Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 29, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2015, 12:56 PM   #1
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default AEM infinity on an EJ25?

Hello, I have an infinity from my last vehicle and I was wondering if anyone has had success running an infinity on a STi? I'm sure most people use an AP but I am just curious if this has been a successful venture for anyone. I tried googling it but I only saw an infinity used on a buggy with an EJ and it didn't sound like it was running. I would like to know mostly If it retains canbus and that nothing is lost using it. Thanks for any input in advance.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-01-2015, 01:05 PM   #2
Crystal_Imprezav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84105
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: I'm a Newbie
Vehicle:
2005 Super Slow STi
CGM

Default

Yes, but the firmware is not out yet.

29psi:



Crystal_Imprezav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:08 PM   #3
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default

What year are you running it on? Is it true the infinity can't tune the variable valve timing? Did you lose your dash or hvac or do those not apply to your car?
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:25 PM   #4
Crystal_Imprezav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84105
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: I'm a Newbie
Vehicle:
2005 Super Slow STi
CGM

Default

2005 STi.

No not true, it tunes AVCS just fine

Dash or HVAC? I take it you have a newer model, if so, yes you can program it to support dual avcs. Dash and HVAC is typically controlled by the body integrated unit but it has plenty if CAN support so im sure you could program it if you know what your doing. Currently the firmware is only setup for 04-06 STi's but it has all the features to control the newer stuff. You would need a inf-8 big box unit though to have enough input/outputs for the newer models.
Crystal_Imprezav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:26 PM   #5
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default

I have an infinity 8 its coming off my old scion. I haven't picked my STi up yet but it comes in on the 9th and baring something catastrophic I should get it that weekend.
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 06:00 PM   #6
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default

I appreciate the feedback BTW thanks a ton.
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 07:35 PM   #7
stretchedk7
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 170602
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: j-ville fl
Vehicle:
06 Wrx RWD Auto
76MM-AEM-2200's

Default

Nice Jeff. Maybe they will release it for the wrx/sti soon.
stretchedk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 06:01 AM   #8
...CHUCKLES...
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149674
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: at your moms
Vehicle:
2006 LimitLess STI
SGM

Default

It will be released soon I get my first release in a few weeks/month or 2...

FYI they have a lot of neat new stuff coming out as well as newly updated equipment. Very, very cool stuff coming soon.

I will also have a complete write up on install as well as walk through with some pretty cool add on's
...CHUCKLES... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:06 PM   #9
Crystal_Imprezav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84105
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: I'm a Newbie
Vehicle:
2005 Super Slow STi
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stretchedk7 View Post
Nice Jeff. Maybe they will release it for the wrx/sti soon.
The firmware for the STi's should be released to the public before the end of 2015 from what they are telling me. So far we have ran the infinity-6 and -8 on my stockish stage2 STi and the infinity-6 on the racecar with good success. They wont be doing a plug and play setup so you will need to get a custom harness made or buy one from Boomslang
Crystal_Imprezav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:07 PM   #10
stretchedk7
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 170602
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: j-ville fl
Vehicle:
06 Wrx RWD Auto
76MM-AEM-2200's

Default

How do you guys like it so far as the timing trigger/ misfire stuff? Is it more stable than the old ecu?
stretchedk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 02:12 PM   #11
AtomicX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 363197
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Peabody Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Base
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

I'm running an AEM Infinity 6 on my Twin Turbo 300zx and love the ECU. It gives you so many options and lots of functionality. I plan on doing one with my WRX.
AtomicX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 03:04 PM   #12
Zee Biker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166005
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northern 'Burbs
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 92x
Beaten Silver

Default

I know Turn In Concepts had a rallycross car just get finished up a few weeks ago with the Infinity system in it. Give them a call?
Zee Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 03:39 PM   #13
Crystal_Imprezav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84105
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: I'm a Newbie
Vehicle:
2005 Super Slow STi
CGM

Default

As far as I know, I am the only one with a functioning infinity on the wrx/sti platform unless they have changed the cam/crank sensors to a universal type or ez36 platform.

So far for me, it has been better all around compared to the older stuff but I have only just started playing with it and I have to return the tester board back to them soon. The software is very different from AEMTuner so that takes the most learning.
Crystal_Imprezav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 07:39 PM   #14
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default

I was the test bed for the scion tc gen 1 I never got it working on it.
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 07:51 PM   #15
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

Any reason why you need it? Save some money since Cobb Speed Density is good for 1000whp on the stock ECU (if not more)
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 05:44 PM   #16
stretchedk7
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 170602
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: j-ville fl
Vehicle:
06 Wrx RWD Auto
76MM-AEM-2200's

Default

Thanks for the info jeff.
stretchedk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 05:57 AM   #17
syldrin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317652
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2016 STI
White

Default

I already own an infinity I would be saving money using it since I'd have to buy an AP.
syldrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 10:37 AM   #18
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

You can sell it for the price of an AP if not more
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 12:26 PM   #19
cnstman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9548
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
10.154 @139 @ 7,000'DA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1029 View Post
Any reason why you need it? Save some money since Cobb Speed Density is good for 1000whp on the stock ECU (if not more)
proper motorsports features like launch control (building boost and not launching at 7,500 rpm), anti-lag, traction control?

Wiring in additional sensors to the ecu so it can adjust the tune based on these. My Vi-PEC montors and logs egt's, fuel pressure, ethanol %, oil pressure, pre and post IC temp, and can adjust the tune base on all factors. I also has nice fail safe features if any parameter gets out of line. I am sure the Infinity will do the same.

Canbus features, like streaming data to a digital dash.

Just because it "works" does not mean its the best option.

Last edited by cnstman; 12-04-2015 at 12:49 PM.
cnstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 12:38 PM   #20
SW00P_G
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5591
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
EJ257 Gt35r

Default

2 words, engine protection. Too bad AEM dropped out of the WRX / STI scene.

Cobb AP with SD is much cheaper and easier though, good enough for most folks.
SW00P_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 02:39 PM   #21
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cnstman View Post
proper motorsports features like launch control (building boost and not launching at 7,500 rpm), anti-lag, traction control?

Wiring in additional sensors to the ecu so it can adjust the tune based on these. My Vi-PEC montors and logs egt's, fuel pressure, ethanol %, oil pressure, pre and post IC temp, and can adjust the tune base on all factors. I also has nice fail safe features if any parameter gets out of line. I am sure the Infinity will do the same.

Canbus features, like streaming data to a digital dash.

Just because it "works" does not mean its the best option.
Duly noted

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW00P_G View Post
2 words, engine protection. Too bad AEM dropped out of the WRX / STI scene.

Cobb AP with SD is much cheaper and easier though, good enough for most folks.
Good enough for Junior, good enough for me
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 12:01 PM   #22
SW00P_G
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5591
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
EJ257 Gt35r

Default

Heck yeah, I'll sell opensource and Cobb all day myself. I can do a tune in less than 25% of the time for almost the same cost with a reflash.

Those standalones are very time consuming, and the customer needs to have an understanding as well.
SW00P_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.