Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
OMGHi2U OT computer peeps: Vista won't boot. halp?

I haven't seen this before..

I tried to start up my PC a minute ago, but after the initial screen comes up with the motherboard logo/info etc. (P5ND), the screen goes black, and nothing else happens. The monitor is still on and working (if take out the cable from the vid card it says "vga no signal.") Also, i don't hear the boot-up sound, and ctrl+alt+del hard resets, so it doesn't seem to be a display problem, it seems like Vista isn't booting at all. It doesn't even get to the screen that gives you the option to boot in safe-mode. I've tried going into the bios and resetting everything to default, but there was no change. Soooo what's dead?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:21 PM   #2
LTApaulie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167649
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Hard drive or motherboard. See if you can get the hard drive to work in another computer or carrier. Extract your data if it does.
LTApaulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:28 PM   #3
raj100
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8645
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: IDP
Default

Sounds like the mother board.

Try booting to a CD, see if that works.
raj100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:32 PM   #4
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: sometimes I poop too much
Vehicle:
then I get tired

Default

See if it boots to yore Windows setup CD.
markman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:01 PM   #5
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

After much rummaging, I just found my Vista CD. I'm trying that now..
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:21 PM   #6
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

The CD boot was semi-successful. I was able to get into the menus and try a system restore from a previous point. It said it was successful, but when it auto-restarted, I got the same thing. i noticed that the last restore point it mentioned was listed as "windows update" (the others were "scheduled restore point") and that it was listed as being made today. Could that be the reason for the flub? maybe it tried to auto-update and it borked itself? Also, am I right to assume that getting this far and successfully booting/navigating a CD means the mobo is fine?
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:26 PM   #7
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

Giving up and trying a full wipe/reinstall. I have most of my stuff backed up amyway
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:28 PM   #8
raj100
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8645
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: IDP
Default

yeah, sounds like the MBR is gone

Well a reinstall should fix it.
raj100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:29 PM   #9
LTApaulie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167649
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerkins31 View Post
Giving up and trying a full wipe/reinstall. I have most of my stuff backed up amyway
Before you do go in with a Linux live CD of some sort and get the rest of your stuff!
LTApaulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:49 PM   #10
perret318
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 23510
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The Big Easy
Vehicle:
WHO DAT!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTApaulie View Post
Before you do go in with a Linux live CD of some sort and get the rest of your stuff!
This. Try ubuntu or knoppix.
perret318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:27 PM   #11
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

Never thought of that.. Oh well, I did the re-install and all is well. In fact Vista's little save-all-your-old-crap-in-a-folder trip worked like a charm, and I didn't lose anything. I just have a lot of re-installing to do. Thanks fer the inputs :wavingkitty:
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:36 AM   #12
REX8
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 24038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Godspeed Cale...
Default

Hands up! This is a hijack!

Harro OT computer people!

Problem on my Gateway netbook...

On startup, I get kicked into the boot screen. No matter how I boot (safe, last good settings, as normal, etc.), it tries to boot, then returns to the boost screen.

Wash, rinse, repeat.

It's a netbook, originally running Vista, now running XP for the last year or so.

Any ideas?
REX8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:41 AM   #13
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Officer Go F*** Yourself just
Vehicle:
thre atened to kill
me!

Default

It is doing you a favor.
aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:54 AM   #14
perret318
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 23510
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The Big Easy
Vehicle:
WHO DAT!

Default

Please choose one or more of the following:

1. Boot from XP CD, attempt restore.

2. Clean wipe, fresh install

3. Boot to Ubuntu or Knoppix Live CD and attempt to recover data

4. Clean wipe, install Linux, feel cool.

5. Take out a second mortgage and buy a Mac, wear trendy glasses, feel self-important.

6. Screw it all, use an abacus.
perret318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:56 AM   #15
REX8
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 24038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Godspeed Cale...
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perret318 View Post
Please choose one or more of the following:

1. Boot from XP CD, attempt restore.

2. Clean wipe, fresh install

3. Boot to Ubuntu or Knoppix Live CD and attempt to recover data

4. Install Linux, feel cool.

5. Take out a second mortgage and buy a Mac, wear trendy glasses, be hip.

6. Screw it all, use an abacus.
No CD (netbook), I have the OS on an external HD, I guess I'll try to boot from there when I get home. Maybe I can load a recovery program on the HD as well and try that first.
REX8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:57 AM   #16
REX8
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 24038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Godspeed Cale...
Default

Side-note:

What's going to be reliable in the 11.5 screen size range?
REX8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:59 AM   #17
aubsxc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 91476
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Columbia, SC
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
Black

Default

Doesn't the Vista CD provide you an option to repair the Master Boot Record? It has been a long time and I don't remember. Your hardware is probably fine, and from your description it sounds like your MBR is corrupted (this has nothing to do with your Windows Restore Points). Do a search for restoring/fixing the MBR and look for free tools that will allow you to do this.
aubsxc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:00 AM   #18
REX8
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 24038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Godspeed Cale...
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aubsxc View Post
Doesn't the Vista CD provide you an option to repair the Master Boot Record? It has been a long time and I don't remember. Your hardware is probably fine, and from your description it sounds like your MBR is corrupted (this has nothing to do with your Windows Restore Points). Do a search for restoring/fixing the MBR and look for free tools that will allow you to do this.
No CD, it's a netbook. Came with pre-loaded software. Thank you, will do!
REX8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT Computer peeps: Why won't Vista recognize my camcorder? Gerkins31 Off-Topic 6 02-13-2010 11:27 PM
OT computer peeps: Why aren't my front audio jacks working? Gerkins31 Off-Topic 15 01-12-2010 06:53 PM
OT Computer Guru's..... Halp! stud100spray Off-Topic 13 11-24-2008 10:17 PM
OT computer experts, HALP! VpointVick Off-Topic 32 04-03-2008 05:28 PM
OT Computer Gurus: using an xp external hard drive with vista... hotshot172 Off-Topic 12 08-13-2007 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.