Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 09:25 PM   #1751
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwell Power View Post
then you have to adjust the gain at low rpm.
don't think you can do that, can only set it so it would kick in at 1000 rpm idle is at 930
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:36 AM   #1752
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Can't you set something like a Service Interval? The problem with many Closed Loop systems is that @ Idle the gas speed is low and the CL Intergral might have changed Fuel but hasn't measured the change back through the O2 sensor when it goes through the next change.

On my ECU I have 3D mapping over Service Intervals for the Closed Loop feedback. I make a large Inj. ms change manually and check from the LOG how many ms. it takes for the O2 to measure that change. This is the time I used for Service Intervals at IDLE. As higher the revs go the lower Service Interval time can be due to higher gas speed.

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:10 PM   #1753
reid-o
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103631
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mililani, Hawaii
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

It might be compounded by having the o2 post turbo. Are you running off the wideband only?
reid-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:07 AM   #1754
lancelucas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 124282
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 30000 ft
Vehicle:
04 WRX Wagon PSM
13 STI Sedan SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reid-o View Post
It might be compounded by having the o2 post turbo. Are you running off the wideband only?
ViPec (and all other standalones that I know of) can't/won't operate and read the Subaru factory front O2 sensor. One could theoretically move the wideband pre-turbo and use an EGBP compensation. I'm sure the OEM's have equipment to do this but the only one I've seen at the consumer level is the newer AEM 4-band UEGO controller that has an optional EGBP sensor and compensation kit.
lancelucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:48 AM   #1755
reid-o
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103631
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mililani, Hawaii
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelucas View Post

ViPec (and all other standalones that I know of) can't/won't operate and read the Subaru factory front O2 sensor. One could theoretically move the wideband pre-turbo and use an EGBP compensation. I'm sure the OEM's have equipment to do this but the only one I've seen at the consumer level is the newer AEM 4-band UEGO controller that has an optional EGBP sensor and compensation kit.
Yes i understand. It's only because most standalones don't have provisions for the heater as its a waste of a pinout. When I asked about running off the wideband I was asking if he was running closed loop all the time or the same setting all the time. Sorry.. was a fast post from my phone.

I know that for my ecu there's an rpm dependent gain for closed loop. I'd assume the vipec would have a similar setting.

Yeah a front o2 would make tuning tip in a bit and decel a lot faster and more accurate too.
reid-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:59 PM   #1756
Sub Boy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342664
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Boost control

Hi Guys,
Sorry to thread jump here, I'm running an EFR 8374 with the .92 IWG on my 3.0ltr R32 GT-R and having similar problems to what Anton has with the standard BW hard canister Wastegate, I can only get to 20psi boost due to high back pressure (still a little unsure how this is so, I have a straight through 3.5" custom exhaust....?)
When we tried winding more preload on the factory hard WG spring, we ended up with boost spikes, and could only get to 20psi with the BC at 100% load.

Thread to my car is here if you want to read up on it

http://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/154737-su...en-now-24.html

I have tried to purchase a Perrin WG, but they are not making them yet, I have bought a Forge dual port WG off Full-Race and have a Mac 4 port BC to see if it will fix the problem.

Question for Anton, I've read through the whole thread on here and Your build thread, and saw that had problems with the Forge WG leaking, but then before you put the Mac 4 port on you were having similar problems with the Perrin unit dropping boost......due to being unable to get a Perrin WG, do you think with the Mac 4 port and the Forge with the Red Spring I might be able to run the same dual boost setting numbers you are?
Thanks for your time.
Chris
Sub Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:39 PM   #1757
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

Chris problem with forge is the spring side chamber doesn't seal, i bought this crap for 160 bucks and it seats on shelf collecting dust, send it back and get your money back.

With 4 port and perrin unit i was able to keep the boost in flat line to redline, and any desirable boost level. It takes some time fine tuning it because its very sensitive on the WG duty cycles.

With Forge and Red spting preloaded all the way i was able to hit 25 psi but it would drop to 18 at red line

Jeff at Perrin said they will release the actuators when they get done making parts for BRZ,
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:00 PM   #1758
Sub Boy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342664
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Cheers, yeah from what I've read I have my doubts with it, problem is there is nothing else available at the moment, and I'm not even sure I would be able to get the Perrin unit to fit in the space I have.
I take it the Forge is leaking around the shaft?
I see that Turbo Smart have built one, but not sure if it's dual port....
Sub Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:47 PM   #1759
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

turbo smart is even bigger than perrin and its single port not sure wtf they were thinking lol
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:34 PM   #1760
Sub Boy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342664
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Looks like I will have to wait for Perrin to release them.

Come on Perrin.....can you just knock up another one for me?! Haha.

Looks like I might have to have a crack at modifying the Forge to seal a bit better.
How does the Perrin unit seal on the spring section that the forge doesn't?
Sub Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:10 AM   #1761
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

Quote:
Looks like I might have to have a crack at modifying the Forge to seal a bit better.
hahah i tried that, i put a clamp on the rubber nipple between shaft and that **** just inflated like a balloon

design of it is very bad, i could come up with better design by just by slamming my dick against keyboard.
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 06:27 AM   #1762
alcoolaid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 134949
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
'07 SWP STi
Instagram | arthurlam89

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bariga View Post
hahah i tried that, i put a clamp on the rubber nipple between shaft and that **** just inflated like a balloon

design of it is very bad, i could come up with better design by just by slamming my dick against keyboard.
Lmaoo
alcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:15 PM   #1763
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default IAT how?

i cant figure out the IAT fuel trim system, when i drive in and park car seats for a bit IAT temps raise and AFR slowly goes lean 15.1 because IAT map removes -2 fuel. Should the IAT map be adding fuel instead?

Two systems fight with each other, IAT remove fuel, close loop adds fuel to get to target AFR which is 14.4

Last edited by Bariga; 01-07-2013 at 10:53 PM.
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:52 PM   #1764
Equilibrium Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 26933
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fairfield, CA
Vehicle:
2006 STI
CGM

Default

Where is your IAT sensor located?
Equilibrium Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:47 AM   #1765
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

3 inches from throttle in IC pipe
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:15 AM   #1766
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

So CLL isn't correcting enough to get back to target? What is the Lambda fuel trim at that time? Is it just hunting between target and 15.1 or just drifting up and settling at 15.1?

I would turn of CLL, tweak your IAT fuel comps to give you the desired stable AFR, reactivate CLL. Log, repeat.

If you are using the default values for IAT correction it says in the notes that the correction may be more than needed and require a tweak.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:20 AM   #1767
Equilibrium Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 26933
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fairfield, CA
Vehicle:
2006 STI
CGM

Default

Theoretically you should be able to calculate the needed trim based on IAT by calculating the resulting variance in air density. I always thought IAT should be worked into a true speed density calculation. But in practice it doesn't seem that simple or consistent.

-- Ed
Equilibrium Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:55 AM   #1768
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bariga View Post
3 inches from throttle in IC pipe
Ultimately you would want your IAT sensor as close as possible to the Intake valves. EG.. In a runner very close to the TGVs.

When you have it in the IC pipe with the throttle closed the small amount of air going into the Intake manifold is still going to be heated up A LOT due to slow movement and a hot engine. This results in inaccurate measurements when idling for a while with a closed throttle as you mentioned.

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:38 AM   #1769
lancelucas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 124282
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 30000 ft
Vehicle:
04 WRX Wagon PSM
13 STI Sedan SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Equilibrium Tuning View Post
Theoretically you should be able to calculate the needed trim based on IAT by calculating the resulting variance in air density. I always thought IAT should be worked into a true speed density calculation. But in practice it doesn't seem that simple or consistent.

-- Ed
Almost by definition, an SD calculation has to use IAT (charge temp). PV = nRT. Nothing theoretical about it.

Do note, however, that most standalones aren't using a true SD or VE style fueling calculation, which calculates air mass available then fuel mass needed then injector on time. It's a more simple injector on time system, but still requires an air temp. compensation.
lancelucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:56 AM   #1770
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

I suspect fuel temp is the one that is really affecting your afr. When you sit, fuel temp rises because sure isn't moving across your tank.
As air temp goes up, you should use less fuel because the air is less dense. Without iat comp you should run richer. Warm air also aids atomization which would compound the effect.

Now it's possible that it is pulling too much, but there are always other factors.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:57 PM   #1771
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

Interesting **** i guess i cant do anything about it.

dom i also have removed quiet a bit of fuel at 3500 rpm at cruising load, now im thinking thats cam overlap area and the AFR reading i get is incorrect?
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:03 PM   #1772
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

pull out the overlap.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:07 PM   #1773
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

if i pull it out close loop trying to fix AFR there and goes all out lol
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:24 PM   #1774
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

Picture of the dip, at the dip i get 14.2 afr
also when i slowly increas RMP over the dip it feels like engine having hard time going past it.

fuel map


avcs

Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:08 PM   #1775
Bariga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179846
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Renton, WA
Vehicle:
07 STi Limited
EFR 7670 TS

Default

maybe smooth out AVCS bump it at low load cells so when it kicks in it doesnt affect AFR that much?
Bariga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxwell Power Tuned, 2.35L GT35R 537whp and 9k rpm, 4K rpm power band Maxwell Power Proven Power Bragging 563 05-16-2012 08:28 PM
Maxwell Power Services aka GetaDomTune AwaySooner Vendor Reviews 7 03-11-2010 03:54 PM
+1 for Dom/Maxwell Power Jeff54 Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 22 09-02-2009 02:22 PM
My new Maxwell Power Services engine is almost in !!! leonbmx North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 13 03-23-2009 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.