Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2002, 05:44 PM   #1
tydon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12224
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
2000 RS;Spec Miata
Del Sol Si

Default broken voltage clamp = no prob.

heres the deal. I have a ludespeed turbo kit on a my 2000 rs. the voltage clamp was malfunctioning, making it impossible to drive my car. BTW, it was only when it the air temp was hot that the VC wouldnt work. anyway, i unhooked the VC. car ran fine, but i had to stay out of boost. one time it boosted, and the ecu immediately cut power.

here is the curious part. iver been waiting to get the VC covered under warranty, and i accidentally boosted again. but wait, there was no power cut. the bottom line is, with no voltage clamp, my car still runs fine up to 5psi of boost. i have no idea how or why this is, but it has been running great for a couple of days since i realized this.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
tydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-19-2002, 06:25 PM   #2
ac_gohan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1903
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bay Area, I-Speed Tech
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS-T coupe
T3/04 Link'd 2 10 PSI

Default

Its because of the MAP sensor. It measures the manifold air pressure. If it is cutting off at 5 psi then it is working perfetly. See when you are running NA and you redline it to 6200 you get a fuel cut. The voltage is IIRC 4.1V at fuel cut. But when you turbo it, the manifold pressure reaches the maximum for the MAP sensor alot earlier because you are boosting. As long as you run the car under vacumn you should be fine. Get another voltage clamp if you want to boost.

Andy
ac_gohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 07:35 PM   #3
kaos200
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ac_gohan
Its because of the MAP sensor. It measures the manifold air pressure. If it is cutting off at 5 psi then it is working perfetly. See when you are running NA and you redline it to 6200 you get a fuel cut. The voltage is IIRC 4.1V at fuel cut. But when you turbo it, the manifold pressure reaches the maximum for the MAP sensor alot earlier because you are boosting. As long as you run the car under vacumn you should be fine. Get another voltage clamp if you want to boost.

Andy
read his post, he said he boosted up to 5psi, no VC, and it ran fine.
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 08:12 PM   #4
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

I've heard of several flukes like this before, personally I attribute them to a sensor that doesn't like reading beyond certain ranges or is scaled incorrectly. I would bet that it'd cut if you spiked around 7psi or something. If not... well, be happy with your bastard child of an ECU.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 01:50 PM   #5
cRayZee
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6271
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RSTi
2007 Legacy Spec B

Default

yea, I have a friend whose turbo RS is like this too. Don't understand why
cRayZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
voltage clamp spgavin Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 10-04-2001 12:51 AM
Proper voltage clamp? SubaFastR Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 3 09-02-2001 04:40 PM
Check valve vs voltage clamp? wcbjr Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 1 08-28-2001 01:54 PM
voltage clamp, or check valve??? LVSUBARU Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 15 08-24-2001 10:50 PM
Voltage clamp for MAP fix? NOT! JC SPORTS Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 4 04-27-2001 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.