Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2010, 12:18 PM   #1
Nickarub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 230509
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
06 vf39 wrx
ugm

Default economy mode with stage 2?

i just switched my downpipe and am stage 2 now. i am LOVING IT. but i am a big fan of the Economy feature. can i run the regular economy feature on the new TBE?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Nickarub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 01:26 PM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Yes you can run your car in economy mode with a full TBE, but, DO NOT get into boost. Drive it like it's your grandma's caddy.

Travis
COBB Tuning
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 11:57 PM   #3
quick4dr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 229938
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rockland County
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy
black

Default grandma indeed

Drive like grandma even without economy mode will save you gas. Ive always been taught that the cars most powerfull tune will result in the best fuel economy if not beating on it. I hear the economy map helps by cutting boost levels, but just drive with a light foot will help too.
quick4dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:51 PM   #4
Tahoe SC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 131996
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Lago forestal
Vehicle:
2006 CGM WRX Wagon
Yimi Tuned 296AWP/322TQ

Default

get a boost gauge and stay out of boost and you'll get much better mileage AND have power on tap when you need it.
Tahoe SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 01:44 PM   #5
lando
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149637
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: HR. Gangsta
Vehicle:
2010 STI SE
WRB

Default

Eh..running stage 2, tried the economy mode. Did nothing. I get 19mpg no matter what or how i drive my car :X
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 05:25 PM   #6
424wrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171948
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: new york
Vehicle:
08 wrx sedan
stg3-vf52,12.6@108

Default

i get 24-25 mpg all year. stage 2 mods and mapping. even have a perrin tmic. no highway driving at all. id say some of you step are on the go pedal too much!
424wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:38 PM   #7
black civic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28948
Join Date: Nov 2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
Yes you can run your car in economy mode with a full TBE, but, DO NOT get into boost. Drive it like it's your grandma's caddy.

Travis
COBB Tuning
I also have a TBE and just changed from a pro-tune to the economy map for my commutes. Is there a danger to going WOT on the economy map? I'm sure I will forget I'm on the economy map when accelerating on the on-ramps or during passing.

Thanks
black civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:30 AM   #8
newscoobboob
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119956
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno,Nv & Palmdale, Ca
Vehicle:
2006 wrx waggin
Lexus White w/ Pink pearl

Default

My grandmas caddy can haul some a**.
When I was stage one using my accessport to monitor mpg I could get 31mpg cruising and 14.5mpg while passing at full throttle.
newscoobboob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 12:56 PM   #9
Borjaq
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4812
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 757
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blk

Default

Stock and Stage 1 I get about 21 mpg, economy I get about 25 but ONLY after being on the highway for 15 mins or so. Hopefully a protune might help sort it out though and net me some more mpg's.
Borjaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:12 PM   #10
static-psi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237649
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: ephrata,pa
Vehicle:
04 STI
blue

Default

I drive 1 mile to work each day. My sti gets a new tank of gas every two weeks. I get so frickin pumped to go and waste gas when I get my chance. Idk if I will ever use my eco mode. Heck I dont even really know what its doing? What is it doing?
static-psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:46 PM   #11
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black civic View Post
I also have a TBE and just changed from a pro-tune to the economy map for my commutes. Is there a danger to going WOT on the economy map? I'm sure I will forget I'm on the economy map when accelerating on the on-ramps or during passing.

Thanks
Well, that kinda defeats the purpose. The economy mode basically sets WGDC to 0 to seriously curtail boost. The econo mode is for cars with stock intakes etc so if you are running anything more than just a turbo back, then your other parts won't be tuned for so, if you DO go WOT then you would be doing so without the proper tune essentially. If you just have a turbo back, the only consequence is that you will just not get full boost and you will also be using up your gas!

Travis
COBB Tuning
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15.2@90 with stage 2 wrx? Sparconx88 Proven Power Bragging 43 05-23-2009 11:40 PM
FEELER: (CNJ) Cobb AP V 2.0 With Stage 2 Protune map PartySTi Engine/Power/Exhaust 4 11-11-2008 11:29 PM
Mileage worse with economy map vs stage 2 ? subieslo AccessPort 12 08-07-2008 09:59 AM
Using Economy mode with AP. Badmunky Newbies & FAQs 17 11-22-2007 11:31 AM
Cobb stage 1 reflash with stage 2 hardware - problems? jroberts Engine Management & Tuning 4 02-03-2004 01:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.