Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2010, 12:58 PM   #751
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

^If the flash block connector isn't connected you'll get the error for incorrect voltage. I'd bet there is just a bad connection there or you forgot to connect it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 01:56 PM   #752
PhatBotti Tuning TKR
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 239659
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Tri-State / California
Vehicle:
STI Mikey & Phatron
Tuning Da Subies

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
he got some kinda "incorrect voltage error" when flashing....i've never seen it before.

i have to assume that its a wiring problem or something with his car......as i've never had a rom get corrupted......but theres always a first time for everything.

Ron, I've gotten this quite a few times before. What was the actual voltage discrepancy? Too high or too low?

Usually when the voltage is too high, i let the radio play and the ac stay on for a bit along with the lights with the key turned to the on position.

If voltage is too low, either the clip has come un-done or the rewired broken green connectors in this case are wrong.

-Mikey
PhatBotti Tuning TKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:21 PM   #753
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

There are two wires on the green connector. I made the wire longer with metal crimp connectors. Thats solid. The switch works. I can test write successfully, but i noticed the yes,yes,yes then a no...then it fails. When i set up ecu flash, turn the key then hit okay the CEL goes off and begins to write but when its writing and no pops up, it fails for voltage.

I can read learning view and data log no problem.

No a/c no radio. I can leave the headlights on...
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:36 PM   #754
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Do you have the flash block connector connected? Not the green connectors, but the jumper wire.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:40 PM   #755
STi Mikey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114631
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: TheShopCT / EFI LOGICS
Vehicle:
2009 GTR, 735whp
13' Benz, 15' WRX

Default

Dude,

The yes's and no's are identifying certain addresses in which code has been changed. Yes meaning that this new map at a specific address has been changed, and no if it is the same as compared to the ROM already in the ECU.

Yes's and no's have nothing to do with voltage error.

What is the actual reading?

-Mikey
STi Mikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:59 PM   #756
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

4.3v high input. I belive the green connector is functioning properly. The jumper is in place. My battery is showing 12.2 volts.
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:03 PM   #757
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

I also unplugged the usb for the wideband, restarted the computer, and like i said tried RR and learning view n/p and ecuflash does test write successfully.
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:09 PM   #758
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Every time ive got that error with voltage around 5v its been the jumper at fault. Double check continuity
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:14 PM   #759
STi Mikey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114631
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: TheShopCT / EFI LOGICS
Vehicle:
2009 GTR, 735whp
13' Benz, 15' WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02RexWI View Post
Every time ive got that error with voltage around 5v its been the jumper at fault. Double check continuity
^^^^^THIS^^^^^
STi Mikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:17 PM   #760
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

The blue jumper...okay.

Maybe on the back off the new switch i have them backward? I figured its a single pole switch...on or off.

My computer has crashed a couple times as well while hooked up to the tactrix but NEVER any other time...makes me nervous.
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:19 PM   #761
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

I guess i could hardwire the jumper...no?
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:40 PM   #762
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

^You can leave the jumper connected at all time, it makes no difference at this point unless you run the group N ROM.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 05:38 PM   #763
RFoy91TSi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57488
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
1998 GC8 EJ205 VF34
12.0@115 STi Mikey Tuned

Default

if you put your car into test mode (flip the flash switch you installed) then turn key on. you should get a flashing cel with all your fans going on and off. If you get this the test mode connector is wired correctly if not then it's your connection. (on a side note never crimp anything. Solder everything or you'll have issues down the road) If you want bring it by the shop we can have a look at it.
RFoy91TSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 10:17 PM   #764
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

i cut the switch out to see if that was the problem. twisted the wires together. same thing. 4.34v....which is actually low voltage. ecu wants 5v right? ralph and i think i may be losing voltage through the crimp connectors that i used to lengthen the wires. we are gonna solder tomorrow. the car is reading 12.2v at the cig lighter , so....
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 10:31 PM   #765
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

I thought ecu wanted 12v

How good is the battery?
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 11:00 PM   #766
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

The ECU usually has ~ 5 volts in the circuit it monitors with the flash block not jumped (4.34 volts is close enough), it has ~12 volts when the flash block is connected. {This is all just from observation}

CHECK THE FLASH BLOCK CONNECTION
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:07 AM   #767
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

12 volts may not be enough during flashing operations. I had one of my ECU's bricked flashing at to low of a voltage. Put that thing on a charger if in doubt.
kellygnsd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:09 AM   #768
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

i'm a lil confused.

what is the role of the green connectors, to the role of the blue connector? is the blue connector the flash block? i am assuming it is since i call that "the jumper". i never disconnect the blue jumper. i did inspect it. there is a wire that loops to two connectors. looksike there is only one clip it fits. fits snug.

so since i always leave that connected, the ecu should always see 12v?
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:11 AM   #769
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

ralph suggested putting another battery jumped to my battery and try flashing it that way. i didn't really want that to work cause i cant be going through all that to flash a map!
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:12 AM   #770
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

What year is your ride? It changed after '03 and '06 it think
kellygnsd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:13 AM   #771
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Flash block= jumper (usually a blue plug with a loop of wire)

The green connectors are the test mode connectors.

When I said the ECU "see's 12 volts" I meant specifically on that circuit (it obviously has to have 12 volts coming into it from some place to power other things)

Try to take the "jumper" off and put it back on. See if that changes anything, it could just be a bad connection.
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:15 AM   #772
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

my battery runs at 14.2 at idle. 12.2 in ACC. other cars run more than 12.2 in ACC? i have a year old red top optima. never had an issue with it. can't believe its a battery problem. i turn on my headlights , all interior lights, heater , hazards, ashtray light, and honk the horn and my battery doesn't drop below 12v.

12.2v not enough to flash the ecu?
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:16 AM   #773
maxpowr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159243
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: medford nj 08055
Vehicle:
sg3 Turbo Tek Tuned
Hakt Ecu e85 30r 6spd

Default

5/01 on the vin tag, so its a usdm 02 wrx bugeye ecu/harness.
maxpowr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:20 AM   #774
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

When was the last time the car ran?
kellygnsd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:24 AM   #775
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Its not a battery issue
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.