Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 04:59 PM   #1
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default crazy low idle... but drives fine???question for the masters

okay so a little background first. i have a 2005 2.5 RS with the only mod to the engine is a CAI. I took off the negative to my battery yesterday to reset my ECU. Immediately when i turned my car back on, it would idle at about 350 but would drive fine. At every other stop light it seems, the car dies and i have to re start it. i have heard somethings about the ecu having to relearn everything. but its been a day and a half and im still idling at around 350. if it is the case that i have to let the ecu relearn everything, how long is this gonna last? and has anybody else ran into the same problem? thanks in advance guys
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:08 PM   #2
Mr_Hox
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118789
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
I just went from
six to midnight...

Default

Any CEL displayed?

Check/clean the MAF and see if that helps.
Mr_Hox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:14 PM   #3
Lord Stinky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 182700
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: everett, wa
Vehicle:
2002 bugeye
SRP

Default

I was having rough idle issues, they went away when I cleaned the Idle Air Control Valve.

IBsearchn00b
Lord Stinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:31 PM   #4
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

yeah the car was working perfectly fine then when i took the negative off this crap happened. i cleaned the maf....

@lord stinky... was this after a reset or just in general.

what messes with me is that one the car was perfectly fine till i did that and secondly that it is taking forever for the car to re learn
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:32 PM   #5
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

and the only cel that is popping up is the low idle one
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:55 PM   #6
Zefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105104
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1979 BRAT / 01 RSTI
99 2.5TS (DEAD) / 87 GL

Default

why did you reset the ECU in the first place? Was there a code? How can you tell the car was idling at 350rpm? the tach on the dash doesn't read that low. (starts at 500rpm)
Zefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:59 PM   #7
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

@ Zefy......i have a scanguage which reads the tach digitally
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:01 PM   #8
flightwatch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 231058
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Vehicle:
2013 Genesis Coupe
2.0T

Default

What's the actual DTC?
flightwatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:05 PM   #9
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

not sure what your asking flight watch
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:13 PM   #10
shibby2821
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 229778
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: skokie, IL
Vehicle:
04 WRX
WR blue

Default

its the intake lol. needs to be tuned, ur either running to lean or rich. the MAF is used to reading the stock airbox
shibby2821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:20 PM   #11
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

it wasnt tuned before. i was running stock flash. does anyone really know if it will work it self out or anything i can do to help it learn? leave it running? something?
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:41 PM   #12
SPACEMAN5000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 221689
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia
Vehicle:
03 JBP Fozzzzzy
05 RS OD! WARHAWK GREEN

Default

i have the same problem on the same car running a hybrid intake...i just ordered an injen cai but i also have an accessport with preloaded maps for the cai so im hoping itll get fixed when i get the right intake on. my advice.....get a tune
SPACEMAN5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:53 PM   #13
GrundleJuice
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 165749
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: stupid Florida
Vehicle:
2007 No YELLING
on the bus!

Default

anytime you reset the ECU, you should let the car idle for 10 min at least before you touch the gas pedal or turn on the A/C (or put it in gear if its an auto). otherwise the ECU will take much longer to relearn the idle settings, like days-weeks of driving. Why this is, I do not know. Some kind of idle learn procedure after a reset i guess. Others may have more info on the "why this is necessary".

Even with a completely stock intake, idle problems can occur if this procedure isn't followed. Usually they are not as severe, though.
GrundleJuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:14 PM   #14
shibby2821
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 229778
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: skokie, IL
Vehicle:
04 WRX
WR blue

Default

dont matter if its stock map bro, ur gettin colder temps in the intake. i seen a lot of posts like this and most of them cuz its not tuned. even on the stickys they say so get in tuned. its ur call on the tune. my idles messed up too since i moved from a sri to cai, ima wait a lil longer till i get tuned. no $$$ in my pockets
shibby2821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:51 PM   #15
flightwatch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 231058
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Vehicle:
2013 Genesis Coupe
2.0T

Default

I have ran intakes on almost every car than I have ever owned, and I didn't have to tune for them. DTC stands for diagnostic trouble code, and it starts with a P (i.e: P0037, P0420.) What raceface said is true. After an ecu reset, my car will take up to 3 days to relearn a stable and proper idle.
flightwatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:03 AM   #16
zavier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141189
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philadelphia
Vehicle:
2007 2.5i (NBP)
2014 BRZ (DGM)

Default

Yea my car has this problem and it seems 10min is no longer the time it takes to relearn, for 3yrs it was 10min and go and it would be fine, now it takes almost 20-30min (I think something needs to be cleaned) but the code I get for low idle air sensor is P0506...I wonder if that is what he gets...

Mine throws a temp code for a bit and then eventually throws the CEL after a few miles
zavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:28 PM   #17
BKRush
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169125
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Black on Black

Default

zavier_____ yeah that's exactly what it pulls up as P0506... Cleaned the maf and still having the trouble.. I'm curious what you did, did you just let it idle for that long? 20-30 minutes for it to re learn?
BKRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need an 05 sti+ wiring diagram for the Master Controls snowcrzy Electrical & Lighting 1 03-28-2007 01:13 AM
Who is pumped for The Masters?? rickeyj23 Off-Topic 27 04-07-2004 10:26 PM
twin BOV question for the masters gooter80 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 07-29-2003 06:06 AM
suspension question for the master techs: bushing differences between FWD/AWD? RaceCarRiot Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 05-14-2002 10:08 AM
Newbie questions for the Subaru masters...:D RSarte Newbies & FAQs 10 04-02-2001 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.