Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
keepitmike
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225730
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: northern tip of new york
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
BLACK

Default Accessport reliability

Tell me what you think of the accessport. Is it amazing? Is it junk? Is it problem free? Is it full of problems? V1 vs. V2. Any negative effects on the host vehicle? All the dirt, good and bad, whats your opinion!?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
keepitmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:23 AM   #2
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Had an AP v1 and now AP v2, never a problem. Worked exactly as it was supposed to on my '02 WRX and now my '09 STi... Well worth the $ in my opinion for me, a computer dummy person that can't even figure out how to post a pic on here.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:24 AM   #3
keepitmike
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225730
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: northern tip of new york
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
BLACK

Default

did you just use the base tunes on the system?
keepitmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:00 AM   #4
crash60068
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209218
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Park Ridge / Springfield
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX 4EAT
93 MR2, 2013 Camry

Default

i have a v1 and just put what ever map was loaded on there. well worth it. as far as v1 vs v2 they do the same the thing. its just a no feature AP vs lots of feature AP is the difference.
crash60068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 10:29 AM   #5
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepitmike View Post
did you just use the base tunes on the system?
Yes, just used the stage 1 and stage 2 base maps most of the times. I sometimes used the 91 rt maps when I couldn't buy 94 and used the anti-theft map 4 times when leaving my car at the airport... The economy map I didn't use as I didn't like how they eliminated the HP even when you needed it to pass someone so it wasn't compatible for my stile of driving... Yes it's an econo map but when you floor it you want/need ALL the HP and F' the fuel economy.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:03 PM   #6
Sukebe_UrAbUs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 232063
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Md Va Ct
Vehicle:
06 Mitsubishi
Imprezza

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr View Post
Yes, just used the stage 1 and stage 2 base maps most of the times. I sometimes used the 91 rt maps when I couldn't buy 94 and used the anti-theft map 4 times when leaving my car at the airport... The economy map I didn't use as I didn't like how they eliminated the HP even when you needed it to pass someone so it wasn't compatible for my stile of driving... Yes it's an econo map but when you floor it you want/need ALL the HP and F' the fuel economy.
did you reflash to anti - theft or in realtime?
Sukebe_UrAbUs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:37 PM   #7
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sukebe_UrAbUs View Post
did you reflash to anti - theft or in realtime?
No, I just used the RT anti-theft map as it takes way too long to change base maps... I know it's not as good as the base map as you can loose the RT map but it was/is good enough for around here.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 11:51 PM   #8
crash60068
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209218
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Park Ridge / Springfield
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX 4EAT
93 MR2, 2013 Camry

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr View Post
Yes, just used the stage 1 and stage 2 base maps most of the times. I sometimes used the 91 rt maps when I couldn't buy 94 and used the anti-theft map 4 times when leaving my car at the airport... The economy map I didn't use as I didn't like how they eliminated the HP even when you needed it to pass someone so it wasn't compatible for my stile of driving... Yes it's an econo map but when you floor it you want/need ALL the HP and F' the fuel economy.

mines set for the 93 oct but sometimes use 90 oct
crash60068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 12:23 AM   #9
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepitmike View Post
Tell me what you think of the accessport. Is it amazing? Is it junk? Is it problem free? Is it full of problems? V1 vs. V2. Any negative effects on the host vehicle? All the dirt, good and bad, whats your opinion!?
I like my accessport V2, it works well, but the screen is starting to ghost. The cumulative MPG calculator as far as I can tell is wildly innacurate. The dyno feature is nice, but can't possibly be super accurate due to differences in drag and the ground. The VF-39 tune is decent but is a little weak and comes on slow. The stage 2 map is very good for an off the shelf tune.

I do have beef with cobb though. They advertise features on the box, that either don't exist, or will never exist. Perfect example, I don't own a PC, I only own mac's. When I bought my accesport it said that it was Mac/PC compatible. To this day there is ONLY an AP manager in BETA that half way works, but is still basically worthless. And it will probably never be finished because the guy who was working on it no longer works there! great! EVEN THOUGH all this was ON THE BOX when I bought the product like 3 years ago. Plus when I bought mine they advertised MPG readings and a few other features that were not available at the time. To there credit they did release these features some 6months-a year later.

I've heard great things about cobbs customer service, and over all, the AP is pretty good. The best feature i've found is monitoring your instant MPG, as this has helped me get my mileage up to 30-32 MPG while cruising on the highway. It helps me not mash the throttle quite as often. But I have to say for the money I could have bought a small netbook, a tactrix cable, and an e-tune for open source... so You decide. If you're ok with using the open source approach, or have any interest in tuning the car yourself I recommend that route. But if you want a fairly plug and play option with good customer support the AP is for you.

I pretty much never use the realtime flashing feature. It's nice, but I just find i don't use it so often. Also the economy map netted me maybe 1-2 MPG which really isn't very much when you think of gas usage in GPM. Learning to control the urge to go flat out will net you a bigger improvement in mileage.
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 12:39 AM   #10
keepitmike
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225730
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: northern tip of new york
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
BLACK

Default

I've got a V1 AP in the closet, cars put away for the winter but when it comes out I think I'll test that out, if I get my exhaust and such in time.
keepitmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 11:01 AM   #11
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crash60068 View Post
mines set for the 93 oct but sometimes use 90 oct
Yea, but then I would use the 91 octane RT map till I could buy 93 or better...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 03:13 PM   #12
crash60068
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209218
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Park Ridge / Springfield
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX 4EAT
93 MR2, 2013 Camry

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr View Post
Yea, but then I would use the 91 octane RT map till I could buy 93 or better...
that what i was thinking you dont think i can ruin somthing that way???
also 92 is mostly around here but 90 oct is about 25cents less.
crash60068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 03:19 PM   #13
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crash60068 View Post
that what i was thinking you dont think i can ruin somthing that way???
also 92 is mostly around here but 90 oct is about 25cents less.
If you can't buy 93 or better than you should be using the 91 octane base map even with 92... And yes you could, be ruining something. You are not using the correct map for the correct octane of gas...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:13 PM   #14
tolnep
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18602
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Planet tolnep
Vehicle:
2005 Moller Skycar
glow in dark purple

Default

i have the newer tactrix cable, i have all the open source tools.

i have ap v2. and access tuner race. i tune with atr, and use the tactrix and tools to double check. learning view is a good example.

i can set up my base stuff, do pulls and adjust most important tuning tables in real time while the car is running. i dont have to reflash. i can literally do a 3rd gear pull pull over pull up log, and adjust.

i only flash with the AP when im completely done with a phase. its the realtime stuff that makes the AP worth while. supposedly it cost less to be tuned on AP than opensource becuase the tuner can do it in less time.

if i go beyond AP, it it will be AEMS standalone.
tolnep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 09:16 PM   #15
CEGLEX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201976
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lexington KY
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan PSM
Stage 2

Default

I've got a v2 AP and really like it. I've only owned my car one year, and I am not comfortable enough with manipulating engine management to tune it myself, so the "plug and play" aspect of the AP is great. I would like to learn to use AccessTunerRace with the AP and do more stuff on my own, but after reading the guide, it is over my head. I need to learn more about how the engine runs before I go that far (which is the same way I feel about the open source tuning option). I will also say that I am pretty particular about not "blowing" the car, and I want things to work right, so I follow the Cobb recommendations exactly. The core work I have done is gutting the cat out of the stock uppipe myself, installing a Cobb catted DP, and a Borla Hush catback. Otherwise my engine is stock - no funky intake, no BOV, etc. So everything runs really smooth for me, no CELs, etc.
CEGLEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 07:01 PM   #16
operativex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 217829
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2007 STI Ltd.
SWP

Default

Consider buying a new AP vs. used. I recently purchased a ~2 year old, unmarried AP for my 2007 STI from a fellow board member. The AP arrived in great shape, and worked fine. I noticed the software was out of date (that came on the CD), and in the process of downloading the new AP Manager software from Cobb's website, I also noticed newer firmware available. During the firmware update, the device failed, and would no longer power up past the splash screen. I had to send the AP to Cobb, who charged me 160 dollars to replace the processor. How the main device processor can "fry" during a firmware upgrade using their own firmware updater and following the correct procedure is beyond me, but what could I do? I did not get upset and yell, I simply paid the fee. Keep in mind I never even got to use this in my car. So all said and done, I was invested at this point about 40 dollars shy of the full purchase price on a new AP. Next time I will just buy new! Not knocking on Cobb, the AP was out of the 1-year warranty, and from what I can tell this is a rare case, but just be aware that this is an electronic device and is not immune to failure.


UPDATE: Cobb made a mistake and did not intend to charge me for this repair (since the failure occured during an update). They called to let me know they are refunding the charge. Now there's that great customer service I keep hearing about!

Last edited by operativex; 02-11-2010 at 07:26 PM.
operativex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:03 PM   #17
dvinales
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237227
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Passaic County, NJ
Vehicle:
2006 Imprezza WRX
Silver

Default

I purchased AP-SUB-002 for my 06 wrx. I have a spt intake, borlla cat back exhaust. what map should i use?
dvinales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:30 PM   #18
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvinales View Post
I purchased AP-SUB-002 for my 06 wrx. I have a spt intake, borlla cat back exhaust. what map should i use?
Stage 1... Tho it does say stock air intake...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:42 PM   #19
crash60068
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209218
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Park Ridge / Springfield
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX 4EAT
93 MR2, 2013 Camry

Default

go with the stage 1 but il take off the intake youll be running lean.
crash60068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:16 PM   #20
idioteque1025
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208632
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Naperville, IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

I had a v2 accessport for my 04 wrx for a week. Then the screen stopped working. I called the support number and Cobb said to ship it back to them (at my cost) and they could do the repair in "a day or two". They have had it over a week. I just called and they haven't repaired it yet. My car is running in limp mode now and all in all it has been a pretty bad experience so far.
idioteque1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:49 PM   #21
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idioteque1025 View Post
I had a v2 accessport for my 04 wrx for a week. Then the screen stopped working. I called the support number and Cobb said to ship it back to them (at my cost) and they could do the repair in "a day or two". They have had it over a week. I just called and they haven't repaired it yet. My car is running in limp mode now and all in all it has been a pretty bad experience so far.
Um... Why would it be in limp mode?... I wonder... Seems to me most every time I hear something like this, when it's all said and done it was nothing to do with the AP or the OTS maps... Some mechanical problem, Bad gas, or usually something was on the car that doesn't mesh with what the map notes call for for the OTS map to work properly...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 03:12 PM   #22
crash60068
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209218
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Park Ridge / Springfield
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX 4EAT
93 MR2, 2013 Camry

Default

im getting that problem too the screen on mine isnt the greatest looking but still readable
crash60068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 05:00 PM   #23
idioteque1025
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208632
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Naperville, IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr View Post
Um... Why would it be in limp mode?... I wonder... Seems to me most every time I hear something like this, when it's all said and done it was nothing to do with the AP or the OTS maps... Some mechanical problem, Bad gas, or usually something was on the car that doesn't mesh with what the map notes call for for the OTS map to work properly...
The car is in limp mode, because I have the TGV delete mod. I have a custom map for the car, but I can't load it since the AP is not working. I can clear the CEL but it instantly comes back. I am running a basic stage II setup otherwise. I wouldn't have any issue at all if the AP was still working and in my possession.
idioteque1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:37 PM   #24
wrxsomeday
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141991
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
08 STi AW
12 Legacy 3.6R

Default

whats the difference between reflash and realtime??
wrxsomeday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 07:07 PM   #25
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idioteque1025 View Post
The car is in limp mode, because I have the TGV delete mod. I have a custom map for the car, but I can't load it since the AP is not working. I can clear the CEL but it instantly comes back. I am running a basic stage II setup otherwise. I wouldn't have any issue at all if the AP was still working and in my possession.
There you go... You have different mods for the OTS maps... And yes at least you say you also have a proper map for it, unfortunately the AP broke... Hope it gets fixed soon, and you experience the good costumer relations COBB is known for...

As for the base maps and RT maps the difference is, you need a base map because it has additional programs that the RT maps don't... You can also change RT maps when needed for econo, anti-theft, valet fast but not permanently, like with the base maps...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : V2 Accessport needtospeed Engine/Power/Exhaust 14 07-01-2010 05:08 PM
FS : Brand New Cobb Accessport AP-SUB-002 -$500 twinturbozs Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 06-08-2010 08:04 PM
Delete haro15 Engine/Power/Exhaust 4 06-07-2010 12:17 AM
Delete haro15 Tri-State Area Private Classifieds 5 06-06-2010 10:36 PM
Accessport and reliability... Jsunn Engine Management & Tuning 13 04-25-2005 09:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.