Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2002, 01:18 AM   #1
KillerTHC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4942
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Vehicle:
01 SRP 2.5 RS-T
Ludespeed Stage 3 Link'd

Default broken speedo after turbo install

we installed a stage 3 Ludespeed kit with a Link Plus ECU in my MY01 RS and now the speedometer does not work at all (this is one of many problems but we think we know how to solve the others). The speedo always stays at 0 MPH and the odometer/tripometer never get miles added to it. this may sound cool to some, but it's really annoying. i was wondering if anyone has had a similar problem or could tell me where the speedo is wired into and where the sensor is because i think someone disconnected it when they were installing my A-pillar gauges.


also, i have been blowing the fuse that controls the fuel pump but i don't think these problems are related. TIA.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
KillerTHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 03:52 AM   #2
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

umm if you unplugged the main harnesses from the stock ecu that's why you Speedo no longer works.

jeremy
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 04:04 AM   #3
KillerTHC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4942
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Vehicle:
01 SRP 2.5 RS-T
Ludespeed Stage 3 Link'd

Default

we put the stocker back in and nothing changed.
KillerTHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 11:52 AM   #4
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: "Teh Hebro Town"
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KillerTHC
we put the stocker back in and nothing changed.
make sure you didn't cut the signal wires going to the ECU, and going to the speedo when you installed the Link.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 01:25 PM   #5
Impreza Rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 756
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashburn, Va
Vehicle:
2003 Legacy L wagon
2009 Kawasaki C14

Default

Which wiring diagram did you use to install the Link?
Impreza Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 02:34 PM   #6
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jewbaru


make sure you didn't cut the signal wires going to the ECU, and going to the speedo when you installed the Link.
my next suggestion
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 03:37 PM   #7
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

The Link has should have nothing to do with the Speedo not working, that I know of, unless there is a short circuit somewhere. I have put in three Links so far and two fo the three speedo's work fine.

Besides we do not cut the wiring harness at all, there is a harness that was made to connect between the stock harness and the Link.

Only thing I can think of is under the car, the connection to the tranny got unconnected.
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 04:46 PM   #8
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

Quote:
Besides we do not cut the wiring harness at all, there is a harness that was made to connect between the stock harness and the Link.

So there's no soldering that has to be done for the Link to be installed? Does it come with a harness?

Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 05:14 PM   #9
KillerTHC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4942
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Vehicle:
01 SRP 2.5 RS-T
Ludespeed Stage 3 Link'd

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Graham



So there's no soldering that has to be done for the Link to be installed? Does it come with a harness?

Graham
no soldering at all. just connect the harness to the link and the stock plugs to the harness and your in business. the harness is a custom unit though made by Andrew at AMR (i think) and it costs like 100 bucks.
KillerTHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2002, 06:05 PM   #10
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Cool

100 to make, maybe more because they are a pain to make. You also have to supply an old stock ECU that fits your RS harness so he can use the connector in to make the harness adaptor. Or just buy them form Gerry.
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!! Car Overheating after turbo install! bcristea Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 10 06-07-2004 02:04 PM
Blue smoke after turbo install 99SubRs Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 09-20-2002 11:44 PM
2.5rs Stalling after turbo install DragII Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 28 05-03-2002 12:12 AM
loud ticking noise after turbo installed? RS2000 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 10 04-09-2002 09:51 PM
Tranny temp light after turbo install?? aussiebrydon Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 10-13-2001 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.