Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2009, 03:13 PM   #26
Beam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29742
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: The Wu, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Ah Subaru.
I missed you.

Default

Looks lie you guys ahve some good methods for stopping the car form turning over...I disconnected the passenger side of the enginer harness- it's the big gray plug near teh boost soleniod.


Anyway, The question them becomes: how do you know when the line is primed?

I cranked until the oil light on the dash went out. It's set to 5-ish pounds, which wouldn't be reached without pressurizing the whole system.

Hope that helps!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:48 PM   #27
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STIBungy View Post
I concur. I always pull the 30amp fuse.

I tried searching for a pic of the engine bay fuse box to point out which one it is but no bueno. Its the front-most 30 amp fuse when you're looking at the fusebox from the front of the car. I use this to reset the ecu and to prime my motor and whatever turbos I've installed in the past.
Mine is a 15A fuse located INSIDE the car in the interior fuse box. It is marked IGN. However, it also cuts the fuel. It cuts both the spark and the fuel. Beautiful.

t
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:10 PM   #28
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Injecting oil before installing the turbo may not be the best way. On mine I slowly poured oil on the inlet and then turned the turbine by hand. As it turned, the oil in the inlet kept dropping in level. I kept adding oil.
It got (in about 1 minute) to the point where I could not add oil anymore, because the level did not drop anymore and at the same time some oil started dripping from the oil outlet tube.
At that point I thought there is enough oil in the turbo to install it.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:56 PM   #29
Turn in Concepts
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 93646
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
Many Track Records
Let us help you go fast!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfPlayer View Post
I disagree for the reason I specified above.

t
Assuming there is a difference with the amount of air it brings in I can see that. With the slow speed of the engine during cranking I would think the same volume of air would exist with the throttle plate opened or closed. Guess we won't know without measurement, but I see your point.

Tony
Turn in Concepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:08 PM   #30
sch3838
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 154636
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Default

sch3838 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:29 PM   #31
yeahbuddy661
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 179192
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2008 WRX
Spark silver

Default

Thanks a lot guys I think there are a couple of ways that you cant go wrong. Everyone has really made this easy. Thanks, Dustin.
yeahbuddy661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:36 PM   #32
V6TurboTA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9090
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: < of Boston
Vehicle:
09 Forester Gump
02WRX->04STi->09Gump

Default

Do the newer subarus still have the green conectors under the dash (drivers side) like my 02 WRX and my 04 STi did? If so plug them into each other and cut out all the bickering?

If not? Fail for me!
V6TurboTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:44 PM   #33
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V6TurboTA View Post
Do the newer subarus still have the green conectors under the dash (drivers side) like my 02 WRX and my 04 STi did? If so plug them into each other and cut out all the bickering?

If not? Fail for me!
Yes they're still there, but the car will still start with them plugged in.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:24 PM   #34
V6TurboTA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9090
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: < of Boston
Vehicle:
09 Forester Gump
02WRX->04STi->09Gump

Default

i see... it didnt in earlier year iirc. Can you try it if you havent already?
V6TurboTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 11:18 PM   #35
Needablk07
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188216
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Balitmore,MD
Vehicle:
2006 STI
OBP

Default

Where the ign fuse on a 06 sti??? Same place as everyone as been saying behind coin tray???
Needablk07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:52 AM   #36
48mpg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58405
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So.Fla.
Vehicle:
2004 Element GT65'd
Hydra, Hydramist'd STi

Default

pull the coin tray and check the sticker on the back of it. if you see IGN on the diagram and there is a fuse in its place then yes.
48mpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:30 PM   #37
Super Nintendo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73721
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wheaton, IL
Vehicle:
2007 STI
PTE 6266

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfPlayer View Post
I don't agree with this method. Why? Simply put, when priming a turbo you want to minimize the RPMs of the turbo. Putting your foot to the floor opens the throttle to maximum allowing a maximum amount of air through the motor, out the exhaust, and spinning the turbo. If you keep your foot off of the pedal then you get LESS air through the motor and less air spinning the turbo. IMHO, don't put your foot to the floor.

t
The throttle is not on a cable. I highly doubt the throttle plate opens at all in this test mode. Simple test would be to take the I/C or pipe off and take a look to see what it does..
Super Nintendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:43 PM   #38
IIdiceII
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 90438
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York
Default

i cant believe theres this much of a debate.

pull the ign fuse, wait for the oil light to go out. crank a few more times for 5 seconds for good measure.

enjoy your new turbo. people on nasioc LOVE to over complicate the easiest and most straight forward things.
IIdiceII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:45 AM   #39
WaXed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88273
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2003 STi 2.0L
Blue

Default

yeah overcomplicate or what

to prime the oil in a turbo
just before turbo install
get a syringe full of oil and pump it into the top turbo oil inlet
spin the blade around by hand a bit
some of the oil will come out the oil drain
good now you have primed "wet" the turbo bearings

install the turbo
start the engine and let it idle (the turbine will only spin slow at idle and you already have enough oil lubrication on the bearings for this)
With it idling just crack off off the top turbo oil inlet, you should see some oil seep out, quickly tighten it back up before you get oil all over the turbo chra

good now you know you have oil pressure getting to the turbo bearings, any air in the lines will have been pushed through and you also know you don't have some kind of block in the oil lines....

good to go
WaXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:49 AM   #40
48mpg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58405
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So.Fla.
Vehicle:
2004 Element GT65'd
Hydra, Hydramist'd STi

Default

the turbo's bearings may be 'wet' but the entire oil passage up to the turbo is empty.

cranking is still the way to go, unless you have an accumulator to actually run oil through the system before start up.
48mpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 01:45 AM   #41
subydoo85
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 271896
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Pics Of Fuse Block





For future reference I own an auto shop and have access to electronic copies of the factory manuals/instructions for any year or make of subaru available so if you ever need pics, locations, instructions ect. just pm and I'll shoot it your way. Pics above are for an 02 WRX
subydoo85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:48 PM   #42
nystateofmind308
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY, NY
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Automatic
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubinm View Post
I always use my Accessport's Anti theft map..

it allows the car to crank and crank without firing over.

great way to prime turbos.. just like pulling a fuse for the fuel or spark..
GUYS, sorry to bring this post back from the grave, but I have an AP and it also has an Anti-theft map. Will this method still work? its an 08 WRX
nystateofmind308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:13 PM   #43
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nystateofmind308 View Post
GUYS, sorry to bring this post back from the grave, but I have an AP and it also has an Anti-theft map. Will this method still work? its an 08 WRX
aaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggg
gggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh


pull the ****ing IGN fuse and turn the key to START for 10 seconds and release it.....wait 30 seconds and repeat 5 times

replace the fuse and start the car and let it idle while you look for leeaks

doing anything else would make you an idiot

too many idiots around here
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:31 PM   #44
nystateofmind308
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY, NY
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Automatic
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty View Post
aaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggg
gggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh


pull the ****ing IGN fuse and turn the key to START for 10 seconds and release it.....wait 30 seconds and repeat 5 times

replace the fuse and start the car and let it idle while you look for leeaks

doing anything else would make you an idiot

too many idiots around here
OK! Way to drive a point home. Now point me in the Direction of the FUSE I NEED TO PULL!!! I cant find any documentation on what the fuse is on a 2008 WRX
nystateofmind308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:37 PM   #45
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nystateofmind308 View Post
OK! Way to drive a point home. Now point me in the Direction of the FUSE I NEED TO PULL!!! I cant find any documentation on what the fuse is on a 2008 WRX

fuse panel above yer left knee when ya sittin in the drivers seat

find the one that says 'IGN'
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:54 PM   #46
nystateofmind308
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY, NY
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Automatic
Black

Default

http://imgur.com/VsiD5Uq

this is what i got. Nothing says IGN. Bunch of em say I G. No idea which one it is!
nystateofmind308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:37 AM   #47
danger1138
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 279525
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: QUEENS NY
Vehicle:
04 rex luger!

Default

Simple trial n error.. Start by pulling the one that says 'unit 1 ig' highlighted in yellow and follow the steps uncle scotty gave u, if the car starts up u know thats not the one.
The next one i would pull if that doesnt work would be the one labeled 'start'.
danger1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:00 AM   #48
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

10x easier method is to just floor the throttle while you're cranking (assuming it's a DBW model). Anything over around 80% throttle (forget the exact number) turns off the injectors during cranking. Pulling fuses is a complete waste of time, so is flashing any new map.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:52 AM   #49
nystateofmind308
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY, NY
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Automatic
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
10x easier method is to just floor the throttle while you're cranking (assuming it's a DBW model). Anything over around 80% throttle (forget the exact number) turns off the injectors during cranking. Pulling fuses is a complete waste of time, so is flashing any new map.
But i have an automatic...will it work
nystateofmind308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:55 AM   #50
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nystateofmind308 View Post
But i have an automatic...will it work
I don't even know what kind of car you have, you should fill out your profile.

You can always download RomRaider and the factory tune from your car and see for yourself what the cranking IPW vs throttle position table looks like, but I doubt it's any different than the MT version.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
easiest way to prime turbo 2wickedWRX Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 29 04-22-2008 10:50 PM
change my oil before prime turbo? simprezl25 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 11-07-2007 02:32 PM
trying to prime turbo, engine not cranking JDM 3SGTE Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 03-15-2006 10:47 AM
priming turbo bradze Service & Maintenance 7 02-28-2006 02:08 AM
in the process of priming turbo. do i need to unplug all 4 coil pack? VajraTLR Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 9 12-30-2005 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.