Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2009, 03:37 PM   #1
chanomatik
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 159474
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage (...for now...)
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Ltd 6MT CBS
SNOSLO

Question TPMS Questions

So I realized recently that my RS still has its iPikes mounted and it's just sitting in my yard collecting dust. I would like to swap the rims and tires on to my Forester. I'm positive the RS rims are 5x100.

Question #1: Can I swap the TPMS from the 17" rims to the 16" RS rims?

Question #B: Will NOT having the TPMS mounted on the RS rims cause an ECU error or some such ridiculousness to appear in my Forester's dash?

I'm going to keep researching this, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys and gals.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
chanomatik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:53 PM   #2
SQUAD_907
Totally Biased
Moderator
 
Member#: 10104
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: 907
Vehicle:
WOW! JUST WOW!
I make posts disappear

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanomatik View Post
So I realized recently that my RS still has its iPikes mounted and it's just sitting in my yard collecting dust. I would like to swap the rims and tires on to my Forester. I'm positive the RS rims are 5x100.

Question #1: Can I swap the TPMS from the 17" rims to the 16" RS rims?

Question #B: Will NOT having the TPMS mounted on the RS rims cause an ECU error or some such ridiculousness to appear in my Forester's dash?

I'm going to keep researching this, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys and gals.
#1 yes
#2 yes
SQUAD_907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 05:06 PM   #3
AKLGT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 85199
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage
Vehicle:
2012 turbo rollersk8
EvolvedAK's hood ornament

Default

the TPMS light will stay on. that is all.
AKLGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 05:35 PM   #4
JordyB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 20328
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Vehicle:
'05 FXT - '98 Foz
'07 Legacy spec.B

Default

After about 10 miles! ;p

Dad goes thru the same, one set always works, the other flashes. Only fix is to have conti reset the TPMS system or spend big money for the tools to DIY. Bad Subaru Bad for making it so lame and hard to interface with. )O:
JordyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:12 PM   #5
missiceblast
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142304
Join Date: Mar 2007
Default

can you not go to schucks or something and have the code cleared? or you're saying it'll come back on again after 10 miles?
missiceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:15 PM   #6
AKLGT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 85199
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage
Vehicle:
2012 turbo rollersk8
EvolvedAK's hood ornament

Default

no. you can't clear the code because it's not a CEL.
AKLGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 08:40 PM   #7
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Eagle River, AK
Vehicle:
2003 Lancer Evo 8
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

I hate TPMS. What a PITA.

no thanks to Ford and Firestone.
QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 11:45 PM   #8
Mavrik
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 90347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage AK
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ & Imp 2.5RS
Yamaha FZ8

Default

thank the government for feeling that the average driver (sadly they are right) can't be held responsible for the care and upkeep of their vehicles. Because of that, all manufactures have to build their vehicles with the TPMS system in it. Subaru started experimenting with it in 2005 on LLBEAN models. It is a lame system no doubt about it.

Live with the light I say, cause chances are you'll see it coming on and off all winter with the tire psi/air pressure ups and downs.
Mavrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 10:27 PM   #9
sol0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152976
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: UK
Vehicle:
MkVI Jetta TDI
EF6 CRX 1.5x

Default

what ever happened to the Hummer's system of independent tire pressure control, where you can add and remove tire pressure on the fly as you drove down the road. Now THAT is worth an investment
sol0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 10:41 PM   #10
Mavrik
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 90347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage AK
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ & Imp 2.5RS
Yamaha FZ8

Default

the price of a subaru would go up if it came with that lol
Mavrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 11:17 PM   #11
07_BluRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127922
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Home of Black Metal, Norway!
Vehicle:
1994 Hon-duh Prelude
65K Low Miles of Silver!

Default

Little piece of black electrical tape strategically positioned, and problem solved!
07_BluRex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 03:56 PM   #12
chanomatik
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 159474
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage (...for now...)
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Ltd 6MT CBS
SNOSLO

Default

Yeah, I'm just gonna swap the wheels and pretend to not see the light. Thanks guys!
chanomatik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:14 PM   #13
AKLGT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 85199
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage
Vehicle:
2012 turbo rollersk8
EvolvedAK's hood ornament

Default

yep. I ran all winter last year with it.
AKLGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:45 PM   #14
Tractorak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 142424
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wgn Silver
07 Jeep Commander, 13 SHO

Default

I even bought a TPMS reset tool but apparently subaru's have to have the computer in a mode to reset sensors. So if someone needs their TPMS reset on a non subaru I'm the man.
Tractorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 12:32 AM   #15
QwikEVO
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44172
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Eagle River, AK
Vehicle:
2003 Lancer Evo 8
Plasti-Dip is for TOOLS

Default

QwikEVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:01 AM   #16
Mavrik
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 90347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage AK
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ & Imp 2.5RS
Yamaha FZ8

Default

someone can try that if they like. however on the subaru vehicles the sensor sends a signal to the car when the wheel is in motion. without motion, no signal and without signal. well (!) here we are.

it might work, would be cool if it did but don't get your hopes up
Mavrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:21 AM   #17
bjcarter2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 227288
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer, AK
Vehicle:
2006 MCS JCW
Pepper White

Default

I was researching this a little and from what I understand, the TPMS on Subaru's must be calibrated; maybe more to it than just resetting the sensors.
bjcarter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:36 PM   #18
chanomatik
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 159474
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage (...for now...)
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Ltd 6MT CBS
SNOSLO

Default

So I finally switched out my "STi" wheels to the stock RS rims on iPikes (looks kinda weird, pics soon), and, guess what? I can't see the TPMS warning light because I sit with the steering wheel at the lowest setting! Sometimes it pays to be a gangsta. Now this winter will be that much less annoying.

CRISIS AVERTED!
chanomatik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:08 PM   #19
Arctic Assassian
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91875
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: A-town!
Vehicle:
91 legacy TD04
04 WRB/carbon fibre STI

Default

Sick!!!
Arctic Assassian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STi swap wiring question BMXspears Subaru Conversions 7 06-04-2010 02:32 PM
TPMS question eholland Tire & Wheel 2 02-25-2010 08:54 PM
TPMS question captainEJ Tire & Wheel 13 02-14-2010 05:42 PM
TPMS Question engee Newbies & FAQs 17 11-30-2009 05:45 PM
For 08 STI would this fit and TPMS question? design1stcode2nd Tire & Wheel 8 12-19-2008 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.