Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2009, 01:18 PM   #1
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default NEED help with ecu trouble codes please... wont rev over 1500rpm

2005 STi I installed a new wiring harness (under the hood fuse box and all wires that go through the drivers fender and plug in behind the kick pannel) and today I started it and i'm getting 5 error codes (3,4,5) of witch are because of my tgv deletes I think and I cant figure out why the car wont rev over 1500 rpm and my starter signal is wire is not working (i had to use a jumper wire to star it...

these are the following codes

1. p1518 starter switch circut (off)
2. p0223 throttle/pedal positton sensor b curcuit high imput
3. p2016 intake manifold runner position sensor/switch circuit low bank 1
4. p2008 intake manifold runner control circuit/open bank 1
5. p2011 intake manifold runner control circuit/open bank 2

I checked all the connections and grounds what could be going on?????
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Bcoolsti; 07-20-2009 at 02:29 PM. Reason: added more info
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 01:59 PM   #2
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

I got all the o2 codes to go away but it still wont rev, its all stock maps do you have to do anything special to the ecu when you delete the tgv's?
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:01 PM   #3
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

why did you replace the harness.

History on the car would help.

this is why it wont rev. You either have a wiring problem, the throttle is stuck, or the throttle position sensor is no good.

p0223 throttle/pedal positton sensor b curcuit high imput
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:07 PM   #4
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

the braded fuel lines hit the batt and it caused a small fire and melted the fuse box no other damage i removed the engine to re paint the engine bay and i inspected all the other wiring it was fine.
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:17 PM   #5
kaisersouse
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85900
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2001 Forester S
White

Default

I thought when the car was in "limp mode" it won't rev over 1500
kaisersouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:29 PM   #6
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

even when i clear the codes the tb wont open, right awya that code pops up saying throttle pedel imput to high...
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:36 PM   #7
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

There is an open circuit in the throttle position sensor circuit, its either wiring to the sensor, the sensor or the throttle itself. Or you left one of the connections loose. Re-check to make sure all your connectors are clipped in all the way.

it is in limp mode, because it is drive by wire, there are redundant throttle position circuits, if one of them has a problem you get limp mode.
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:49 PM   #8
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

i checked all the connections and cleaned them all out could it be because my tgv plugs are just hanging there cuase i removed the valves and welded the holes?
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 10:41 AM   #9
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default Stupid drive by wire

first off I deleted the tgv codes via romrader and my throttle still wont work I even tried swaping out ECU's, so I did some reserch and found code p0223 trouble shooting steps, please take a look.


Electronic throttle control ECU pinouts

(Main B136 pin 18 0.64 0.72v closed throttle Fully opened: 3.96v is reading 4.23v open an closed)


(Sub B136 29 1.51 1.58 closed throttle Fully opened: 4.17 is reading 0v open and closed)

(Snsor Power supply B136 pin 16 key on it should be 5v its reading 5.06v )

I also checked the sensor ground 137 pin 3 and its fine, I asked my local subaru dealer if the pedal sensor ever just burns out and he said that they have never sold one or ever herd of one going out, is this true!?!?

please help me guys this is driving me crazy i just want to drive my scooby again.
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 09:16 PM   #10
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

I took it to the dealer today and they cant figure it out!!! wtf do i do now?
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 04:43 AM   #11
Charlie-III
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30669
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 07456, North NJ
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy 2.5GT
Silver Sleeper Wagon

Default

From post #9, sounds like you have found your issue (if I understand the pinouts).
You have power going into the unit, but it is not working correctly.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 03:10 PM   #12
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

I replaced the pedal sensor and still nothing is getting any better... the dealer told me I"m SOL and I so I brought it back home.

Today I'm going to pull my dash and my harness to try to find some sort of a short or something.
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:37 AM   #13
Charlie-III
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30669
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 07456, North NJ
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy 2.5GT
Silver Sleeper Wagon

Default

Is this....."(Main B136 pin 18 0.64 — 0.72v closed throttle Fully opened: 3.96v is reading 4.23v open an closed)" referring to the throttle plate or the throttle pedal???

I was thinking the throttle plate, thus my comment about you finding your issue.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:37 PM   #14
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

The throttle plate I think is what it refers to.

I was checking all the wires on the throttle body connector for continuity to the main connectors to the chassis harness and 4 out of 6 had good continuity but the black wire and the white wire that both go into a black sleeve had nothing???? should all the wires on the connector have continuity?

I pulled my whole dash to inspect my bulk head harness and I cant find anything out of the ordinary!?
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:55 PM   #15
Bcoolsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 213320
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Vehicle:
05 STi 35r
PSM

Default

I took it to the dealer and they couldn't figure it out so i pulled my dash and it turns out that i had a dead wire in the bulkhead harness so I simply cut it and solder in a new wire to the ecu... thanks guys!
Bcoolsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with bizarre DBW code/intermittent function Big C Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 4 05-10-2010 12:18 PM
Need Help with Not Ready Codes Sideshowbob AccessPort 2 04-30-2009 10:20 PM
Need help with a CEL code RugDoc2003 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 7 12-23-2002 09:06 PM
need help with Engine/Trans codes... Murray Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 10-29-2002 02:09 PM
Need Help With Subaru Paint Codes North Ursalia Interior & Exterior Modification 14 06-13-2001 01:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.