Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday October 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 09:55 PM   #351
ownnij
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70459
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Las colinas, TX
Vehicle:
2002 AW Bugeye ej257
6spd, GT3076R, Alky & EWG

Default

alright i'm needing some clarification on the hardware needed to have this working. if i don't want to run a maf sensor then i will need a GM IAT sensor with would be the open element sensor and not the closed element, this will be wired to the correct wires from the maf sensor plug.

then i will need to replace the map sensor on the throttle body with the aftermarket map sensor. possibility the aem 3.5 bar sensor and wiring for this is straight forward using the original wiring from the oem map sensor?

correct me if im wrong please.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ownnij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:15 AM   #352
Ensi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90329
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Stevens, Wa
Vehicle:
05 Sti
Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ownnij View Post
alright i'm needing some clarification on the hardware needed to have this working. if i don't want to run a maf sensor then i will need a GM IAT sensor with would be the open element sensor and not the closed element, this will be wired to the correct wires from the maf sensor plug.

then i will need to replace the map sensor on the throttle body with the aftermarket map sensor. possibility the aem 3.5 bar sensor and wiring for this is straight forward using the original wiring from the oem map sensor?

correct me if im wrong please.
You would need to wire the GM IAT to wires 5 & 6 off the MAF sensor harness, you wouldn't need to replace your map sensor unless your going to run more than 24 psi, if so than the AEM setup is the way to go you also need an adaptor I forget the name of who makes that.
Ensi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:53 PM   #353
ownnij
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70459
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Las colinas, TX
Vehicle:
2002 AW Bugeye ej257
6spd, GT3076R, Alky & EWG

Default

NICE, i dont even neeed to replace the map if not running more then 24psi.
ownnij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:13 AM   #354
SVT_WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164830
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
G61 III OVE 58e

Default

Bump for more R & D.

Jerod,

Any update on the CEL yet?
SVT_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:09 AM   #355
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

still no LIGHT fix. No codes though. I have Fuel Resume on Throttle Lift defined however, I have not completely defined the logic to ensure how it works 100%. The jist of it is, when you let off the throttle (IE Rev/pulling out of gear to come to a stop light) it is the target RPM that the ECU resumes injector pulse width. There are a few other variables on exactly what happens, but as a rule of thumb it drops to table rpm either resumes and falls from there or has an added 0-700 rpms (depending on certian conditions)

I also have "RPM Error" idle timing compensation. Basically the amount of timing swing at idle the ecu applies for "RPM Error" vs Idle Speed Target. If your rpm drops below target idle (after all compensations, which there are many many many more than currently defined) then the ecu adds timing to increase RPMS. If RPM raises above target idle speed, the ecu removes timing to slow engine speed.

I also have (Pointless) Power Steering Idle Compensation additive. As well as thresholds.

I'm also working on throttle lift IPW additive (tip-out) but that is not going so well at the moment) And I am almost possitive that fuel injector phasing is per firing order. 1-3-2-4 (ABCD).

Future will include, but not be limited to, ISCV control (eventually), permanent fix for CEL (even though we are at a standstill on it as there are NO codes and all "pinouts" per ecu logic are correct. Also control over short term fuel correction is a possibility (if I would stop being lazy and test it).

Thats about it? I've pretty much been through the rom 500000 times and everything left worthwhile is too complicated to use. There are some things with fueling that can be changed, but timing is pretty much completely defined.

-Jerod
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 03:53 AM   #356
GLD247
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207789
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois, MG
Vehicle:
2003 WRX EJ257 Swap
WRB

Default

well if theres no codes, and the cel dosent cause limp mode. whats so bad?

correct me if im wrong, this is like a switchable map correct? like antilag on is one map, and it off is another. maybe its just meaning its in Group-N mode?
GLD247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:42 AM   #357
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

I've ran my car in every different "mode byte" that works. I've ran GPN mode and I typically run non-GPN mode.

The CEL has nothing to do with GPN mode.

-Jerod
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:51 PM   #358
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

is it possible that the off/on (0/1) is just swapped on this rom for some reason?
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:54 PM   #359
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

haha yea we've been through that one. Dunno where "Check Engine Light" on/off byte is.... Even with a NON-CEL/CEL ram dump....
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 06:01 PM   #360
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

have u tried forcing a cel to see if it turns it off? Setting the min MAP voltage cel to 2v would be an easy check.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 06:26 PM   #361
69subaru360
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159682
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
1995 WRX
1998 2.5 RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
have u tried forcing a cel to see if it turns it off? Setting the min MAP voltage cel to 2v would be an easy check.
It doesn't. I've had codes set and the cel was on.
69subaru360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 06:30 PM   #362
elevenpoint7five
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187798
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Elk Grove Village IL
Vehicle:
04 2 liters of
AWESOME!

Default

If it were a backwards bit then all the codes that people have would turn off the light. This is not the case. I am a few days away from just releasing the code fix and revisiting the light another time. I've been pulling my hair out over that thing and I can't figure it out.

Andy
elevenpoint7five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:54 PM   #363
bcheck555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174930
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Do you guys know what A/F Learning Range references? I believe I read somewhere it is not g/s, but something else?
bcheck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 08:42 PM   #364
scottyhall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 180673
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon
Custom Road Tuning by me.

Default

"load"
scottyhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 09:44 PM   #365
GLD247
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207789
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois, MG
Vehicle:
2003 WRX EJ257 Swap
WRB

Default

is the cel light even that big of a deal to people?
GLD247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 09:58 PM   #366
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLD247 View Post
is the cel light even that big of a deal to people?
I run a utec so I am able to turn the cel off, But you have to set the rom up funky to run utec with this rom. I Tuned another bugeye with a 35r on this rom with no UTEC and it went well. The customer wanted the cel bulb disabled so thats what I did. Thinking about doing the same thing to my own car. I have a laptop on my car all the time so having the cel bulb disabled is not that big of a deal. Now that the launch control works without anti lag I see no need for the utec.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:04 PM   #367
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

not really. i mean people that have to smog probably wont be running this rom and a mafless setup anyway. at least in states where they have a visual inspection too like cali. u cant even get away with running a CAI at some smog shops.

They failed my old civic that had a k&n cone filter on it.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:37 PM   #368
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
is it possible that the off/on (0/1) is just swapped on this rom for some reason?
On my ADM 2002 STi the CEL turns off, so I don't think it is.

Jsarv, maybe see what is different between the 02 ADM and the 02 USDM models, it might not be ECU logiv that is turning the CEL on and off, but something else.

Leslie
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:52 PM   #369
69subaru360
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159682
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
1995 WRX
1998 2.5 RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
On my ADM 2002 STi the CEL turns off, so I don't think it is.

Jsarv, maybe see what is different between the 02 ADM and the 02 USDM models, it might not be ECU logiv that is turning the CEL on and off, but something else.

Leslie
I did that a while ago. The ecu pin for the CEL is the same usdm,jdm,adm,edm.
69subaru360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:15 PM   #370
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

Af learning is map reference not g/s or load. That will be fixed soon.

Trust me guys I've tried everything to shut the cel off.

There is a ghost code that we will eventually be able to disable or we will have a permanent cel OFF fix.


Its not just that easy
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:27 PM   #371
JSarv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 163445
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Effingham IL (Central IL)
Vehicle:
l33t *******
12.07@115.9mph-EJ205

Default

Remember when LC is active under all circumstances no knock correction is active. Even if you are not technically "using LC" kc is disabled.
JSarv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:18 AM   #372
GLD247
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207789
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois, MG
Vehicle:
2003 WRX EJ257 Swap
WRB

Default

any videos of this LC or Antilag yet? is it fuel or spark cut?

i didnt see anythign when i searched the thread.
GLD247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:39 AM   #373
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSarv View Post
Remember when LC is active under all circumstances no knock correction is active. Even if you are not technically "using LC" kc is disabled.
Thats good to know... Only time I run the LC map is at the track with race gas so kc is mute anyhow.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:10 PM   #374
bcheck555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174930
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSarv View Post
Af learning is map reference not g/s or load. That will be fixed soon.
Jerod what do you mean by 'fixed'? Is the logic bad, or just to correct the description of the range?
Not sure if you've seen my thread on RomRaider. Thanks.
http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic5668.html
bcheck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:55 PM   #375
bcheck555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174930
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcheck555 View Post
Jerod what do you mean by 'fixed'? Is the logic bad, or just to correct the description of the range?
Not sure if you've seen my thread on RomRaider. Thanks.
http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic5668.html
Nevermind, figured it out...
bcheck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS Speed Density in LGT groff Open Source Reflashes 10 08-07-2008 08:27 PM
UTEC, DTEC and Speed Density SloRice UTEC 26 03-21-2007 01:26 PM
PCV on WRX with Speed Density Token-Negro Built Motor Discussion 3 07-21-2006 10:26 AM
please ASAP is the STI speed density or mass air bobturismo Off-Topic 12 04-25-2004 02:45 PM
speed-density thng Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 0 07-10-2003 01:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.