Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2002, 09:57 PM   #1
go go go
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2784
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Japan
Default How can you tell JDM or US motor?

I have a JDM EJ205 motor waiting to be swapped on my car.
I was looking around the engine and came up with a question,
How can DMV/police/smog station/etc. can tell if this is a JDM motor? it could be USDM WRX motor. Same EJ205.

I think I can just say this is from USDM WRX and register my car legally in California, if it passes smog.

any thoughts?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
go go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:00 PM   #2
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

I would assume that they could detect the higher octane level? correct me if I'm wrong I live in MI land of no testing. Join Us Today!!!
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:01 PM   #3
kastle
Frank Army
 
Member#: 1457
Join Date: May 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
1999 Outback Sport
Steel Blue Mica

Default

I don't recognize that engine code.... Are you sure it's a EJ205?
kastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:07 PM   #4
go go go
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2784
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Japan
Default

yes EJ205, well it is EJ20 and the sub code is 5
same as US WRX motor.

The block only says EJ20 but the VIN plate says EJ205

There are EJ20G/EJ20K/EJ205/and STi's EJ207 used in Impreza.
go go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:08 PM   #5
Gerry
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1829
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Long Island
Default

It's a STI engine..It's out of a F,Gtype STi,R/RA-STi ..
Now for the question.. As far as I know.. You will have to use a USDM ecu. When cali plugs into the ecu they should get the OBD2 info from the ecu. I'm not really sure if your EJ205 has those flapper valves on the intake manifold.If you hook the engine up to the ecu without the flapper valves connected I don't know if it will throw a code or not.."probally will though" As for a visual inspection..They would have no idea that it's a JDM engine...Gerry
Gerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:21 PM   #6
go go go
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2784
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Japan
Default

yeah visually they can't tell, I think. They haven't seen JDM motor probably.

If they find a difference, I think it'll be codes from OBD2, just like Gerry says...
But I wonder if they nit-pick on codes... if it is within legal emission spec, I think it's fine.

hmmm.....
go go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:26 PM   #7
go go go
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2784
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Japan
Default

I'm gonna use JDM ECU. It should be OBD2 from ver5.
There is a guy in factory forced forum plugged JDM GDB ECU on US WRX and it works he says so I assume there is a compatibility between JDM and US ECU after OBD2 standards.
go go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:38 PM   #8
Gerry
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1829
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Long Island
Default

OK..If you use a JDM OBD2 comp the info that the US inspector reads off the ecu might not work.. Meaning that it would probally say that it is a JDM ecu.Also it won't say that it's smog legal..Gerry
Gerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 10:46 PM   #9
go go go
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2784
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Japan
Default

I see,

not that simple, huh?
go go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 11:00 PM   #10
Gerry
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1829
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Long Island
Default

nah...You could see if you could swap the ROM's ...I'm not sure but it might work..Also you will need someone with soldering skills since the new ecu's are not removeable chips..Gerry
Gerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 11:11 PM   #11
christoph1371
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1090
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: CA
Default

either they can run the VIN (very slim) or they can tell by OBDII.

DO you have a VIN for a USDM? That might be useful, cough cough.
christoph1371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2002, 02:41 AM   #12
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

you will definitely need to have a USDM ECU...most of the programming languauge in japan is the same but just remember Japan had Catalyst effiency monitors on cars in the early 90's...who knows what they have that we don't.

jeremy
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2002, 07:36 PM   #13
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

You only have to worry about this if you're in California, correct?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2002, 12:02 AM   #14
Greg Sharpe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 741
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 'ol Jersey Bastard
Vehicle:
95 GF8 uber-wagon
Arctic White

Default

Right, cali is annoying like this. Two places had a hard time smogging my L-coupe a while back in Cali because they didn't have some sort of reference material for which to check the engine against. They kept asking me what engine code it was and where it came from ... silly really, it was stock, 1.8L, 50-state car.
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bride brix2 real or fake? how can you tell? rjrutzky Interior & Exterior Modification 8 09-20-2007 04:25 PM
how can you tell whether strut or spring is broken? projectrally Brakes, Steering & Suspension 7 11-20-2004 06:58 PM
How can you tell if you have phase I or phase II block ? zaidallas Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 11-26-2002 06:04 PM
how can you tell if you have a blown strut? FatCatTurbo Brakes, Steering & Suspension 4 01-24-2002 04:54 PM
How can you tell how the engine is running? DDMan Normally Aspirated Powertrain 10 01-06-2002 04:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.