Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2011, 01:03 PM   #826
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRF582 View Post
Damn, you're right. But, you were the first to use a non-Subaru IAT sensor on a MAF Subaru?
feel free to surf the forums. Been doing Subarus for over 12 years. You're still being a smart ass when you were wrong? I don't get it. Just had to have the last word every time? You posted up "ORLY?" to be a dick and when you were wrong you still give me ****? Don't try to make me look like a bad guy. I was the one helping people by correcting incorrect information. If you want to question my abilities or knowledge don't do it on the forum and make yourself look foolish. Just because my business member number is almost 200k doesn't mean my original number was 10k.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:14 PM   #827
MRF582
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48219
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
. Always drive
the race line .

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwell Power View Post
feel free to surf the forums. Been doing Subarus for over 12 years. You're still being a smart ass when you were wrong? I don't get it. Just had to have the last word every time? You posted up "ORLY?" to be a dick and when you were wrong you still give me ****? Don't try to make me look like a bad guy. I was the one helping people by correcting incorrect information. If you want to question my abilities or knowledge don't do it on the forum and make yourself look foolish. Just because my business member number is almost 200k doesn't mean my original number was 10k.
You need to relax. Take some Xanax for your mood and some Ibuprofen for your inflamed ego.

So Subarus have only been around for the past 12 years? You know there were guys putting on AEM/Autotronic/PowerFC on Subarus and wiring in non-Subaru IAT sensors since before you were 'doing Subarus', right?
MRF582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:21 PM   #828
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRF582 View Post
You need to relax. Take some Xanax for your mood and some Ibuprofen for your inflamed ego.

So Subarus have only been around for the past 12 years? You know there were guys putting on AEM/Autotronic/PowerFC on Subarus and wiring in non-Subaru IAT sensors since before you were 'doing Subarus', right?

EDITED POST:

yes I realize that. This is the speed density thread and we are talking about on the factory ecu. Here, let me make this a little easier for you to swallow. I'm ONE OF THE FIRST to ever put a GM IAT on the FACTORY ECU. This is afterall what we are talking about here. Feel free to start this thread over and read. I was the first to suggest using it instead of a blowthrough for proper functionality of this rom. Are you always a jerk that has to get the last word? Why couldn't you just stick with OOPS yeah I read that wrong? You had to continue on with little jabs here and there.

Last edited by Maxwell Power; 10-19-2011 at 01:31 PM. Reason: NINJA EDIT AFTER I COOLED DOWN
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 03:18 PM   #829
MRF582
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48219
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
. Always drive
the race line .

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwell Power View Post
EDITED POST:

yes I realize that. This is the speed density thread and we are talking about on the factory ecu. Here, let me make this a little easier for you to swallow. I'm ONE OF THE FIRST to ever put a GM IAT on the FACTORY ECU. This is afterall what we are talking about here. Feel free to start this thread over and read. I was the first to suggest using it instead of a blowthrough for proper functionality of this rom. Are you always a jerk that has to get the last word? Why couldn't you just stick with OOPS yeah I read that wrong? You had to continue on with little jabs here and there.
NO YOU ARE NOT!
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1088149
2006. And people have been putting GM IATs on the factory ECU through a UTEC since even before that.
Around 2007 is when we got the ability to change IAT scaling in the ROM. And here you are posting 2-3 years after that claiming you were the first...
MRF582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 03:31 PM   #830
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRF582 View Post
NO YOU ARE NOT!
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1088149
2006. And people have been putting GM IATs on the factory ECU through a UTEC since even before that.
Around 2007 is when we got the ability to change IAT scaling in the ROM. And here you are posting 2-3 years after that claiming you were the first...
CAUTION: Edited post. Check your email for the original if you want to read it.

I take this original post back. You still can't read.

I did this before scaling was available. I did it to move the IAT post intercooler where it belongs. I had to go back because I didn't realize that post was 2006.

If you really want to get to it, you're just bent out of shape because you were wrong and it makes you feel better to try and prove me wrong in something.

1. You posted incorrect facts.
2. I KINDLY and RESPECTFULLY told you that you had two wires backwards.
3. You posted like an ass "ORLY?". Which is really beyond me because it's just two ****ing wires. Get over it, people make mistakes, even you.
4. I responded to your smart ass post in which you posted the information that showed you were incorrect. Strike two for you (if not strike three). I responded a little irritated because you argued with me before you even looked at it properly yourself. So now, you felt dumb TWICE and really wanted to get back at me. I'm allowed to be irritated because I do have MUCH more experience in this field that most people on this forum. That's not ego, it's fact. Also, you were so quick to argue instead of thinking for a second that you could have been wrong over something as silly as two wires. To make it harder on you, people who know me posted saying that I am "the man" and that I was correct. I'm sure that made you even more upset because you argued with a preacher about the contents of the bible. (take all the ego crap you want out of that metaphor, I don't care.)
5. Even when you realized you were wrong you couldn't just let it go. You had to try and argue with me over something else to make yourself feel better. You just HAVE to put yourself on a level playing field with me. Well news flash, you aren't. (more ego for you to slam all day long if you want).

I said I was one of the first. I was. For both the Group N rom and on my NA 2.5RS when I turbo'd it on the factory ecu. I wanted a faster responding sensor because the one in the intake manifold was slow as molasses. I am one of the first to do a LOT of things with Subarus. I pioneered many things and I've fixed/engineered more stuff for these cars than you know. So if that means I have an ego, then fine. My three man shop is packed with cars with waiting lists for weeks and weeks. I send engines all over the world and design and test new turbos, pistons, EMS, injectors, and all sorts of other components every year. All this is in the Pacific Northwest which you may know has more Subaru shops per square mile than anywhere else. Not a single of my built motors has EVER spun a bearings, my tunes pioneer new methods, I was an original tester for certain engine management setups and I helped with the OS program since the inception.

So while you really want your little victory over my comment that I made out of my irritation with your inability to let it go, it's still just a tiny wittle victory. But you can really have it if that is what you want.

I was not the first to ever install a GM IAT in a subaru. I was just ONE of the first. Sorry for misleading you. You can now go back to your plain life.

Last edited by Maxwell Power; 10-19-2011 at 04:08 PM.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 09:41 PM   #831
bcheck555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174930
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Nasioc never fails to deliver, back to Romraider...
bcheck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 09:48 PM   #832
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

Lol.

C
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:14 AM   #833
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Bitch slap...
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:32 PM   #834
MRF582
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48219
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
. Always drive
the race line .

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwell Power View Post

1. You posted incorrect facts.
2. I KINDLY and RESPECTFULLY told you that you had two wires backwards.
3. You posted like an ass "ORLY?". Which is really beyond me because it's just two ****ing wires. Get over it, people make mistakes, even you.
Please quote where I posted incorrect factual statements...

MRF582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:49 PM   #835
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRF582 View Post
Please quote where I posted incorrect factual statements...

here you go again. Get over it man. You're a toolbag it's obvious.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:53 PM   #836
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

but to answer your question, as I look back you didn't. I was wrong. Which actually makes it WORSE. You were DEFENDING THE WRONG ANSWER. I kindly corrected whoever the hell it was that put the wrong info on there and then YOU CAME IN with a smart ass answer. So not only were you not defending yourself, you jumped in to show all of NASIOC that you aren't the only one out there incapable of reading schematics and another one of the capable at causing problems and not actually thinking before you post. I jumped back showing all of NASIOC that I can surely be a prick if pushed or harassed for no freakin' reason. So if people think I'm an *******, so it is.

Feel better now? You keep pushing this for no other reason than you're butt hurt. Get over it. I make mistakes and I move past. Try it sometime. I openly admit when I'm wrong and take it as an opportunity to learn. It helps you get through life with few regrets.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:33 PM   #837
MRF582
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48219
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
. Always drive
the race line .

Default

So looks like all 3 of us are completely incapable of reading comprehension, huh? You were incapable of comprehending/remembering who the author of a given post was, while the two of us had an episode of dyslexia while reading said schematic.
MRF582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:36 PM   #838
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Why doesn't one of you two be the bigger guy and stop re posting **** in this thread.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:00 PM   #839
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRF582 View Post
So looks like all 3 of us are completely incapable of reading comprehension, huh? You were incapable of comprehending/remembering who the author of a given post was, while the two of us had an episode of dyslexia while reading said schematic.
I didn't even look at who posted it. I made an assumption that the person who was talking back was the same guy because I couldn't possibly think that someone else with the schematic was wrong too.

At least the guy who DID post the wrong stuff didn't get hurt about it. Someone else did.

Look this all stems from you being a smart ass and trying to jump in and rescue someone. You OBVIOUSLY have never done this procedure. If you had you would have known it was the two wires on the end. Instead you thought you knew better than someone who does this daily for a living. Why you would think you know better is beyond me. Why you think even posting was necessary is beyond me. You keep posting popcorn smilies and **** like this is a game to you. If it is, then great I hope you had fun. Sadly it was only a two person game and the rest of the people had to observe the epic fail.

I'm more than ready for this thread to continue on the normal path it was supposed to take if you just admit you were being a tool from the start.

Because you were, plain and simple.

And now I look like a tool for arguing with you.

To all of NASIOC, I'm sorry for wasting your bandwidth.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:05 PM   #840
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Children will argue . This forum is like being back in preschool. Nothing but a bunch of smart mouth little kids with no home training lmao.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:11 PM   #841
Carbibbles
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292996
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Bend, IN
Vehicle:
02 wrx

Default

Yay for spark cut launch control, sorry the vid is so short but notice that it holds the target rock solid. Builds a lot more boost as well.

Carbibbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 04:52 PM   #842
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastblueufo View Post
Children will argue . This forum is like being back in preschool. Nothing but a bunch of smart mouth little kids with no home training lmao.
we could start arguing and really spice it up

I like this thread and all thats being uncovered/discovered....but this should really be done on the 32 bit ecu.....being able to implement these features with the 32bit ecu would be way better than getting a couple old crappy wrx's running not so crappy

sorry, i just really hate the 2L, 16bit, 5speed piece of crap thats been draining my wallet since 2001.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 05:12 PM   #843
Carbibbles
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292996
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Bend, IN
Vehicle:
02 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post

I like this thread and all thats being uncovered/discovered....but this should really be done on the 32 bit ecu.....being able to implement these features with the 32bit ecu would be way better than getting a couple old crappy wrx's running not so crappy

sorry, i just really hate the 2L, 16bit, 5speed piece of crap thats been draining my wallet since 2001.

A couple guys (NSFW, Merp) are working on 32bit stuff right now. I plan to start working on 32bit hacks as well, as soon as I am done with the 16bit ROM. The 32bit ECU is nice because it has more inputs from the factory (including a clutch switch input and cruise control switches). I need to buy an STI for a test mule lol, damn college taking all my money from me!
Carbibbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 05:23 PM   #844
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

if i never got my 02 wrx i could at least have 1 GT-R right now. Maybe 1 and a half.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:05 PM   #845
bcheck555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174930
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
if i never got my 02 wrx i could at least have 1 GT-R right now. Maybe 1 and a half.
But would you have as much tuning knowledge as you do now?
bcheck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:11 PM   #846
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

^ 16bit ecus are good starting point as they only have the basics....but the amount of maps on a 16bit ecu is 1/100 of whats on a Cobb map of a newer 32bit car
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:05 AM   #847
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
we could start arguing and really spice it up

I like this thread and all thats being uncovered/discovered....but this should really be done on the 32 bit ecu.....being able to implement these features with the 32bit ecu would be way better than getting a couple old crappy wrx's running not so crappy

sorry, i just really hate the 2L, 16bit, 5speed piece of crap thats been draining my wallet since 2001.
Well, these two guys argue way better than we ever did lol. I really like the 16 bit running on my 2.5 piece of crap. Its simple and to the point. I don't really like the maf rom but I do like the sd rom. Yes cobb has jumped way ahead of os on the 32 bit but 16 bit os rules. The 32 bit stuff is soon to follow.

I've met a software engineer fixing to retire. He just opened a private shop near me with a dyno. He has a vw that he has been able to hack the ecu and do some stuff that's preety nice. He got very interested in this platform when I showed him how far os has gotten with subaru. Hopefully I can get him onboard with romraider soon. He seemed to know exactly how to go about implimenting live tuning since he had done it on his vdub.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:03 AM   #848
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Would it be possible to put a threshold based on coolant temp to start A/F learning?
A lot of cars that I have tuned have had erratic idle because of A/F learning hunting up and down, but it goes away as soon as the engine temp comes up.
This has happened on mostly 16 bit MAF tunes.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:18 PM   #849
elevenpoint7five
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187798
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Elk Grove Village IL
Vehicle:
04 2 liters of
AWESOME!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
we could start arguing and really spice it up

I like this thread and all thats being uncovered/discovered....but this should really be done on the 32 bit ecu.....being able to implement these features with the 32bit ecu would be way better than getting a couple old crappy wrx's running not so crappy

sorry, i just really hate the 2L, 16bit, 5speed piece of crap thats been draining my wallet since 2001.
I love my 2.0!
The 32bit ecu is nice, but incredibly complicated in terms of disassembly. I've been noticing more interest on the RR forums though, so hopefully soon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastblueufo View Post
I've met a software engineer fixing to retire. He just opened a private shop near me with a dyno. He has a vw that he has been able to hack the ecu and do some stuff that's preety nice. He got very interested in this platform when I showed him how far os has gotten with subaru. Hopefully I can get him onboard with romraider soon. He seemed to know exactly how to go about implimenting live tuning since he had done it on his vdub.
What type of VW? Any chance of getting his info? A friend of mine has a turbo beetle and unfortunately without going standalone, there is nothing for him besides chips. Sorry for the OT post, you can PM me if you'd like, I just got excited for him!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02RexWI View Post
Would it be possible to put a threshold based on coolant temp to start A/F learning?
A lot of cars that I have tuned have had erratic idle because of A/F learning hunting up and down, but it goes away as soon as the engine temp comes up.
This has happened on mostly 16 bit MAF tunes.
This is a damn good idea! I might code it up and see how it works on my car, if so I can probably offer a patch for whatever ecu/ecu's you need. Though it will be a little while as I'm pretty busy with work right now.

Andy
elevenpoint7five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:05 PM   #850
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

^Carbibbles mentioned a compensation that he thought could be used to achieve this, but I haven't had time to try it... its on his carberry post on romraider's forum.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS Speed Density in LGT groff Open Source Reflashes 10 08-07-2008 08:27 PM
UTEC, DTEC and Speed Density SloRice UTEC 26 03-21-2007 01:26 PM
PCV on WRX with Speed Density Token-Negro Built Motor Discussion 3 07-21-2006 10:26 AM
please ASAP is the STI speed density or mass air bobturismo Off-Topic 12 04-25-2004 02:45 PM
speed-density thng Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 07-10-2003 01:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.