Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Rocky Mountains Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 11:26 PM   #1
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default James you were right :(

I can't make 350 hp on cobbs dyno. BUT I did make 371 TQ

Just another dyno with another set of numbers.... 312hp 371tq holding 18psi at redline on the stock BPV not crushed.



Oh, and I am maxing out my MAP sensor, so I can't read relative pressure right. I am hitting 27.1 psi on the stock turbo, knock free!

After talking with Christian, I need to take 10% out of my WGDC and buy a new MAP sensor so it will measure correctly. It should add another 10+Hp Too bad the dyno is going away. So nothing to compare it too.

AB spread sheet reads exactly the same numbers. My ECU Edit reads about 30hp more but same TQ. Now I know how to adjust my software to read exactly the same as Cobbs.

Too many variables they all can make huge differences. Just like from 1 dyno brand to another. That was my whole goal for running on Cobbs dyno. Now I have something to compare all my logs too.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:38 PM   #2
801_STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200756
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: UT
Vehicle:
07 yellow clearbra
swp sti "Pearl"

Default

how much does a run cost down there?

im assuming you have to have an appointment also?
801_STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:54 PM   #3
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

For what I did it was 125 an hour. No wide band, nothing just an hour worth of dyno pulls.

Yes, you have to have an appointment. I was told the dyno might be gone by the first of the year. They are closed for business until the 4th so that's why I booked and did it today it was way short notice.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:05 AM   #4
bhhamblin
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 99397
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Clinton, UT
Vehicle:
13 STI, 83 DR30
93 R32 GTS-T, 93 R32 GTR

Default

Still very impressive numbers for a vf39

Why do the Cleverley brothers motors hold together so well?. Im surprised its staying together at 27psi.
bhhamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:13 AM   #5
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

Ya, we were all completely shocked. I will fix the MAP sensor problem and lower things down a bit. I am shocked I don't knock pushing that much boost.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:17 AM   #6
bhhamblin
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 99397
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Clinton, UT
Vehicle:
13 STI, 83 DR30
93 R32 GTS-T, 93 R32 GTR

Default

Which MAP you going with?
bhhamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:29 AM   #7
Stames_wiltz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143264
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Utah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Overall, VERY NICE!!! I knew your torq would be up there, I honestly thought torq would be closer to 400. For HP there is no way the VF can throw enough air, just not possible.


Boost doesn't kill motors, it is knock. Now if you have a knock event at those boost levels then you are done for. Think of your pistons like an egg. If you apply equal pressure around the egg you can squeeze till your hearts content and it will hold. But if one spot has more pressure (knock) then... crack.
Stames_wiltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:39 AM   #8
MXJS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129793
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Ogden Utah
Vehicle:
2004 STI
LSX RX-7

Default

Some badass numbers for a vf39! Can't wait to play with E85 again
MXJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:43 AM   #9
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhhamblin View Post
Which MAP you going with?
I don't know. I haven't even thought about it until today. I talked to christan about cobbs. I will do some looking around and see what I shall do.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:47 AM   #10
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

Awesome jason-you had the balls to go get it done.
your motor is solid dude.

If you are too concerned about your boost down low then wind that MBC out a turn or two ;-)
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:51 AM   #11
bhhamblin
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 99397
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Clinton, UT
Vehicle:
13 STI, 83 DR30
93 R32 GTS-T, 93 R32 GTR

Default

I dont see how you are maxing out the MAP. Mine on my wrx is still fine.. Im hitting about the same boost level. But im assuming the tuner was reading off my AVCR boost gauge rather than the computer.

Maybe mine is maxed out idk. I was confused with what MAP you were talking about...My defi gauge came with as well as my AVCR boost controller. Then i realized you were talking about the stock one on the throttle body.

It all makes sense now!

Last edited by bhhamblin; 12-24-2009 at 01:58 AM.
bhhamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:52 AM   #12
Sports Wagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43081
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Think with your Dipstick
Default

Nice!
Sports Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:04 AM   #13
azn2nr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35276
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i clone
438/420 whp

Default

27 psi with altitude would get close to maxing out the the sensor. get that 3 bar goin!!!
azn2nr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:09 AM   #14
ashergrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174533
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
0694 WRXLtd/LegWagon
WRB/Pure White

Default

Freaking sweet Jason. So you ended up ditching out on work, eh?
ashergrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:17 AM   #15
PCSkiBum_21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164437
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Park City, UT
Vehicle:
EVO IX - Track Car
BRZ - Daily

Default

i want to run e85 now so bad! holy balls, 370tq on a vf39
PCSkiBum_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:48 AM   #16
soob noob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 220158
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: santaquin/orem
Vehicle:
02 bugeye
medamullet tuned

Default

hell yeah jason thats SWEET!
soob noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:00 AM   #17
bhhamblin
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 99397
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Clinton, UT
Vehicle:
13 STI, 83 DR30
93 R32 GTS-T, 93 R32 GTR

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhhamblin View Post
I dont see how you are maxing out the MAP. Mine on my wrx is still fine.. Im hitting about the same boost level. But im assuming the tuner was reading off my AVCR boost gauge rather than the computer.

Maybe mine is maxed out idk. I was confused with what MAP you were talking about...My defi gauge came with as well as my AVCR boost controller. Then i realized you were talking about the stock one on the throttle body.

It all makes sense now!
Another question. How much tuning is needed for an aftermarket MAP sensor.
bhhamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:30 AM   #18
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

I have no idea brody. I haven't even looked in to a MAP sensor nor thought about how they worked until now.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:56 AM   #19
godfather2112
Papi Chulo
Moderator
 
Member#: 53794
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
.... OT Supplement
Testing Division.

Default

I barely hit 300whp on a fp green ;(
godfather2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:53 AM   #20
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

I'm sorry Dan. I can't do any logging until it dries out. 3rd gear I can cut all 4 tires loose when I hit about 4k. I wanted a bunch of logs to compare before and after but it was impossible.
medamullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 10:47 AM   #21
06HAWKMAN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166626
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city utah
Vehicle:
2006 wrx ewg vf39'd
obp

Default

very impressive!!!! This makes me want to go with a bigger top mount, bigger injectors and E85, but alas it is very hard to find down in this neck of the woods
06HAWKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:55 AM   #22
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

Looks nice Jason. I was at 300WHP and 360WTQ on 100ctane on my stg2 with headers, DP, and drop in filter running 23psi on a VF48. Stupid corn juice

For the MAF. Look into the Cobb Big maf. 72mm, mated up with a mode racing air box should work out nice.
Wonder how that turbo will hold up on your car at that boost level.
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:19 PM   #23
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

Nice that AB dyno is pretty close to COBB dyno, well at your altitude and all...


Makes my Corn munchin 08 look even better at 403/418
Jason you need a 20G on that thing and we can really get it dancing in third....

Side note as usual - got my AP for my Z, it is currently a paper weight as my ECU is not recognised.... it will take a good time in to the new year, possibly Feb till I can use it so the most expensive 'idle' tool I have at this time...lol I did how ever get my COBB post MAF tubes and they DID make a difference, Hopefully my INVIDIA CB will turn up today, Jason, I will post in car vids, sadly at 7600 rpm not the intended 8300!!!

Oh - Happy xmas to you all and good new year
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:34 PM   #24
06HAWKMAN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166626
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city utah
Vehicle:
2006 wrx ewg vf39'd
obp

Default

Why the wait on the A.P.? software update?
06HAWKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:36 PM   #25
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

My ECU version is not supported, I pulled my rom and am sending it back but adding my rom to database will take a bit, then I will need an update to firmware on AP,Dongle and a new version of race tuner software, so at the moment I have a idle AP and stock rom
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT, geeks. you were right MikeCee Off-Topic 22 10-05-2009 11:10 AM
REX8, I was wrong you were right. SCRAPPYDO General Community 63 04-01-2008 12:29 PM
kingsti, you were right. But not about citi. Indocti Discant Off-Topic 98 03-24-2008 11:20 AM
You were right about STi power increase! STi300 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 39 04-17-2005 01:22 AM
DuBYARX, you were right about the Bosch wipers Scoob Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 28 12-15-2001 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.