & Tuning 3 04-01-2007 10:57 PM
do my logs look ok? jordanscotty Engine Management & Tuning 9 11-22-2005 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.