Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 1, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2010, 10:24 PM   #1
milkface
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143742
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver
Vehicle:
2004 STi wagon
2008 WRB Forester XT

Default HELP Please! 05 STi swap...immobilizer has stumped us.

Hey guys.

Loomin, Minifreak, and I are swapping an 05 STi motor into a 04 wrx wagon as we speak. All the mechanical has been done, and Minifreak has been busy as a bee wiring.

So the scenario is:
We only have the motor+wiring harness out of the 05STi ...The 05Sti ECU we have is from a different car.

You guessed it.....

We are now stumped by the immobilizer from the 05 STi.

I've just read through this thread: HERE

I'm now thinking the cheapest way to get the car running is to find an 04STi ECU.......

Has anyone here done this conversion before that can help shed some light and help us out

Thanks in advance!


frustrated....
-Charles
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by milkface; 04-22-2010 at 10:33 PM.
milkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-22-2010, 10:38 PM   #2
RX Renesis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108624
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Vehicle:
'06 SlowBaLow
MEISTER

Default

is it possible to give an ecu id or the original vin number of the car where the 05 ecu came from, and get the keys cut?
RX Renesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 11:36 PM   #3
Drakar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 68402
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Default

I always was under the impression the immobilizer was in the steering column in a small box.

so ya you need column/key/ecu from the same car. otherwise I'd find an 04 ecu like you said.
Drakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 11:55 PM   #4
truenosan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78893
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond BC Canada
Vehicle:
2013 Scion
FRS

Default

Isn't there a way to by-pass the factory immobilizer? I remember chatting with chp_stx a long time ago and he mentioned something about that.
truenosan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 11:58 PM   #5
Linkseal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 102329
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Canucks
Vehicle:
05 AW Piggy Gone
11 SP TOM'S IS-F

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakar View Post
I always was under the impression the immobilizer was in the steering column in a small box.
Yes, the immobilizer is located at the key light ring exactly, and yes,it is a small black retangle plug

And Charles you need 04 wiring and 04 ECU, or like Jacky said, ask Minifreak to fire up the ECU and get the ECU ID and VIN Number to get a key cut, if and only if you also have the immobilizer sensor with that 05 STi wiring
Linkseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:01 AM   #6
Splinter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 106510
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Osoyoos, BC
Vehicle:
98 Widebody 3.4L
Smooth Safety Blue

Default

I have no idea if it could help or not, but if you need it, I have an 04 STI steering column
Splinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:13 AM   #7
RX Renesis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108624
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Vehicle:
'06 SlowBaLow
MEISTER

Default

or u can always go stand alone em LOL
not the cheapest way, but the least troubled one.
RX Renesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:30 AM   #8
alcoolaid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 134949
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
'07 SWP STi
Instagram | arthurlam89

Default

Guess the options are 04 STI ECU or standalone.

Cheapest and most cost effective is AEM for sure.
alcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:48 AM   #9
minifreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116914
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
Obsidian Black

Default

I thought about just flashing the ECU with an 04 map but the pins are different so that's probably not going to work...
minifreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:14 AM   #10
alcoolaid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 134949
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
'07 SWP STi
Instagram | arthurlam89

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minifreak View Post
I thought about just flashing the ECU with an 04 map but the pins are different so that's probably not going to work...
yeah that wouldn't work. try to find a 04 sti ecu and just move the 5/6 pins that were changed... or standalone.

OR find the keys and tape it to the integrated unit.
alcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:41 AM   #11
Jeff54
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129503
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: reppin fort langleeey
Vehicle:
2002 It's resting
6 > 4?

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakar View Post
so ya you need column/key/ecu from the same car. otherwise I'd find an 04 ecu like you said.
this is correct, the key, the immobilizer unit and the ecu must match for the car to start....

really, you're only (and best) option (without getting crazy) is to use an 04 ecu...IIRC the 04 will work fine, you just gotta switch a couple pins around....i think 4 in total....i cant remember which ones, but look at the pin diagrams....if you're still stuck tomorrow i'll look at em for you
Jeff54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:47 AM   #12
minifreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116914
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
Obsidian Black

Default

Oh, I don't work like a bee, more like a turtle

Today Loomin stopped by to help out and we made really good progress It would have taken me 5 times longer if it wasn't for his help

http://www.shareview.us/video/4083/R...ole-time-lapse
Memory card ran out of space so on I only managed to get part of the disassembling...
minifreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:50 AM   #13
iht
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196742
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5rs
Silver

Default

well If you want to test it. I've got an 04 STi ECU sitting around.

but I dunno if it will work with 05 harness probably not.
iht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:04 AM   #14
alcoolaid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 134949
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
'07 SWP STi
Instagram | arthurlam89

Default

^there's your answer! pretty sure it's 5 or 6 pins that need to be swapped. i read it somewhere.
alcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:07 AM   #15
alcoolaid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 134949
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
'07 SWP STi
Instagram | arthurlam89

Default

btw, must have been fun with the dash out eh?

reminds me back to this day last yr:

alcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:11 AM   #16
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minifreak View Post
Oh, I don't work like a bee, more like a turtle

Today Loomin stopped by to help out and we made really good progress It would have taken me 5 times longer if it wasn't for his help

http://www.shareview.us/video/4083/R...ole-time-lapse
Memory card ran out of space so on I only managed to get part of the disassembling...
thanks! sweet video by the way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iht View Post
well If you want to test it. I've got an 04 STi ECU sitting around.

but I dunno if it will work with 05 harness probably not.
sell it to charles!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcoolaid View Post
^there's your answer! pretty sure it's 5 or 6 pins that need to be swapped. i read it somewhere.
man i cant find it anywhere. can you see if you can find it?
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:43 AM   #17
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

screw it i pulled up both ecu pinouts and cross-referenced them. 5 pins are different. they just swapped them around to confuse people.
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:50 AM   #18
iht
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196742
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5rs
Silver

Default

No it's so some would be thief wouldn't come to a 05 STi and just simply plug in an 04 STi ecu to bypass the immob. So some people say.

as for the ECU. I got that for my own build, so I'll have to think long and hard about that one. Think it's an ecutek software, but gotta comfirm it. if not it would have been cobb.
iht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 03:01 AM   #19
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iht View Post
No it's so some would be thief wouldn't come to a 05 STi and just simply plug in an 04 STi ecu to bypass the immob. So some people say.
thats what i was getting at

Quote:
as for the ECU. I got that for my own build, so I'll have to think long and hard about that one. Think it's an ecutek software, but gotta comfirm it. if not it would have been cobb.
hmm well if its from RR, its almost certainly ecutek. that means only RR can touch it because its locked. which is good and bad because it will be cheaper for you to tune at RR because you already have an Ecutek licence but ****ty because ONLY RR can tune it which doesnt leave you any options if you want to fiddle with it yourself. If its from someone else on the forum its probably got nothing on it. maybe some opensource/openecu stage 1/2 map or something but if its "cobb" it would be accessport meaning its a married ECU and you are slightly screwed because you cant reflash it without the handheld and the guy with the handheld device is screwed because its married to a computer thats not his anymore lol.

pray for a blank ecu or opensource!
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 03:06 AM   #20
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

maybe charles could convince you to let him borrow it until his own 04 sti ecu comes in the mail so he can drive the car temporarily on behalf of charles...... pppppplease?
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 03:18 AM   #21
mcwc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196262
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
1999 RSTi, Silver
1990 240DL, Gold

Default

A quick search seems to say any 04 ECU for 2.5L turbo engines should work, it just needs to be tuned for the new engine.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...cu+differences


Quote:
Originally Posted by Loomin View Post
maybe charles could convince you to let him borrow it until his own 04 sti ecu comes in the mail so he can drive the car temporarily on behalf of charles...... pppppplease?
That ECU should have some sort of aftermarket engine management as the car that it come out of had a 20G and aftermarket injectors of an unknown size installed.
mcwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 03:58 AM   #22
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcwc View Post
A quick search seems to say any 04 ECU for 2.5L turbo engines should work, it just needs to be tuned for the new engine.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...cu+differences
yep we just covered that bit. actually a tune will not solve the issues. 5 pins on the ECU have been swapped to prevent easy changing of the ECU. i doubt a simple tune could correct wiring of:

Vehicle speed sensor
A/C switch
Ignition switch
Test mode connector and most of all,
the fuel pump controller.

directly swapping an 04 ECU into an 05 will certainly cause it not to start.
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 04:51 AM   #23
milkface
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143742
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver
Vehicle:
2004 STi wagon
2008 WRB Forester XT

Default

Yeh the 04 STi ECU would be the perfect solution for this.
I guess the thread I originally posted pretty much said it all.

I think there was a few for sale at RR in an old FS thread to try, and minifreak saw one on their site for 150....If I'm lucky, they'll still have one. Calling first thing in the AM!

That's so awesome for figuring the Pin-out Loomin!

If RR does not have anymore 04 ECU's.... there's always THIS sale that Loomin just found as a quick plug and play solution. bit more $ though.

Can't believe we missed this issue prior to swapping.
Just one of those things, DOH!

Thanks for chiming in peeps.
Will update to see how it all goes.

WTB: 04 STi ECU !
milkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:07 AM   #24
iht
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196742
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5rs
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iht View Post
well If you want to test it. I've got an 04 STi ECU sitting around.

but I dunno if it will work with 05 harness probably not.
which would mean yeah you can borrow it until you get your other one. though the tune is completely wrong for your car. hehe.

Quote:
hmm well if its from RR, its almost certainly ecutek. that means only RR can touch it because its locked. which is good and bad because it will be cheaper for you to tune at RR because you already have an Ecutek licence but ****ty because ONLY RR can tune it which doesnt leave you any options if you want to fiddle with it yourself. If its from someone else on the forum its probably got nothing on it. maybe some opensource/openecu stage 1/2 map or something but if its "cobb" it would be accessport meaning its a married ECU and you are slightly screwed because you cant reflash it without the handheld and the guy with the handheld device is screwed because its married to a computer thats not his anymore lol.
You and me both. If it's cobb I'm going to hate having to find that guy to get him to unmarry them LOL.
iht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:23 AM   #25
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iht View Post


You and me both. If it's cobb I'm going to hate having to find that guy to get him to unmarry them LOL.
you might be able to send the ecu to cobb to have it unmarried. alot easier than tracking down whoever has the handheld.
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
05 STI swap into 04 WRX Wagon. HELP! pismobeachrider25 Built Motor Discussion 6 04-12-2010 09:58 AM
HELP 06-05 STI swap Springs zapjacks Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 10-19-2009 04:33 PM
05 sti swap got stuck at front hubs! HELP! PICS! snowcrzy Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 11 10-10-2006 05:24 PM
Help! My 05 STi has no bump stops Jitenshakun Brakes, Steering & Suspension 6 01-28-2006 02:33 PM
Lil help please 05 STI Hevvyn Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 2 08-08-2005 08:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.