Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Custom Fabrication, Welding & Tools

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2010, 10:47 AM   #1
kharris4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46018
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
silver(mostly stock)

Default Anyone here ever try to tig SS with AC?

I've never tried it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
kharris4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 03:17 AM   #2
speedyHAM
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48377
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: "They eat fish soaked in lye"
Vehicle:
1996 Gutted, built
XP class Impreza L

Default

Why would you? Any TIG machine I've seen with AC capability has DC capability and DC is recommended for TIG on stainless steel.

You could certainly try it, but I wouldn't trust any weld that results without at least an RT of the weld.
speedyHAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 07:12 AM   #3
kharris4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46018
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
silver(mostly stock)

Default

I bought an AC machine about 12 years ago from a buddy for $100. I've never even plugged it in. Maybe I'll bring it in to work and see what happens.

I realize that you're not supposed to use AC for SS. Just curiuos if anyone ever actually tried it.
kharris4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 12:34 PM   #4
PSIstolic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 215878
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default

From my experience, TIG DC works great, so long as you have DCEN (I was using around 40-50amps with 1/16 SS) my welder actually only has DC and I wish I had the option for AC (to do aluminum welds). As what speedyHAM said, your rig should be capable of both AC/DC (lucky you!)
PSIstolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 02:03 PM   #5
kharris4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46018
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
silver(mostly stock)

Default

It's an AC only unit.
kharris4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:34 PM   #6
WeldingHank
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98645
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lawrence,ma
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

it won't weld right with A/C. the reason you use A/C on Aluminum is to help break up some of the oxidation on the aluminum itself. I'm pretty sure from what I remember from my metalurgy class A/C will cause the nickel to float out of the stainless, thus not making it stainless.
WeldingHank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:38 PM   #7
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PSIstolic View Post
From my experience, TIG DC works great, so long as you have DCEN (I was using around 40-50amps with 1/16 SS) my welder actually only has DC and I wish I had the option for AC (to do aluminum welds). As what speedyHAM said, your rig should be capable of both AC/DC (lucky you!)
i know a guy that welds alu with DC and pure helium. seems to work great
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 06:50 PM   #8
tom@kartboy
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 67
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Outlasting
the competition.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PARANOID56 View Post
i know a guy that welds alu with DC and pure helium. seems to work great
yup
tom@kartboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:33 PM   #9
PSIstolic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 215878
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default

Sorry OP, not meaning to threadjack, i know you brought in AC + SS, but a quick question directed to Paranoid56, and tom, about DC + Al TIG, So I'll just need some 100% He gas, is this still DCEN, and will this involve "poking" through the oxide layer using the Al filler metal rod (I've heard someone mention this required technique before)? Any input on the amperage needed for 1/16" Aluminum? Thanks!
PSIstolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 01:25 AM   #10
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

yea, that will be a question for tom, as we are talking about the same guy
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 01:36 AM   #11
tom@kartboy
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 67
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Outlasting
the competition.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PSIstolic View Post
Sorry OP, not meaning to threadjack, i know you brought in AC + SS, but a quick question directed to Paranoid56, and tom, about DC + Al TIG, So I'll just need some 100% He gas, is this still DCEN, and will this involve "poking" through the oxide layer using the Al filler metal rod (I've heard someone mention this required technique before)? Any input on the amperage needed for 1/16" Aluminum? Thanks!
i dont think i'd use DC welding for that thin of aluminum. It works much better for 1/4 and thicker stuff. Its strange at first doing it, but once you get the hang of its it'll put down some really small beads. almost like you are doing steel. but the penetration is awesome. since 100% of the power is on a single phase. VS the wave on AC.

T
tom@kartboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:20 AM   #12
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeldingHank View Post
it won't weld right with A/C. the reason you use A/C on Aluminum is to help break up some of the oxidation on the aluminum itself. I'm pretty sure from what I remember from my metalurgy class A/C will cause the nickel to float out of the stainless, thus not making it stainless.
Its chromium content that makes a stainless be called stainless. 11% or more. Your common 300 series do have a lot of nickel, but others like 410 and 440 for example have none.
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 01:25 PM   #13
WeldingHank
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98645
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lawrence,ma
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleH View Post
Its chromium content that makes a stainless be called stainless. 11% or more. Your common 300 series do have a lot of nickel, but others like 410 and 440 for example have none.
its been almost 10 years since my metalurgy class, don't shoot me! But I know it does cause the nickel to float out.
WeldingHank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone here ever been to the Ivor Wigham Rally School in Florida? Jag32 Motorsports 20 05-29-2007 02:06 AM
ever try to pass inspection with a cutout? stil2stock South East Region Forum 0 02-03-2007 04:06 PM
Anyone here ever been to Prudhoe Bay? soldmyboxster Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 13 01-18-2006 04:41 PM
Anyone ever try to pass smog with a twinscroll setup? Can it be done? pleue Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 08-13-2005 11:01 AM
anyone here ever have to give a deposition? wrxruIes Off-Topic 8 08-22-2003 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.