Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2009, 06:24 PM   #1
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Question Unmarry?

Do I need to unmarry my AccessPort before taking my car into IM?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:28 PM   #2
coqui2004miguel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189901
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bonaire, GA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Bugeye
Aspen White, WRB interior

Default

You shouldnt have too unless your making you car back to stock. If you unmarry it from your car and you have mods that will change your A/f ratios that could cause problems.
coqui2004miguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Default

Ok...since I bought the car two years ago in it's current Stage 2 form, I haven't needed to get it IM'd, until now. Actually, the regular tags expired earlier this year, so I put temp tags on, for the time being. In any case, my temp tags aren't any good past yesterday, so I'm trying to figure out how to go about getting it to pass IM. Mods include TBE(to the back axle, anyway), uppipe and downpipe(and of course the AP). I've thought about borrowing someones stock exhaust and swapping it out just for the purpose of the test but I'm just curious what the easiest way to take care of this is. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, as I know I'm not the only who has run into this!
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:08 PM   #4
07_BluRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127922
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Home of Black Metal, Norway!
Vehicle:
1994 Hon-duh Prelude
65K Low Miles of Silver!

Default

Put it back to stock map, and take it down to a no pass no pay place and just have them test it and see. If they comment about the exhaust or other parts then you'll have an idea what to fix and then take it and try again. I'm betting they might not even notice the parts. From what I've heard about the way some of the Anchorage IM places work they sometimes don't pay much mind to anything as long as sniffer and obvious main visual passes.
07_BluRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:17 PM   #5
Intelligent Hoodlum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158099
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Wasilla AK
Vehicle:
04 STi
WRB

Default

I just took my car in on Friday to get IM'd. I have the TBE and stage 2 mapping and it passed just fine.
Intelligent Hoodlum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:33 PM   #6
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intelligent Hoodlum View Post
I just took my car in on Friday to get IM'd. I have the TBE and stage 2 mapping and it passed just fine.
Is your uppipe catted?
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:36 PM   #7
Arctic Assassian
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91875
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: A-town!
Vehicle:
91 legacy TD04
04 WRB/carbon fibre STI

Default

the stock 04 uppipe was not catted... so unless he added a catted UP, then no cat.
Arctic Assassian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:12 PM   #8
Intelligent Hoodlum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158099
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Wasilla AK
Vehicle:
04 STi
WRB

Default

I have the stock up-pipe.
Intelligent Hoodlum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:15 PM   #9
TurboSetch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 192358
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer,AK
Vehicle:
MANY P3 Import Auto
907 355 6655

Default

Without catted pipe = fail on sniffer and visual if the tech knows what he's looking for.
TurboSetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:19 PM   #10
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Even if the car has the readiness monitors forced on and they do an OBD-II only?

My truck passed with no cats, cat efficency codes deleted, and a huge cam.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 09:53 PM   #11
Big-Sexy907
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59057
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza, STi.
Silver

Default

You'll pass man, Fbks IM Tech's usually don't know what they're looking at. Just go across from the DMV.
Big-Sexy907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:14 PM   #12
sol0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152976
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: UK
Vehicle:
MkVI Jetta TDI
EF6 CRX 1.5x

Default

My WRX passed IM when I bought it, and it was stg II also. If your car is setup like mine, when they sniffer test it, they only take it to 25mph on the rollers, so you'll never get into boost. I'm pretty sure my car would pass right now with the VF39 and COBB TBE
sol0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:18 PM   #13
Marlons101
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137569
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: East SIDE! of anchorage
Vehicle:
WRX Twinscroll
Dez in yo mouth!

Default

My car did NOT pass im with stock headers, sti uppipe, hks catless dp, and cobb cbe. FYI
Marlons101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:49 PM   #14
sol0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152976
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: UK
Vehicle:
MkVI Jetta TDI
EF6 CRX 1.5x

Default

ooo. I do have a STI uppipe. At least I have a lil' cat in my DP. Hopefully that is enough
sol0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 11:12 PM   #15
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Default

Hahaha, new problem! I pulled into Peger Road I/M and hooked up my AP and upon trying to flash the stock map, the AP says that it cannot communicate with the ECU! However, if I have it read what map it's running, it's able to tell me that I'm running the Stage 2 V91 map. Hmm.
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 11:14 PM   #16
sol0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152976
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: UK
Vehicle:
MkVI Jetta TDI
EF6 CRX 1.5x

Default

I have had this problem as well. Did you connect the two green connectors under the dash that put the ECU in the reset loop? It could just be that simple.
sol0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 12:27 AM   #17
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Default

I didn't. I'll have to try that, tomorrow. I'll post my results, then.
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:26 AM   #18
Alaskan_awd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117002
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer, AK
Vehicle:
2010 >40psi, oh yes!
POWERSTROKE

Default

If you unmarried the ECU without a cat you will most likely show a CEL, the AP hides it when it is installed. I think it is a cat efficiency code or something, it has to do with the rear O2 sensor seeing that there is no cat.
Alaskan_awd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 06:25 AM   #19
kbeefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197417
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: alaska
Vehicle:
no more subaru
mostly dirty

Default

HTML Code:
<<<@!1!@>>>
only if you want to loose half your stuff!!
kbeefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 06:26 AM   #20
kbeefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197417
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: alaska
Vehicle:
no more subaru
mostly dirty

Default

quote fail. darn phone.
kbeefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:50 PM   #21
TurboSetch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 192358
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer,AK
Vehicle:
MANY P3 Import Auto
907 355 6655

Default

All of your deleted CEL codes will start to show up if you remove that tune.


Back to the top..Why do you want to unmarry it? The car will be tested in closed loop which is EXACTYLY the same between the stock tune and that cobb tune. The car will use the front O2 sensor to keep the fuel at 14.7:1 for the entire test as long as you don't get above 4000rpm or so and just gentle throttle.

If you really want to unmarry it, I will reflash your ecu to remove the codes with the stock tune. Just drop me a PM if you want that done.
TurboSetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:51 PM   #22
subarustate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82314
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI wannabe
Darkness

Default

Ok, no. I really like my tune, as is. I still don't understand why my AP can tell me which map I'm reading, but can't communicate with my ECU when I try to change the Realtime map. The I/M test went the same way, saying that it couldn't communicate with the ECU. Bad OBD II? I have no idea...
subarustate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 05:33 PM   #23
TurboSetch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 192358
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer,AK
Vehicle:
MANY P3 Import Auto
907 355 6655

Default

Hmm sounds like it could be a wiring issue. The AP just knows the last tune flashed it isn't actually reading.

Port could be blown. Not sure. Might need a new ECU. You don't need the green connector jumped unless you are reflashing. Reading works fine without this. I don't know but there may be a fuse for the power to the diag port. <<More research required...google search like this >> site:nasioc.com whatever you want to search for << Googles search just on nasioc specific is better then the nasioc search itself...lol
TurboSetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 05:32 PM   #24
Arctic Assassian
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91875
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: A-town!
Vehicle:
91 legacy TD04
04 WRB/carbon fibre STI

Default

Call cobb. They will help you.
Arctic Assassian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 07:08 PM   #25
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Check the SBF-5 Underhood fuse for OBD-II power.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with unmarrying the AP V1 or not unmarrying it! DJS_02_WRX Newbies & FAQs 12 10-18-2009 09:53 AM
WTT: 02-03 AP v1 unmarried for 02-03 UTEC unmarried jus10 MAIC Private Classifieds 2 05-04-2007 06:06 PM
Help! Unmarrying AP now car won't start! ScoobyNubieToo! Engine Management & Tuning 7 03-09-2005 10:38 PM
How to unmarry my AP STUDAndring General Community 16 11-19-2004 10:54 AM
FS- Cobb AccessPort - Unmarried Warmwaffles Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 5 05-23-2004 02:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.