Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 3, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Click here to visit TireRack
Brakes & Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Losing traction? Need new tires?
Click here to visit the NASIOC Upgrade Garage...
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Brakes, Steering & Suspension

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 06:13 PM   #1
kmook
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146168
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Vehicle:
2015 Impreza

Default Help with subframe lockdown bolt install

Hello,
I'm in the middle of this install and of course having issues getting the bolts started. I've read in other threads about adjusting the subframe after loosening the 4 bolts with a crowbar or such, but my question is where to you put/position the crowbar to adjust the subframe?

Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
kmook is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-17-2009, 06:27 PM   #2
skimobile
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92114
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westerly, RI
Vehicle:
03 WRX (NAVY Camo)
in"Special Ed." Run Group

Default

You just losen the 2 bolts on either side of the subframe, spray PB Blaster into the hole that the lockdown bolts will thread into, the hole alignment shouldn't be too far off.
Clean the threads with a Q-tip soaked with more PB BLaster and try installing the lockdown bolts 1st without the unethane/poly sleeves on them, you may have to work them in an out several times while cleaning the threads.
After years of nothing in those holes there's probably lots of rust, road grime, etc up in there.
More info here....
http://www.scoobymods.com/kartboy_su...lts-t9236.html
skimobile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:28 PM   #3
kmook
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146168
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Vehicle:
2015 Impreza

Default

I'm going to try the q-tip and a small wire brush tomorrow to get the threads clean in the bolt holes.

Unfortunately I'm useing the whiteline kit not the kartboy so the sleeves dont come off.

The holes look pretty much lined up but i just didnt see where to try adjusting the subframe with a bar...
kmook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
jamal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71875
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montana
Vehicle:
98 2.5GT
my wheels fit

Default

I put a wire pipe cleaning brush in a drill. That got the threads super clean. And you want to use a crapload of anti-seize.

I can't tell you exactly where to pry. I'm pretty sure it took a bunch of prying and hammering in different spots.
jamal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:46 PM   #5
drifterx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25128
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Yakima, Washington
Vehicle:
2005 Baja turbo

Default

i never prybar'd anything on any of my installs (4 sets installed so far). ive always done it the scoobymod way and dropped the 4 bolts about a half inch down or so and then put the whitlines in place and torqued to spec then did the factory bolts.
drifterx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:48 PM   #6
kmook
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146168
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Vehicle:
2015 Impreza

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drifterx View Post
i never prybar'd anything on any of my installs (4 sets installed so far). ive always done it the scoobymod way and dropped the 4 bolts about a half inch down or so and then put the whitlines in place and torqued to spec then did the factory bolts.
I'm curious if you dont need to adjust the subframe what is the purpose of loosening the 4 factory bolts?
kmook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:53 PM   #7
drifterx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25128
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Yakima, Washington
Vehicle:
2005 Baja turbo

Default

you know in all honesty i dont know why. maybe to make sure that they sit correctly, since the factory ones dont lock it (the rear diff) down 100% there is a little bit of wiggle room for the rear subframe to shift one way or another possibly (i dunno so please correct me if im wrong).
drifterx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 07:50 AM   #8
wrxracer519
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149890
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somewhere in CT
Vehicle:
09 Forester
Green

Default

that is correct. I have spent about 2 hrs cleaning the holes in my 02 to get them in. The amount of crap that was up there was nasty, and wear some goggles or something to crap doesn't fall in your eyes.
wrxracer519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:21 PM   #9
boost junkie
Top Scoob 009
 
Member#: 68273
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
GD Race Car in progress

Default

The threads on mine were nasty, no amount of cleaning would make the bolts thread in smoothly. I ended up chasing the threads with a tap, then cleaning them and using anti-sieze and the bolts went right in.
boost junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:39 PM   #10
kmook
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146168
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Vehicle:
2015 Impreza

Default

I got them in this morning. The pass side just needed a lot of cleaning as said. I had to use a tap/rethreader to get the drivers side in though.

Thanks for the help!
kmook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 09:22 PM   #11
romanlynch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126684
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lima, OH
Vehicle:
02 wrx
PLATINUM silver baby

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmook View Post
I'm curious if you dont need to adjust the subframe what is the purpose of loosening the 4 factory bolts?
not everyones subframe perfectly lines up. when i installed mine i had to shift the subframe 1/4" or so to line it up.
romanlynch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:03 AM   #12
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

i have the whiteline ones.

took about 5 minutes to line each one up but after that it was a breeze, i never cleaned the threads or anything and my car has 58k on the clock in new england

i torqued to spec and snapped one of em.....while its still in there and has held in place for about 6 months now i dont know what to do when/if i ever want to take them out

so becareful
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Fix Subframe Lock Bolts Install Disaster? williaty Brakes, Steering & Suspension 15 11-16-2007 10:31 PM
Whitline Subframe Locking Bolts Install Question Lo0mis Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 7 02-13-2003 04:34 PM
Does anyone want to help with uppipe or spring install? Also need install suggestions rex n effect Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 4 10-03-2002 01:54 AM
help with rear camber bolts needed datdudedennis Brakes, Steering & Suspension 6 05-22-2002 01:39 PM
Help with strut top bolt removal MrZone Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 05-06-2002 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.