Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2010, 11:48 AM   #1
njhxc27
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208313
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ/PA
Vehicle:
2006 SUBARU WRX
WHITE/ STAGE 2

Default need help with my accessport

So i bought my v1 a few months ago and have been running stage1 map..im in the process of getting a downpipe and was going to put the state 2 tune on but i remembered when i plugged it back in that the guy i bought it off of had a protune on it for his [COLOR=#F82C70 ! important][COLOR=#F82C70 ! important]car[/color][/color]. both cars at 2006 wrx which is the model for the v1 also. is a protune a protune? like his tune was just an intake and a turbo back does that mean with those same things it would be safe to run on [COLOR=#F82C70 ! important][COLOR=#F82C70 ! important]my [COLOR=#F82C70 ! important]car[/color][/color][/color] or is that risky? im great with mechanical part of [COLOR=#F82C70 ! important][COLOR=#F82C70 ! important]cars[/color][/color] but new to tuning.

please help dont want to damage my car but have heard that protune maps are safer than cobb maps. but wasnt sure since the protune was not done on my car and was done on another car..
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
njhxc27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:40 PM   #2
GrimmSpeed
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 136396
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
SWP

Default

The safest method of tuning is always on your actual car. Cobb maps are calibrated to work with most variances from car to car but a protune is much more specific. It may work and it may not, but that is a risk you will have to take. If you have the car tuned then you will have nothing to worry about!

Will
GrimmSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with my accessport njhxc27 AccessPort 3 02-24-2010 08:59 PM
Please Help With My Accessport Problem 06_Silver_LGT AccessPort 3 04-16-2008 03:01 PM
Need help with '02 Accessport in Chicago sersen Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 10 11-16-2005 10:33 PM
I need help with my Accessport!! EJ25T Engine Management & Tuning 6 09-30-2004 09:39 PM
I need Help with my install! HELP! mrubino83 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 4 04-08-2004 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.