Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday November 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 04:07 PM   #176
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
(I don't think you need to do the extra pcb mods hopefully) There's a few more posts later in the thread too.
Yeah hopefully we can do without the other mods on the pcb. Btw i have yet to come across a pic with a PCB that looks like mine ... seems like we now have 3 kinds of pcb's over the various threads. Do you have the same one as mine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
The only other question I have, is it necessary to jump 15 & 9 (in addition to 16 & 11)? Or is that only if you do the other mods on the pcb itself, ie separate the k & L lines... etc
Exactly what i need to know aswell. I just connected 16 to 11 but waiting for confirmation before i hook it up to the car. Actually .. might aswell test it. Not like it's gonna blow up right
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Guardian-X-; 10-03-2012 at 04:14 PM.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #177
milocas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201641
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Vehicle:
05 Impreza WRX 2.0
CGM

Default

I did both pins. Give it a shot.
milocas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:34 PM   #178
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milocas View Post
I did both pins. Give it a shot.
Yeah going to try that next cause i just tried it with 16-11 jumped and neither ecuflash 1.29a nor learning view works. If that doesn't work i'm ordering one from DX rightaway cause i'm already sick of it

One last question ... what PCB do you actually have? Currently i know of 3 types and all of them are shown on the previous page.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:24 PM   #179
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guardian-X- View Post
Yeah going to try that next cause i just tried it with 16-11 jumped and neither ecuflash 1.29a nor learning view works. If that doesn't work i'm ordering one from DX rightaway cause i'm already sick of it

One last question ... what PCB do you actually have? Currently i know of 3 types and all of them are shown on the previous page.
Just heed my warning about dx and shipping times... make sure you select some sort of 'premium shipping' if you want it right away!

I assume you installed the WCH drivers if you got it to work with RR logger though? (and the fact that learning view connected but crapped out with a 'timeout')
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:39 PM   #180
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
I assume you installed the WCH drivers if you got it to work with RR logger though? (and the fact that learning view connected but crapped out with a 'timeout')
I remembered your post about the awfull shipping times but thanks for the heads-up

I got the drivers from the ebay seller ... i have no clue about what they where actually called because the seller decided to host the file himself and everything was in chinese. I started out with the FTDI drivers as mentioned in the vagcom thread but they (obviously) didn't work so then i found out about the ebay seller his drivers. But yeah i assume these are the correct WCH drivers because the cable would not be recognized by windows without them and i'm able to datalog with RR.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:11 PM   #181
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Just tried it with the 2 jumper cable's ... and both learning view & ecuflash don't work (romraider works fine) even tried both 9.6k and 4.8k baud rate but still nothing.

I ordered the cable yesterday from DX. Unfortunatly there was no option for faster shipping (EMS) because you need to order for 30+$. All i was able to do was add tracking for 1.7$. I expect it to be here in arround 3 weeks. Hopefully i get a good one because i'm already sick of fiddling with software and hardware to get this to work.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:28 PM   #182
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

exactly, i was so sick of spending a few nights trying everything to get it to work. That's why I didn't even bother with the jumpers until I received the DX one that I was hoping would have the ftdi chip.

Hopefully you ordered the same one that I did in the link above.

SKU: 42823

At one point when i was perusing the dx site trying to figure out their shipping policies, i saw something about them having 'overseas' warehouses with quicker shipping. Maybe you can check those and if they have the same cable, you can cancel your china order before it ships and order from there.

edit: i'm thinking they don't have it in US
https://dx.com/c/us-eu-au-warehouse-...1?pageSize=200

Last edited by z; 10-04-2012 at 05:33 PM.
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:05 PM   #183
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
exactly, i was so sick of spending a few nights trying everything to get it to work. That's why I didn't even bother with the jumpers until I received the DX one that I was hoping would have the ftdi chip.

Hopefully you ordered the same one that I did in the link above.

SKU: 42823

At one point when i was perusing the dx site trying to figure out their shipping policies, i saw something about them having 'overseas' warehouses with quicker shipping. Maybe you can check those and if they have the same cable, you can cancel your china order before it ships and order from there.

edit: i'm thinking they don't have it in US
https://dx.com/c/us-eu-au-warehouse-...1?pageSize=200
Yep got the 42823 (i double checked and used your link from the previous page)

I think i'll just wait it out. I have ordered from china before (20 times or more) through ebay and usually it gets here between 2 to 3 weeks. I don't mind waiting as long as i get it eventually and hopefully it'll be the FTDI one.

Thanks for all the help. I'll update as soon as it arrives.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #184
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Guardian. I too have the cable you have depicted. It seems to be the same as the madjax cable, although the components are just arranged differently on the board.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:41 PM   #185
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
Guardian. I too have the cable you have depicted. It seems to be the same as the madjax cable, although the components are just arranged differently on the board.
Perhaps the same chip on another PCB? Anyway i've given up on it and await the new cable. i'll put up pics and experiences with the new cable from DX as soon as i get it.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:00 AM   #186
danchevelle70
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331110
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
07 STI
Satin Pearl White

Default

Does anyone know if the vagcom cable works on an 07 sti? Is there any way of possibly messing up the cars cpu with just using this for logging?
danchevelle70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:18 PM   #187
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danchevelle70 View Post
Does anyone know if the vagcom cable works on an 07 sti? Is there any way of possibly messing up the cars cpu with just using this for logging?

it *should* work for 07 but as you can tell, it depends on which vagcom cable you get.

And you should be fine for just logging.
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:21 AM   #188
danchevelle70
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331110
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
07 STI
Satin Pearl White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
it *should* work for 07 but as you can tell, it depends on which vagcom cable you get.

And you should be fine for just logging.
Yep, looking through this forum I have to get lucky and order the right one or else im out some money.

Last edited by danchevelle70; 10-12-2012 at 03:10 AM.
danchevelle70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:09 PM   #189
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Good news guy's!

I got the cable from dealxtreme in the mail today. It's indeed blue housing with the embossed OBD-II logo with the silver cable. (this connector also fits 20x better than the old one)

Fired up my laptop and learning view works from the very first try!! No issue's whatsoever. Even ecuflash works (not fully though, still an issue reading but at least it can see the ECU and i feel this might be related to the ECUTEK tune)

Big thanks at "Z" here for supplying me with the correct shop/link and helping me along. (link below)
http://dx.com/p/obdii-usb-car-diagno...ble-blue-42823

So pleased that i can stop all that useless fiddling and soldering **** with the other style cable.

I'll be posting pics/screenshots ect in the near future.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:43 PM   #190
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Great to hear! (and you're welcome)

*btw - I was able to use up to ecuFlash v 1.32 with no issues. I think anything after that is looking for the OpenPort cable specifically.

I was able to pull down my Rom though, compare with the newer version of the 04 STi (there were 3 revisions throughout that year) and then reflash my car with the newest version.

Glad to hear your new cable worked out though.
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:10 AM   #191
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

So is the consensus to use ecuflash 1.32 with Vag-Com? I just recieved my cable yesterday from a place in new.jersey (UsaDigiShop on eBay).Installed the drivers and set the cable to com 2 w/ baud rate of 4800. Work good with romraider so far
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:34 AM   #192
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
So is the consensus to use ecuflash 1.32 with Vag-Com? I just recieved my cable yesterday from a place in new.jersey (UsaDigiShop on eBay).Installed the drivers and set the cable to com 2 w/ baud rate of 4800. Work good with romraider so far

Hmmm, that's the same one I bought that didn't work for me. (see post #166)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/170896991411

The only thing I was able to get to work was RR logger. No read rom from RR, no ecuFlash, no Learning View.

Let me know if that works for you. (or maybe you purchased a slightly different one from them than the link above?)

And also pop it open and see if the chip says "FTDI" on it.
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:12 AM   #193
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z

Hmmm, that's the same one I bought that didn't work for me. (see post #166)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/170896991411

The only thing I was able to get to work was RR logger. No read rom from RR, no ecuFlash, no Learning View.

Let me know if that works for you. (or maybe you purchased a slightly different one from them than the link above?)

And also pop it open and see if the chip says "FTDI" on it.
Yeah, looks like the same cable. I'll keep you posted. Is FTDI no bueno? I look after I get out of class

Doesn't say FTDI anywhere on the chip

Last edited by jthatch12; 10-23-2012 at 10:35 AM.
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:16 AM   #194
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
Yeah, looks like the same cable. I'll keep you posted. Is FTDI no bueno? I look after I get out of class

Doesn't say FTDI anywhere on the chip

FTDI is the good one. The one that says "WCH" (winChipHead) was the original one I got that would only log
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:39 AM   #195
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z

FTDI is the good one. The one that says "WCH" (winChipHead) was the original one I got that would only log
Oh well, I'll keep it for data logging then :-(
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:21 PM   #196
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guardian-X- View Post
Good news guy's!

I got the cable from dealxtreme in the mail today. It's indeed blue housing with the embossed OBD-II logo with the silver cable. (this connector also fits 20x better than the old one)

Fired up my laptop and learning view works from the very first try!! No issue's whatsoever. Even ecuflash works (not fully though, still an issue reading but at least it can see the ECU and i feel this might be related to the ECUTEK tune)

Big thanks at "Z" here for supplying me with the correct shop/link and helping me along. (link below)
http://dx.com/p/obdii-usb-car-diagno...ble-blue-42823

So pleased that i can stop all that useless fiddling and soldering **** with the other style cable.

I'll be posting pics/screenshots ect in the near future.
I just bought one too lol. I'll post up in 3 weeks when I get it...
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #197
Guardian-X-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331064
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle:
06 Impreza wrx sti
WRB

Default

Here's a pic of the cable i received. The one that "Z" mentioned from dealxtreme. Works flawlessly with no modification required for Romraider logger,learning view,ecuflash and perhaps even flashing!



I'm not so eager on opening this one up because on my previous one the threads in the plastic where immediatly trashed. This is normal because well ... it's plastic ( remember your old toy's you opened up and messed with? )

But here's a pic from the DX site of the internals



I have to say the connector itself is so much more rigid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by z View Post
*btw - I was able to use up to ecuFlash v 1.32 with no issues. I think anything after that is looking for the OpenPort cable specifically.

I was able to pull down my Rom though, compare with the newer version of the 04 STi (there were 3 revisions throughout that year) and then reflash my car with the newest version.
.
I'll give that one a go thx. Also glad to hear you where able to flash a new rom to your STi. So this cables even does flashing with no mods whatsoever? Nice



On a sidenote: This cable is not sold as being a VAG-COM cable (my previous one was but didn't work except for RR) ... maybe something to take note of. Perhaps when searching for VAG-COM you get more results for the WCH chip cable instead of the FTDI one? My old one even had VAG-COM printed on the sticker ... this one just says OBD-II like its not even intended for VAG-COM alone. This one is advertised as ALSO working with VAG-COM protocol but it works with other stuff aswell. I feel that this is something we should take into consideration when creating threads such as this one.

Btw would be a great idea to make a thread with all the info we gathered so far. Now we got like 5 or so threads with heaps of loose bit's of info and very much chatter that doesn't really help someone when searching for what cable to get, where to get ,what it will work with. We could do with a new thread with all the proper info in the first post. (i don't think i'm the right person for this though )

Last edited by Guardian-X-; 10-24-2012 at 01:47 PM.
Guardian-X- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:50 PM   #198
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

yep, flashed the updated map with no mods to the cable whatsoever.
*just have to connect the green connectors under the dash


The only change I made to the updated map was to set the initial IAM value to 1 so I didn't have to wait for it to relearn.
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:59 PM   #199
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z
yep, flashed the updated map with no mods to the cable whatsoever.
*just have to connect the green connectors under the dash

The only change I made to the updated map was to set the initial IAM value to 1 so I didn't have to wait for it to relearn.
On the crappy cable. It disconnects from rom raider logger when I go WOT... how do I fix this so the cable isn't a complete waste?
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #200
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
On the crappy cable. It disconnects from rom raider logger when I go WOT... how do I fix this so the cable isn't a complete waste?
I didn't have an issue logging at all with the wch cable. But that was all I was able to do. Did you change your baud rate to 4800 on that com port that it's using?
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Got VAG-COM cable and I need help!!!!! subi-bartimioli02 Open Source Reflashes 147 06-23-2011 01:45 AM
WTB Service: Get my Vag Com cable to work el dude MAIC Private Classifieds 3 10-04-2009 09:25 PM
Anyone in Phila. willing to share their Tactrix or vag-com cable? eek1 Tri-State Area Forum 4 09-12-2009 05:32 PM
Cant get Vag-com cable to flash my 04 FXT andy87t2 Open Source Reflashes 6 06-13-2009 01:35 AM
VAG-COM cable btlegacy Open Source Reflashes 4 05-31-2009 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.