Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday October 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Rocky Mountains Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2009, 02:37 AM   #1
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default Mac + blackberry = no tether for me :(

So I have been tethering my bold (att service) on my pc no issues for a while. Today I got my first mac but I can't for the life of me configure it to tether any gurus with similar devices have any ideas? I found a thread about it on blackberryforums.com but I still can't make it work and its drivin me nuts!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 02:40 AM   #2
ashergrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174533
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
0694 WRXLtd/LegWagon
WRB/Pure White

Default

Tethering via Bluetooth? Have you successfully paired the BB with the Mac?
ashergrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 02:44 AM   #3
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

Bluetooth and yes. Also posted a scripts file in the library and followed the instructions exactly.
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 02:50 AM   #4
ashergrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174533
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
0694 WRXLtd/LegWagon
WRB/Pure White

Default

What instructions are you using? Something posted online?

What version of OSX are you using? I haven't messed with tethering since 10.4.
ashergrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 07:18 AM   #5
gilg2533
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35332
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Park City, UT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Default

What blackberry do you have? I do it all the time with my curve.
gilg2533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 10:49 AM   #6
UT_Evo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78604
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Black

Default

If gilg can't help you, my dad tethered his iphone when they allowed it... I can ask him... they could be similar.
UT_Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:10 AM   #7
Jncominco2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170212
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: West Point, Utah
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
MBP

Default

its totally different for the phones

you can check out this application which makes it easy for you
http://www.tetherberry.com/
do the free trial if you want, im sure you can find the application elsewhere (wink wink)

if not, try this guide
http://www.blackberryforums.com/mac-...ml#post1161708
Jncominco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:23 AM   #8
Kentrik
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125937
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4894' above sea level.
Vehicle:
03 WRX I do not
like your tweed, chap.

Default

My G1 tethers wirelessly with devices. Technically I can use it like a mini wireless accesspoint. Granted, I'm only connecting EDGE because Utah has yet to get 3G up and running.... :P
Kentrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:24 AM   #9
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

^that second one is what I ve been using. Its a blackberry bold, att, using on a new imac with now leopard. For some reason I just cannot make that work. Bluetooth set up is fine, just won't connect to internet when I hit the connect button. Shows it dialing, then disconnecting.
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:46 AM   #10
ashergrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174533
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
0694 WRXLtd/LegWagon
WRB/Pure White

Default

Does it show an error when it disconnects? If not, does anything show up in the system.log in Console when you try to connect?
ashergrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 01:32 PM   #11
Jncominco2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170212
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: West Point, Utah
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentrik View Post
My G1 tethers wirelessly with devices. Technically I can use it like a mini wireless accesspoint. Granted, I'm only connecting EDGE because Utah has yet to get 3G up and running.... :P
i have 3g on my phone....have for a while now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touge86 View Post
^that second one is what I ve been using. Its a blackberry bold, att, using on a new imac with now leopard. For some reason I just cannot make that work. Bluetooth set up is fine, just won't connect to internet when I hit the connect button. Shows it dialing, then disconnecting.
did you try the program in the first link?
Jncominco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 01:47 PM   #12
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

"says network connection failed"
I'll try the first link now
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 02:04 PM   #13
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

free trial is unavailable
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 04:28 PM   #14
gilg2533
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35332
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Park City, UT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Default

gilg2533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 05:30 PM   #15
wantsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 134764
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Lindon, Utah
Vehicle:
04 sti
java black pearl

Default

This is way to complicated...
wantsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 03:05 AM   #16
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

ok ok ok I am not smart! I started looking at each step and well, I just hadn't fully extracted the Script. I guess since it says download and post in the modem scripts "DO NOT OPEN FILE" I figured you didnt have to extract it either. Anyways I am posting this from my mac, TETHERED!

Thanks to everyone! Really appreciated!
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 03:10 AM   #17
ashergrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174533
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
0694 WRXLtd/LegWagon
WRB/Pure White

Default

Hah so the whole problem was the modem script was zipped?

It's always the simple things...
ashergrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 03:18 AM   #18
Touge86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166498
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2013 M3
Mint Green

Default

yeah haha. well at least I know I am good at following directions to a T and not leaving myself room for thought
Touge86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 04:53 PM   #19
EsubaruJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200008
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City
Vehicle:
85 AE86
01XJcrawler02WRXsold

Default

My friend Tyler was able to do it with his blackberry pearl. I can get with him and try to figure it out.
EsubaruJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No more Subie for me :( buccilli15 Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 10 05-23-2007 10:48 PM
No programs will work for me :( t4nk Commercial ECU Reflashes 13 04-27-2007 04:03 PM
HELP ME OUT.... take this over for me..:( ammelk North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 26 09-17-2005 09:32 AM
no autocross for me this sunday :( jmott Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 4 06-03-2002 11:39 AM
No Detroit for me this weekend :( shukes24 Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 0 01-11-2001 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.