Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 04:30 AM   #1
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default noob question anyone had a success on raising 2.5i rev limit openecu ?

i'm still new to this ecu tuning and need some smart guys to give me some hint here.

Basically i have two problems now. First, I have a problem on adding additional blank on open loop maps. Whenever that i add a blank and set the rev to 6700 for example, the first blank which is 2800 the mixture will go crazy so, the 2800 mixture (g/rev) value wont stay even i tried to change it back again the newly added blank rev value will go back to 0 again.

So, i decided to change the whole rev row min value from 2800 to 3200 (i even know what im doing lol) and max 6700 still got fuel cut on 6300rpm. Yes, i did change the rev limit section ,but i didn't do anything on the throttler map should i do that too ?

Wayne
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

What on earth are you talking about with adding blanks? What are blanks?

If you want to change the rev limit on the DBW cars you have to change both the fuel cut rev limit (it will say something like "on above" and "off below"), and the DBW throttle rev limit. If you look on the requested torque DBW table you'll see that at the highest RPM in the table the requested torque drops dramatically, this means that when you hit this RPM, even though the rev limit fuel cut hasn't kicked in, the ECU basically closes the throttle plate on you, sort of a "soft" rev limiter. You need to change the last two RPM rows to whatever you want your new rev limiter to be.

Here's my map (bottom) versus the stock map (top), look closely at the RPM axis on the DBW table
http://www.thesuicidaleggroll.com/hosting/rev-limit.png


This just moves the rev limiter up, you'll also need to scale your fueling and timing maps up to the higher RPM to tune it properly.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 01:22 PM   #3
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default


this is where i go to "add a blank" lol on RPM AXIS




i can't change the value whenever i do that the 6700 value will go back to 0 again

Last edited by wolfwayne; 09-12-2010 at 09:41 PM.
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 01:26 PM   #4
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Unless the 08 2.5i ECU is DRAMATICALLY different than ALL of the other Subaru ECUs out there, you can't do that. The table is a fixed size, you can't make it larger. You can change the RPM/load axes, but the table has to remain the same size. If you were to make the table larger, it would use more memory and overlap into whatever the next table is.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 03:15 AM   #5
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default


these are the places that i changed today plus 2 fuel maps still had no success : (
today i ran romraider while i'm test drive. my max rev is 6100RPM rather than 6300RPM ?

i'm getting very frustrated now
Thank for the help eggroll !

Last edited by wolfwayne; 09-12-2010 at 09:42 PM.
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:13 PM   #6
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Odd
It appears that your car doesn't have the same DBW cutoff at high RPM like mine does either.
Have you checked all of your requested torque tables and target throttle plate position tables?

Could you upload your ROM?
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

http://www.3cshoppingtown.com/sample...ont02knock.hex

please have a look for me thanks eggroll !
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 03:03 PM   #8
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Hm, well I don't see anything out of the ordinary there. On most of the other DBW cars there are just two places you have to adjust to move the rev limiter up, the rev limiter itself and the DBW table. Yours appears to be fine.

I did notice you still have a speed limiter at 130 mph, but I assume that's not where you're hitting this wall? You should be able to go all the way to 6600 RPM, this isn't an auto is it?

There could be another table that hasn't been defined yet that's still holding you back at 6100. Where is the stock limiter?
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 03:20 PM   #9
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

stock one is 6300, yeah i couldn't find the table holding the rpm back at 6100 .... if you can find anything please let me know : )
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 03:22 PM   #10
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

do we have to do anything on the closed loop ? one thing i forgot to let you know. i closed all the front 02 and it seems not working no activity at all when i do log. Will it be something to do with the rpm ?
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:00 PM   #11
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

bump.
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 11:46 PM   #12
jackolafedon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 232089
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza 2.5i
Crystal gray metallic

Default

The ecu will hold the last value defined in a table if the input goes past the scale on the table. (example at 1900 rpm at full throttle you hit over 2 g/rev way higher then your load scale goes on you open loop fueling map) This means that what your editing on your open loop table has nothing to do with your fuel cut value, it only affects the particular rpm/load targeted afr. I'm currently running a 6750 rev limit with a 6400 rpm throttle limit, both defined in different tables. If you read through your defined tables carefully your should be able to figure it out.
jackolafedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:53 PM   #13
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

hey thanks for the tip ! so, that means i have to log my car engine load and to see how high the load can go then re-define the open loop engine load row into different increment, max value so, it match with my max load ?

would you mind to send me the map that you run right now ?
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:47 PM   #14
wolfwayne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167012
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5 SPT
Dark Grey

Default

bump for a solution.
wolfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:27 AM   #15
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

bump bump
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:55 PM   #16
crash#2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 112128
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: atl ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
sedona red pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwayne View Post
i'm still new to this ecu tuning and need some smart guys to give me some hint here.

Basically i have two problems now. First, I have a problem on adding additional blank on open loop maps. Whenever that i add a blank and set the rev to 6700 for example, the first blank which is 2800 the mixture will go crazy so, the 2800 mixture (g/rev) value wont stay even i tried to change it back again the newly added blank rev value will go back to 0 again.

So, i decided to change the whole rev row min value from 2800 to 3200 (i even know what im doing lol) and max 6700 still got fuel cut on 6300rpm. Yes, i did change the rev limit section ,but i didn't do anything on the throttler map should i do that too ?

Wayne
first i would like for you to look at a dyno graph for your motor if you can. if the horsepower curve is falling before redline, raising your rev limit will not net you any gains without headwork/cams. save your motor. subarus with factory internals don't last very long past the factory fuel cut anyway.
crash#2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOOB Questions - Putting a WRX motor into 2008 2.5i Sportshift Doug&Julie Subaru Conversions 6 03-10-2010 01:25 PM
questions about my header install on my 2.5i 2.5EYE Normally Aspirated Powertrain 4 08-11-2009 09:34 AM
Would like your opinions on Outback 2.5i Limited longislander1 General Community 5 01-19-2007 09:39 AM
MSD 2 step rev limiter thermite Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 6 04-22-2002 04:07 PM
Anyone had any success putting 5.25 mids in the door? AllWheelsDriven Car Audio, Video & Security 7 12-07-2000 11:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.