Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2010, 10:44 AM   #1
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default Im having computer troubles...

Out of the blue yesterday my desktop computer started to have some issues. It wont start up windows. When you turn it on, it loads up to the windows logo then restarts, and keeps doing that. Cannot start in safe mode, it restarts when loading also. My roomate updated something to do with java before the problems started, but I dont know if that could cause this.


I have the Vista disc, and when I put it in it loads from the cd and asks me if I want to do a restore. I have restored it and when Im using the internet I cannot download any torrents it gives me an error "couldnt load main class"... (I use Azureus for my dl's) I thnk maybe my copy is corrupt or something, so I try to download a new version of the program to install, when I try to open the file it gives me the same error.


I do a virus scan (spybot & avg) and run through the system not finding really any issues. I restart when its done and the process starts all over again. Constantly restarting unless I boot from cd, run the restore and can load windows again.... frusterating. I have run the restore 4 times now and its not fixing the problem.

Anyone able to lend any advice?



edit- something else I just found, was if I search in google when I click the link it takes me to some debt couselors, or discount furniture, etc... something is inside my compter stealin my interwebz
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by rs420; 08-19-2010 at 10:54 AM.
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:07 AM   #2
slowguy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4326
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2010 turdle

Default

i just want you to know.

i clicked this thread.

in hopes of being your saviour

but alas

all i can tell you is.. too much porn.
slowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:15 AM   #3
coolbass
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 250287
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: N. Burnaby
Vehicle:
2010 WRX
White

Default

Does your computer do anything before it reboots? Like, do you see an error message or blue screen? Or does it just look like it dies or flickers suddenly then quickly reboots again?
coolbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:33 AM   #4
thesniperz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235744
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC
Vehicle:
07 2.5i Sedan Ltd
Newport Blue

Default

download, install and run this:
Malwarebytes

once done scanning, if it finds any infections/threats remove them.

im pretty sure its a trojan or something in your computer.

- JC
thesniperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:34 AM   #5
alloutSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241552
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: El Paso TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI Hatch
Black yo!

Default

you can also try and run a harddrive sector test....
alloutSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:37 AM   #6
09OBP
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 223335
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: VIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs420 View Post
edit- something else I just found, was if I search in google when I click the link it takes me to some debt couselors, or discount furniture, etc... something is inside my compter stealin my interwebz
I had this issue before, the fix for me was to download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, and then run a scan. Then delete a process that was just random numbers or something. ie. 2947819421.exe. Do that stuff in safe mode, then you have to find the file location of that .exe and delete that manually after deleting through Malwarebytes. Then boot up normally, and it SHOULD be fixed.
09OBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:42 AM   #7
mostasteless
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52631
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

That has happened a couple times on our XP machines here at work. The trick that seems to work most of the time is fixing the MBR and boot sector. The process may be slightly different in Vista but you will want to access recovery console, get to the command prompt and use the fixmbr and fixboot commands.
mostasteless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:09 PM   #8
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowguy View Post
i just want you to know.

i clicked this thread.

in hopes of being your saviour

but alas

all i can tell you is.. too much porn.
It is entirely possible, I am pretty good about making sure any torrents I DL have good comments and such (not all pron)...
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbass View Post
Does your computer do anything before it reboots? Like, do you see an error message or blue screen? Or does it just look like it dies or flickers suddenly then quickly reboots again?
Just comes up with the mouse cursor for a second then reboots. No warnings no flashing lights with buzzers, just reboots...
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesniperz View Post
download, install and run this:
Malwarebytes

once done scanning, if it finds any infections/threats remove them.

im pretty sure its a trojan or something in your computer.

- JC
Ill see if I can download the malware when I get home... Im not sure it will let me. Anything I have tried to download gives me an error when I try to open it "couldnt load main class" so Im not sure I can download and install it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alloutSTI View Post
you can also try and run a harddrive sector test....
How do you do this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 09OBP View Post
I had this issue before, the fix for me was to download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, and then run a scan. Then delete a process that was just random numbers or something. ie. 2947819421.exe. Do that stuff in safe mode, then you have to find the file location of that .exe and delete that manually after deleting through Malwarebytes. Then boot up normally, and it SHOULD be fixed.
I also dont know if I can get to safe mode, I have tried and unless I boot from cd and do the recovery it just keeps restarting. I havent tried the recovery and boot straight to safe mode. Ill try that when I get home
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:22 PM   #9
notjustforshow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143277
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
05 STI PPP OBP
1098, Z1000

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mostasteless View Post
That has happened a couple times on our XP machines here at work. The trick that seems to work most of the time is fixing the MBR and boot sector. The process may be slightly different in Vista but you will want to access recovery console, get to the command prompt and use the fixmbr and fixboot commands.
This.


But considering where you are right now, why not save what you can then do a fresh install ?
notjustforshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:42 PM   #10
Linkseal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 102329
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Canucks
Vehicle:
05 AW Piggy Gone
11 SP TOM'S IS-F

Default

1) If you can be on safemode w/ Network I can RDA to fix it
2) If you have 2nd computer at home and your computer can open USB files then it can be fixed
3) If too much work for you, try system restore to last week or fresh install after backing up your files.
Linkseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:46 PM   #11
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default

Can I do a fresh install and not lose my personal data? (downloads, pics, movies, etc...)?
like install without format? or is it pointless and I should just burn what I can and reformat?

I can boot with cd and run in windows, surf the net, etc.... so I think I can boot to safemode with network connection..
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 01:22 PM   #12
Linkseal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 102329
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Canucks
Vehicle:
05 AW Piggy Gone
11 SP TOM'S IS-F

Default

^PM sent
Linkseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 01:42 PM   #13
codem
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 178560
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2000 GC8

Default

Your hard drive (OS) is corrupted. If you have a legit windows, the one you buy from the store, not the restore version that comes free with the computer. You can reinstall windows over top of your previous installation without formatting or losing your files. Your program files would require installation, but this is a quick fix.

However, it is better and more time effective to copy all your important files to another partition or another external drive. Format, clean install and start again. When you format, set your C drive partition for 80 GB for your windows and program files. Then your other partition for data.

Make sure you have all the drivers you need before you install, such as sound, video, wireless and etc.

Good luck and happy camping.
codem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 02:27 PM   #14
Jeff54
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129503
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: reppin fort langleeey
Vehicle:
2002 It's resting
6 > 4?

Default

upgrade to windows 7...woot
Jeff54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:39 PM   #15
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default

probably should format if I upgrade to windows 7 eh...?
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:44 PM   #16
FIDS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 185128
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: PoCo, BC
Vehicle:
2005 Stage 2 STI
Aspen White

Default

Don't load VISTA! It is one crappy OS. Go for Windows 7 if you do upgrade.
FIDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:46 PM   #17
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default

I have vista, I would be going up to windows 7.

Come on now Jim, u know I have vista
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 04:41 PM   #18
thesniperz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235744
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC
Vehicle:
07 2.5i Sedan Ltd
Newport Blue

Default

+123133211 for upgrading to Windows 7!

you can do a direct upgrade if you are going from:

Windows Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Home Premium
Windows Vista Business to Windows 7 Professional
Windows Vista Ultimate to Windows 7 Ultimate


If not, then you'd have to do a fresh install..

good luck!
-JC
thesniperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:12 PM   #19
codem
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 178560
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2000 GC8

Default

Roll back to Windows XP SP3 =)
codem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:19 PM   #20
Horkus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 112667
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
WRB

Default

Format c:\
Horkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:39 PM   #21
rs420
surf ninja
Moderator
 
Member#: 157784
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: victoria baby
Vehicle:
02 swapped bugeye
anthricite

Default

Im not that dumb I just want the least ammount of work to get it back up and running good.
rs420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:44 PM   #22
Linkseal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 102329
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Canucks
Vehicle:
05 AW Piggy Gone
11 SP TOM'S IS-F

Default

I am using Vista...so do I need to format c: /all ?
Linkseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:07 PM   #23
notjustforshow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143277
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
05 STI PPP OBP
1098, Z1000

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs420 View Post
Im not that dumb I just want the least ammount of work to get it back up and running good.
Format and fresh install of anything will get you up and running within 2hrs.

The problem with trying to repair or rebuild a windows installation is that it will take you 6 hrs of hunting for the solution unless you have friends in IT or know what to look for.

Also the benefit is you get to start fresh with a non-bloated registry etc. etc.

A very long time ago when I did A+ they always suggested re installation vs. troubleshooting lol
notjustforshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:16 PM   #24
Linkseal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 102329
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Canucks
Vehicle:
05 AW Piggy Gone
11 SP TOM'S IS-F

Default

For normal virus removal and system clean up it takes 2~3 hours.

For system foirmat reinstallation it takes less than 2 hours.
Plus, for files/docs/pics backup from old system and reinstall programs/drivers on fresh system take 2+ hours.

So user needs to make own judgement at this point.
But the rule is, Not everything can be fixed (Virus/system corruption), but eventually it will be fixed. (New system)
Linkseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:23 PM   #25
notjustforshow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143277
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
05 STI PPP OBP
1098, Z1000

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkseal View Post
For normal virus removal and system clean up it takes 2~3 hours.

For system foirmat reinstallation it takes less than 2 hours.
Plus, for files/docs/pics backup from old system and reinstall programs/drivers on fresh system take 2+ hours.

So user needs to make own judgement at this point.
But the rule is, Not everything can be fixed (Virus/system corruption), but eventually it will be fixed. (New system)
Yah exactly, it depends, but for the most part a reinstall is better if you don't know what you are looking for.

When I did IT, my favorite repair was doing MBR problems, it's like 30 seconds to solve but it would take someone who knew nothing at least a day to learn lol. If I had to backup I just load up my 16gb flash drive. Back then that was a LOT of space haha.
notjustforshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IM having boost trouble on my 04 wrx 2.0 any help??? courtbud04wrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 09-03-2008 02:52 PM
IM having boost trouble on my 04 wrx 2.0 any help??? courtbud04wrx Newbies & FAQs 7 09-02-2008 01:30 PM
Calling OT computer builders... having some trouble sportz135 Off-Topic 15 09-18-2005 08:12 PM
Having computer trouble... Tkacik Off-Topic 12 07-18-2005 06:19 PM
Help!! I'm Having Computer Troubles!! Rallycarperson Off-Topic 9 10-02-2004 09:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.