Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 27, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 11:05 AM   #1251
paulb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50822
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2011 Infiniti G37x
Moonlight White

Default

Here's a quick way to setup wireless transfer between your computer and phone:

http://www.trickyways.com/2010/09/ho...uter-wireless/
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
paulb is offline  
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-22-2011, 11:28 AM   #1252
JjSwee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 75880
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: California
Default

SQ3 - I did the same thing to my N1 a month ago. Kicked it down some concrete stairs. The screen is still perfect but it has battle scars all over. I still won't buy a case.
JjSwee is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:29 AM   #1253
LTApaulie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167649
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Wow does that FTP server work flawlessly. I was so sick of messing with bluetooth.
LTApaulie is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:49 AM   #1254
SQ3.0dotJP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136330
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nippon, Yeay
Vehicle:
# OCCUPY

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JjSwee View Post
SQ3 - I did the same thing to my N1 a month ago. Kicked it down some concrete stairs. The screen is still perfect but it has battle scars all over. I still won't buy a case.
yeah, i remember reading your post. ive got some scratches, but nothing noticeable while viewing. But its lost that 'brand new' feel
SQ3.0dotJP is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:55 AM   #1255
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulb View Post
Here's a quick way to setup wireless transfer between your computer and phone:

http://www.trickyways.com/2010/09/ho...uter-wireless/
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTApaulie View Post
Wow does that FTP server work flawlessly. I was so sick of messing with bluetooth.


This seems like the hard way to do it.

The way I've done it forever is:
1. Install Astro and the Astro SMB add-on.

2. Create a share on yore computer.

3. Use Astro to browse your network to the share, and then copy & paste files to and from the share.

4. ?????

5. profit.
markman is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:16 PM   #1256
LTApaulie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167649
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markman View Post


This seems like the hard way to do it.

The way I've done it forever is:
1. Install Astro and the Astro SMB add-on.

2. Create a share on yore computer.

3. Use Astro to browse your network to the share, and then copy & paste files to and from the share.

4. ?????

5. profit.
This is literally one icon and 1 double-click on the computer once it is configured. I prefer it this way.
LTApaulie is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:33 PM   #1257
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTApaulie View Post
This is literally one icon and 1 double-click on the computer once it is configured. I prefer it this way.
I guess so. But I'd have to be at my computer to initiate it. If I'm at my computer, why not just plug my phone in and have it xfer 999x faster over USB? The way I do it I can be sitting in bed pulling files from the HTPC in the living room, without touching the computer.
/devils advocate
markman is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:20 PM   #1258
teamjordan23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105025
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default

How many don't use a screen protector? Ive been debating whether to get a screen protector or not for my G2. Currently doesnt have a screen protector but Ive been babying it.
teamjordan23 is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:30 PM   #1259
JjSwee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 75880
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: California
Default

I don't have one. Its doing just fine so far. (google n1)
JjSwee is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:14 PM   #1260
kage
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25101
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: www.luanainn.com
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX Wagon
1999 Twilight Blue Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calebz
Crap.

I'm getting lost in android threads.

Don't remember which one I posted what in
Goddamn thread fragmentation.
kage is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:15 PM   #1261
07Wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 152718
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon

Default

I didn't have one on my N1 and got one really decent scratch right in the middle. I'm gonna get one for my G2 one of these days.
07Wagon is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 11:28 AM   #1262
JWX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 28990
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: RIP WJM.
Default

I woke up this morning to an update. My Ally now has Froyo, its much better than 2.1.
JWX is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 01:05 PM   #1263
MrMcCrackin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89202
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: McCrackin Plumbing
Vehicle:
I'm # 1 when it
comes to # 2

Default

So I have a class 4 SD card for my ROM, the question is, on the G1 - which class (4, 6, 8, 10) out performs the G1's RAM and processor?


I mean I would like the phone to run a bit faster, but don't know if a faster card is the answer.






Ok, so the G1 has a 528mhz processor and 192mb of RAM - so that means a class 6 would be optimal?

Last edited by MrMcCrackin; 01-23-2011 at 02:38 PM.
MrMcCrackin is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 10:15 PM   #1264
07Wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 152718
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon

Default

My Nook Color is running at 1.1ghz now. Can't wait to get a CM7 release going on it.
07Wagon is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 10:20 AM   #1265
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMcCrackin View Post
So I have a class 4 SD card for my ROM, the question is, on the G1 - which class (4, 6, 8, 10) out performs the G1's RAM and processor?


I mean I would like the phone to run a bit faster, but don't know if a faster card is the answer.






Ok, so the G1 has a 528mhz processor and 192mb of RAM - so that means a class 6 would be optimal?
IMO get the highest class card you can. 10MB/s > 6MB/s.

And yes it makes a BIG difference in speed when you are running your apps and swap space from the SD. And running swap on SD kills the card in about a year. It's a necessary evil on the G1 though, because it has such little RAM . I just ordered a new Class 10 card, my year-old Class 6 has started acting wonky, especially in the swap partition area. Fortunately SD card prices keep sliding- I paid less for the 10 than I did for the 6. I don't store many vids or MP3s so I just grabbed a 4GB from newegg for $12.99, I could have gotten an 8GB for $25.

BTW, if you install CM6 and SetCPU you can run your G1 reliably at 614mhz (and my battery life with CM6.1 is about 30% better than it was on CM5 which only allowed my CPU to run at 576mhz... go figure).
markman is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 10:36 AM   #1266
sub9lulu
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36946
Join Date: May 2003
Location: CFL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markman View Post
BTW, if you install CM6 and SetCPU you can run your G1 reliably at 614mhz (and my battery life with CM6.1 is about 30% better than it was on CM5 which only allowed my CPU to run at 576mhz... go figure).
CM6.1 on the G1 is awesome, smooth ....
battery life is awesome too
i cant set my cpu to anything over 600 tho, it'll randomly reboot itself
sub9lulu is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 10:44 AM   #1267
MrMcCrackin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89202
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: McCrackin Plumbing
Vehicle:
I'm # 1 when it
comes to # 2

Default

thanks for the feedback


my class 10 shipped earlier this week
MrMcCrackin is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 03:26 PM   #1268
MrMcCrackin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89202
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: McCrackin Plumbing
Vehicle:
I'm # 1 when it
comes to # 2

Default

btw - im running CM6.1.0-DS


should i be running something else when my new card shows up?
MrMcCrackin is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 03:37 PM   #1269
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMcCrackin View Post
btw - im running CM6.1.0-DS


should i be running something else when my new card shows up?
pretty sure that's the latest CM release for the Magic/Dream.
markman is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 03:52 PM   #1270
teamjordan23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105025
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMcCrackin View Post
btw - im running CM6.1.0-DS


should i be running something else when my new card shows up?
CM7 Nightly's? Do they even have that rom for the G1? No clue if they do, how hard the install process is, and how stable it is.

Im running CM7 Nightly's on my G2 and its been pretty solid as a daily rom. Of course there are a few bugs, expected.
teamjordan23 is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:11 PM   #1271
teamjordan23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105025
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default

I know benchmarks dont mean much especially for dual core phones since the apps arent optimized for it yet. But goddamn at that Neocore score.

teamjordan23 is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:50 PM   #1272
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

^ wow, that's a pretty badass phone
markman is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:52 PM   #1273
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
. tonier vulva

Default

<--hits the 65FPS framebuffer with both benchmarks.

Color me unimpressed.
skywaffles is online now  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:54 PM   #1274
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

what carrier will it be on?
markman is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 06:18 PM   #1275
nahooneyya
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 48931
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Spec.B

Default

I installed Bionic V by Team Whiskey (2.2) the other day on my Vibrant-

So smooth and quick- i love it so far!
nahooneyya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who here runs the oldest OS? xfactor834 Off-Topic 69 03-30-2004 04:42 PM
jmott....here is the info Willman67 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 1 10-10-2003 05:24 PM
Here is the bodykit all you guys wanted. It is now available gary501 Interior & Exterior Modification 6 02-02-2002 01:43 AM
OK here is the news on the next Garage day!!!!!!!!! scoobyruman New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 31 08-25-2000 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.