Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday November 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2002, 09:03 PM   #1
tydon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12224
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
2000 RS;Spec Miata
Del Sol Si

Unhappy car wont run/pressure sensor code

i hope someone can help, because my car decided not to work today when i cam out from work. it starts and everything seems normal, but it wont keep running, and pressing the gas only helps if i blip a lot. after a few minutes, i got a CEL. the code reads "Pressure sensor value/performance." the code is P1112 i think.

so does this mean i need a new mas sensor (my2000 RS), or is the voltage clamp skrewed up? i also have a j&s, but the car does start, so i dont think that that is the problem.

thanks to anyone who can help
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by tydon; 04-30-2002 at 10:28 AM.
tydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 09:26 PM   #2
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

P0119 is a Coolant Temp. Circuit Intermittent problem. Are you sure that was the code?

Anything change between running & dead?
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 09:57 PM   #3
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

Quote:
the code is P119 i think.



8, you might have the wrong code number, unless my eyes are really messed up.


Quote:
P0119 is a Coolant Temp


Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 10:30 PM   #4
North Ursalia
Miss You Mom
Oct 1940 - Feb 2008

Super Moderator
 
Member#: 809
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NH, Land Of Many Trees
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS, '14 For
92 5MT SVX

Default

The DTC's are P and then 4 digits- you wouldn't have a P119 code .


Brian
http://www.northursalia.com
http://www.imprezamods.com
http://www.scoobymods.com
http://www.subaruwrxparts.com
North Ursalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 10:34 PM   #5
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

My bad.


Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 03:10 AM   #6
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Hmmmm... well there is a Land Rover code :

P1190 - Oxygen Sensor Heater Type 2 Low Resistance Upstream

and a Caddilac code :

P1190 - Engine Vacuum Leak

though somehow I think neither are applicable.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 03:50 AM   #7
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

FWIW any 4 digit trouble code that starts with a P1 is a MANUFACTURER specific code and therefore can ONLY be read properly with the manufacturer books/diagnostic equipment.

jeremy
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 10:27 AM   #8
tydon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12224
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
2000 RS;Spec Miata
Del Sol Si

Default

oops, i checked the code again, and my memory was wrong. the code was "P1112 Pressure sensor Range/Performance" I changed it in my first post too. seems like i need a new pressure sensor . do you guys agree with that?
tydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 11:57 AM   #9
proecm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12081
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Start by checking the voltage clamp. I hope you are not running the cheap zenerdiode, it is not a reliable way to achieve a voltage clamp.

/David
proecm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 12:06 PM   #10
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: "Teh Hebro Town"
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

Check the clamp, it might be dead. I accidentlly hooked my old Zener up incorrectly, and the same thing you're describing happened to me.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 11:21 PM   #11
akcel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10268
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
gc8 I ride ride 24s
with the top down low.

Default

tell me you have a zener, because i have a ss vc1 and i dont want this to happen to me ;P
akcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 03:04 PM   #12
tydon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12224
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
2000 RS;Spec Miata
Del Sol Si

Default

i do have the voltage clamp.

a wierd thing happened yesterday. i went out to check out my car at lunch, and it started up and drove fine. i went home, turned it off, ate, and drove back to work. at the end of the day it wasnt working again.

i think i may just have a bad connection somewhere, so that is what im going to check out first. if they seem ok, then im going to bypass the voltage clamp to see if it runs ok without it. just have to stay out of boost withthe vc disconnected, or BOOM.
tydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 03:25 PM   #13
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Well, not necessarily boom, but fuel cut and a hell of a bog. It'll be like a low rev limiter, that isn't too good to bounce off of.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 05:36 PM   #14
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

Sometimes weather can affect how a zener-diode performs, I wonder if its the same for the VC's?

Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 06:19 PM   #15
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Graham
Sometimes weather can affect how a zener-diode performs, I wonder if its the same for the VC's?
I was told by Split Second that their clamp will not be effected by weather unless you have them mod it and add adjustability, then it will be effected.

tydon - What voltage clamp do you have?
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2002, 05:07 PM   #16
tydon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12224
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
2000 RS;Spec Miata
Del Sol Si

Default

8 - i have the vc1, non-adjustable.

i still havent found the problem absolutely, but i found that when suby sports installed the turbo kit and gauges, they used electrical tape and just tied some of the wires. im going to get some better wire connectors and redo the connections. im pretty sure that is the problem since the car started and ran well the last few times i tried. it seems like one connection is just a bit loose.
tydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2002, 05:30 PM   #17
akcel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10268
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
gc8 I ride ride 24s
with the top down low.

Default

that sounds effing terrible
akcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What the h*? My car won't start with P0335 code wrx2 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 18 09-16-2012 12:55 PM
car won't run after intake manifold removal sti_vr4 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 40 04-22-2007 12:41 PM
!HELP! changed clutch car won't run TecHniKa Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 11-05-2003 05:49 PM
Need help, car won't run Ethan Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 10 08-20-2001 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.