Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default Battery unplugged...is my protune still flashed??

I had to disconnect the battery...but had my car dyno'd and protuned. Did disconnecting the battery flash the ECU/ECM back to stock or is the tune still on there? Thanks guys!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:38 PM   #2
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

should be fine...that would be madness if you had to re tune after disconnecting battery.
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:50 PM   #3
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Ya you would think!! I just wanna be sure. I don't wanna be running around with a super lean setup and then blow something!
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:05 PM   #4
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Depends on how the tune was loaded on the ECU. What tuning software are you using? AccessPort, open source, UTEC, etc?
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:17 PM   #5
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
Depends on how the tune was loaded on the ECU. What tuning software are you using? AccessPort, open source, UTEC, etc?

AccessPort. Tuned by P and L in Chicago
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:20 PM   #6
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Then it depends on if the tuned map was loaded on as a base map or as a real-time map. A base map will overwrite what's on the ECU, you could leave your battery out for a year and nothing would happen to the tune. A real-time map is only temporary, it's useful when you're actively tuning or for loading a valet or race gas map, but you don't want your real tune loaded as a real-time map because when the ECU is reset, the real-time map is erased and the car will fall back to the base map.

Didn't the tuner give you the tuned map so you could load it on your accessport and reflash it yourself?
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 06:23 PM   #7
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
Then it depends on if the tuned map was loaded on as a base map or as a real-time map. A base map will overwrite what's on the ECU, you could leave your battery out for a year and nothing would happen to the tune. A real-time map is only temporary, it's useful when you're actively tuning or for loading a valet or race gas map, but you don't want your real tune loaded as a real-time map because when the ECU is reset, the real-time map is erased and the car will fall back to the base map.

Didn't the tuner give you the tuned map so you could load it on your accessport and reflash it yourself?
Ok I see. Ya he did, I just dont wanna have to do that. Let me ask you a question: If I have a boost gauge, and before I took off the battery the car boosted 22psi....when I reconnected the battery if it resorted back to the default map would it still boost 22psi?

It is still boosting the same. That would lead me to believe that the tune is still on there...
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 06:41 PM   #8
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default Re: Battery unplugged...is my protune still flashed??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wgr73

Ok I see. Ya he did, I just dont wanna have to do that. Let me ask you a question: If I have a boost gauge, and before I took off the battery the car boosted 22psi....when I reconnected the battery if it resorted back to the default map would it still boost 22psi?

It is still boosting the same. That would lead me to believe that the tune is still on there...
If it went back to the stock tune the boost would be all over the place, it wouldn't be stable at 22, so if your boost is solid then it should be the right tune.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:00 PM   #9
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Oh ok! Ya at WOT on S# its a stable 22psi
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why is my steering still hard to turn? IllNastyImpreza Service & Maintenance 4 03-24-2008 11:57 AM
is my meat still ok? enozto Off-Topic 12 11-19-2006 05:30 PM
I'm 27....why is my voice still changing? HamFist Off-Topic 20 11-17-2004 08:49 AM
05 sti, reset my battery and now my parking lights don't flash when arming alram coil222 Electrical & Lighting 1 05-30-2004 03:59 AM
Why is my face still swollen? obyone Off-Topic 25 04-05-2004 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.