Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2010, 12:13 AM   #1
wrxej205
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 188454
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton, Pa
Vehicle:
02 ej207+6speed
psm

Default anybody else have problems with their vizio flat screens?

i bought a vizio 42' flat screen from walmart like 8 months ago for about 900$ with a warranty and whatnot. since then the "circuit board" took a shht while i was playing xbox. giving me no picture but was producing sound.. so they sent a tech out after like a week of bs on the phone with some lady from another country and it got fixed. took bout half hour.


so not even 15 minutes ago im playing borderlands on 360 and boom screen goes black but still producing sound. and i think to myself wow is vizio really that crappy or is there something else going on?? with the xbox messing with it or something. has something like this ever happened to any of you?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wrxej205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:15 AM   #2
jdreisinger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127138
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxej205 View Post
i bought a vizio 42' flat screen from walmart like 8 months ago for about 900$ with a warranty and whatnot. since then the "circuit board" took a shht while i was playing xbox. giving me no picture but was producing sound.. so they sent a tech out after like a week of bs on the phone with some lady from another country and it got fixed. took bout half hour.


so not even 15 minutes ago im playing borderlands on 360 and boom screen goes black but still producing sound. and i think to myself wow is vizio really that crappy or is there something else going on?? with the xbox messing with it or something. has something like this ever happened to any of you?
Problem detected.
jdreisinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:17 AM   #3
hkerekes
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66310
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Removing passenger seat
Vehicle:
2012 Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxej205 View Post
i bought a vizio 42' flat screen from walmart like 8 months ago for about 900$ with a warranty and whatnot. since then the "circuit board" took a shht while i was playing xbox. giving me no picture but was producing sound.. so they sent a tech out after like a week of bs on the phone with some lady from another country and it got fixed. took bout half hour.


so not even 15 minutes ago im playing borderlands on 360 and boom screen goes black but still producing sound. and i think to myself wow is vizio really that crappy or is there something else going on?? with the xbox messing with it or something. has something like this ever happened to any of you?
I have had my 46" vizio lcd for over 4 years and I dont have any problems with it. avsforums.com is your friend
hkerekes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:19 AM   #4
madmax_087
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197077
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZIC Mesa
Vehicle:
1992 Dodge Ram W150
BAN CORINATOR

Default

YESSS! Same problem happens to me all the time, except usully after like two or three restarts, ithe screen comes back up. its never died during a game or any TV or cable, it just doesnt produce picture the first time when you start it up sometimes. i have te same exact tv, but i have a PS3, so i dont think its your XJUNK, or my PS3. did they fix yours for free? mine is out of warranty...
madmax_087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:19 AM   #5
The Dayman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 84815
Join Date: Apr 2005
Vehicle:
2015 water n badass.
badass n water.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by O2wrx View Post
I have had my 46" vizio lcd for over 4 years and I dont have any problems with it. avsforums.com is your friend
Over 2 years here, not a single issue.
The Dayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:20 AM   #6
poison
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 37678
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Default

No. I don't have a Vizio, bitch.
poison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:20 AM   #7
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
show me your
wizard nose

Default

My Samsung is working great!
skywaffles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:21 AM   #8
wrxej205
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 188454
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton, Pa
Vehicle:
02 ej207+6speed
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmax_087 View Post
YESSS! Same problem happens to me all the time, except usully after like two or three restarts, ithe screen comes back up. its never died during a game or any TV or cable, it just doesnt produce picture the first time when you start it up sometimes. i have te same exact tv, but i have a PS3, so i dont think its your Xawesome, or my PS3. did they fix yours for free? mine is out of warranty...
yea its still under vizios factory warranty. and i got a 2 year one thru walmart.
wrxej205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:21 AM   #9
trademark213
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176740
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton Wa
Default

I heard that the vizio brand sells garbage to walmart.. the model numbers to there stuff is specific to Walmart... "you get what you pay for" and $900 for a 42".. I think you could have gotten the same Samsung 42" that I have for $900..
trademark213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:21 AM   #10
poison
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 37678
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poison View Post
No. I don't have a Vizio, bitch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatcher View Post
My Samsung is working great!
poison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:21 AM   #11
static_rst
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50155
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

My brother in law has had two. He said he will not be purchasing another due to consistent problems.

My Panasonic 700U has survived 2 house moves, 4 separate rooms, and two college houses. Never once have had a problem. But then again, it's a Panasonic.
static_rst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:24 AM   #12
wrxej205
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 188454
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton, Pa
Vehicle:
02 ej207+6speed
psm

Default

i wonder if i make a big stink theyd refund me for the tv or give me a new better bigger one..
wrxej205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:25 AM   #13
static_rst
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50155
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxej205 View Post
i wonder if i make a big stink theyd refund me for the tv or give me a new better bigger one..
Worth a shot. But usually they won't do that unless it meets the lemon law policy in your state.
static_rst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:25 AM   #14
hkerekes
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66310
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Removing passenger seat
Vehicle:
2012 Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by static_rst View Post
My brother in law has had two. He said he will not be purchasing another due to consistent problems.

My Panasonic 700U has survived 2 house moves, 4 separate rooms, and two college houses. Never once have had a problem. But then again, it's a Panasonic.
The movers moved my vizio from NJ to NC. They did a less than stellar job of handling our ****. It still works. My friend bought a new 50" samsung plasma. The bottome 1/5th of the screen was black and didnt work at all. Turns out a connector was left un plugged.

All electronics have issues....
hkerekes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:28 AM   #15
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

You realize brand name doesn't mean **** anymore? It's all that specific model and what parts are used in that production batch.

Different companies use different parts in different models. So you need to look at reviews for that EXACT model, not just the brand name. Plus, some companies like Samsung and LG are playing really dirty. Shipping early model TV's with high end screens then switching to a sub-par screen that still technically hits the same numbers they quote(they only quote certain specs officially and those aren't the only numbers that matter), then they switch out the screen later on in the production run, after most initial reviews are complete, for something cheaper and of lower quality.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:35 AM   #16
hotshot172
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85253
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moore
Vehicle:
06 Beast Mode
I survived an F5

Default

Hell I bought a 32in Hewlett Packard, its been a champ through 3 years, and mild abuse, and TONS of xbox use.

Sorry for the bad luck, even my roommates sony bravia has crapped out twice in the short 3 months he's had it.
hotshot172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:08 AM   #17
MPRZIV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 49306
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boca Raton
Default

I have a great 47" 120hz vizio that has been great for the past year.
MPRZIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:22 AM   #18
felixk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 188019
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Jersey/ Morgantown WV
Vehicle:
2004 Audi S4
Black

Default

I've had my 37" vizio for about 2 years, no problems what so ever.
felixk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:18 AM   #19
leofski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 193478
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: restaurant @ end of universe
Vehicle:
05 LGT
dusty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge View Post
You realize brand name doesn't mean **** anymore? It's all that specific model and what parts are used in that production batch.

Different companies use different parts in different models. So you need to look at reviews for that EXACT model, not just the brand name. Plus, some companies like Samsung and LG are playing really dirty. Shipping early model TV's with high end screens then switching to a sub-par screen that still technically hits the same numbers they quote(they only quote certain specs officially and those aren't the only numbers that matter), then they switch out the screen later on in the production run, after most initial reviews are complete, for something cheaper and of lower quality.

Well I would disagree in that a brand does have some meaning to it. Sony and Sharp are consistently top-rated at CNET and consumer reports, and for a good reason. Brands like Vizio are also ranked as 3rd/4th tier over at AVSforums for a reason. Vizios are cheap, rebranded Chinese displays and Vizio has no actual in-house manufacturing despite calling themselves "America's TV." Some of the new Vizios are getting good reviews but I really have doubts about their long-term durability.
leofski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:24 AM   #20
tylerq219
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 68213
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: milf
Vehicle:
92? justy rally car
white/blue/mud #44

Default

22in vizio here, works great no problems
tylerq219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:26 AM   #21
DansSpace
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157029
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas
Vehicle:
'13 Mazdaspeed3

Default

32in owner of over three years checkin in. Zero problems.
DansSpace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:45 AM   #22
nate49509
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22452
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Not Flint.
Vehicle:
'04 WRX
witty comment goes here

Default

Junk.
nate49509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:47 AM   #23
KingGalantVr4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 121092
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Space Station
Vehicle:
LOOK OUT BELOW!
Re-entry is a &!^%#

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatcher View Post
My Samsung is working great!
Same here.
KingGalantVr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:47 AM   #24
legacydreamz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92423
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: chillin with Poseidon
Vehicle:
2007 Honda CRV
and dolphins and s**t

Default

my vizio is fine for the past 8 months, other than sometimes it gets black/white alternating lines across the very top edge at times. sometimes its different shows, or commercials... i dont know why it differs.
legacydreamz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:49 AM   #25
super-ru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90094
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2002 Pathfinder
Merlot Perl

Default

I've had my 42' for a year, the only issue I've ran into is when I hook up the hdmi from my pc to my tv, I have to turn off the tv's speakers. It makes this horrible scratching hissing noise that is extremely loud even with the volume is 0. No other hdmi devices cause this, wtf? Anyone else had something like this happen?
super-ru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone else have problems with their hybrid? ted dibiase Built Motor Discussion 9 10-07-2007 09:21 PM
Anybody else having problems loading the Subaru website? subysouth Off-Topic 4 07-28-2004 12:56 AM
Anybody else having problems with scooby mods? STiTuner Off-Topic 17 04-01-2004 09:06 AM
Does anyone else have issues with their H3 foglight bulbs? obyone Interior & Exterior Modification 9 11-08-2002 10:55 PM
Anbody else have problems with their car @ 5K RPM's?? (DTC P1544 related?) redobs Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 12-06-2001 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.